Customer Reviews for

Confessor (Sword of Truth Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I know it's really long, but please take the time to read:)

Kay, so these are the best books i have ever read in my entire life, and i've read ALOT of books:) Whenever i try to compare any other book to these books it makes the other book seem small, unimportant and not worth my time to have even a passing thought about them in ...
Kay, so these are the best books i have ever read in my entire life, and i've read ALOT of books:) Whenever i try to compare any other book to these books it makes the other book seem small, unimportant and not worth my time to have even a passing thought about them in the presense of these wonderful character changing stories. My journey with Richard and Kahlan has been filled with smiles, tears and heartfelt feelings and i am sad to see it end. These books have meaning beyond measure and feel more important than anything i have ever experienced. These books took me to new heights of excitement and life as i shared everything i had through words and paper and embraced everything they had through the book as well. I feel Terry Goodkind just used a book as a tool, a passageway to the stunning force of life. These books were SO much more than a mere ocupation of my time. I rate these books with a rate off the scale not because of the amazing story, but through the feelings they represented and the meaning they stood for. I shout out to everyone not because of the touching characters, or the skill the writer has, but for the meaningful base of this story and everything they stood for. I shout out because of the importantness of everything this story, this LIFE shares with the reader. These books are so much bigger than a STORY to experience, they are a LIFE to live with pride and love. This story didn't dig deeper in my heart than anyone ever has with the amazing romance,excitement, plot, and everything else amazing it possesses, it taught me to open up and be proud with the powerful meaning just behind the beautiful cover. I don't know how to better explain this to you so i guess you're just gonna have to come close, brace yourself, and open the cover to catch a glimpse of what this story holds dear inside:) read these books, and experience the otherworldly embrace of life.

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Goodkind wrote himself into a corner and thus a formulaic ending

Like "Pillar of Creation" and "Naked Empire", Goodkind tries to develop a plotline but has unfortunately written himself into a corner. Like a Hollywood director, he then turns to special effects to create an improbable happy ending. Richard Rahl, the man who defeats ...
Like "Pillar of Creation" and "Naked Empire", Goodkind tries to develop a plotline but has unfortunately written himself into a corner. Like a Hollywood director, he then turns to special effects to create an improbable happy ending. Richard Rahl, the man who defeats enemies by using his mind, ends up just unleashing magic to solve the situation.

It's a major disappointment to fans who have paid for his last 5 books (all mediocre at best) to see how Goodkind took the ultiamte in lazy approach to neatly wrap up all the threads while still leaving himself room to write in a new series in the Darksword model.

Only the first half of the book, where Richard still didn't have his gift, was readable. The entire 2nd half was just Goodkind rushing through all the necessary set pieces to wrap up all the loose ends like Shota vs. Six, the pristine ungifted, the Order, and the chimes all together.

Anyone who has read more than a few books could have seen the ending coming from a mile away.

Borrow this book from a library. Read it, then return the book in digust.

Hopefully, disappointing sales will prompt Goodkind to put a little effort into his writing in the future, but I assume his royalties from the TV series will keep him lazy and happy for a long time.

posted by Plato90s on December 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    powerful conclusion

    After coming so far, Richard Rahl knows he must risk all to free his beloved wife Kahlan Amnell, who does not recall much of her past including her husband, from the destructive Emperor Jagang and his Imperial Order that has destroyed freedom like a CHAINFIRE encircling everything. Now the Order has reached the final destination of pandemic destruction the People's Palace. Richard must escape, save his spouse and prevent the Order from completing its quest while knowing the Beast will assault his body and soul at almost every turn. His only avenue he sees is to forge a team to challenge the undefeated champions, the Emperor¿s squad in a game of Ja'La dh Jin. If he wins the contest the females select the rewards he does not want to dwell on losing. --- Going into the final book of the Sword of Truth saga, the probability of Terry Goodkind wrapping up all his subplots from the previous ten tales is one in a googolplex, but the author seemingly has done so, but at a cost. The above is critical, but does not reflect most of what is going on from battles to campsites, to the siege, etc. At times the myriad of sidebars seem overwhelming and force a final sprint to the finish line. Still this is a powerful conclusion to what peels down to its core of a war between truth and deception with readers wondering will Richard succeed on his quest that is personal yet universal while breathlessly waiting the revealing of the final wizard¿s rule. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Fantasy

    Riveting - Action and story keep you on the edge of your seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Great Conclusion But.....

    Terry Goodkind is a great author but it seems that theres ALWAYS something getting between Richard's and Kahlan's love. This whole "chainfire spell" seems to be yet another uneccasary obstacle in their story. Remember book 1 & 2? Thats two problems in just 2 books. Remember Faith of The Fallen and Soul of The Fire? Add another 2 problems right there. On top of this theres the "chainfire" problem. Thats 5 problems in SoT involving Richard's and Kahlan's love (and thats NOT counting Shota's omen about their 1st born child). Overall it was well written and deserves a buy. The ending is spetacular and unexpected. This series will always be one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    A fitting end to the series

    In Confessor, Terry Goodkind ends a fantastic voyage we all took with Richard, Kahlan, Zedd, and all the other characters we've grown to know and love. I re-read the other ten books in the series before I started Confessor, although I probably didn't need to since the author does a fine job of recapping what has happened before. Richard and Kahlan get a proper end to their love story, as do some other characters. The Imperial Order also gets a proper ending, without compromising the nature of the characters involved. I enjoyed seeing how much characters like the Mord-Sith and Nicci have grown and changed, and what happened with some characters we hadn't seen much in the last few books. Terry Goodkind wrote a very satisfying ending to a great book series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    The Sword of Truth serious

    I have just finished all 11 books. I found the serious rather good, but felt it might have been two books too long. This might be because I read them one after another, so of course there was a lot of repeating. I do know at one point I thought they could have just talked Jagang to death and ended things sooner. But I read them all, straight through and did not tire of reading them, though I did skip alot of the long speaches.
    Don't judge the book by the tv serious, except for the names and place in time there is little in common with the books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    VStulb

    Very good. This book was a satisfying conclusion to the Sword of Truth series. Storyline and characters were very, very good. He went on a bit too long for my taste with some of his philosophies i.e. there is no afterlife.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2008

    Entertaining

    Although some of the characters seemed less heroic I tend to think in terms of interpersonal victories as a means to lend richness and validity to the human experience. This series covers the spectrum and is a gold mine of interpersonal victories. Very entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    For the most part great read but...

    Good Action combined with a thought provoking philosophy which I don't share totally but is interesting. Parts of the book are absolutely riveting with a great good versus evil resolution. He brought closure to most issues. However one of the strongest and most interesting characters -- NICCI -- was left dangling. Too bad. Maybe Goodkind did this on purpose to set the stage for a new series wrapped around the future of Death's Mistress. In any event a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    Unlike the other two reviewers, I found this final volume very satisfying. A lot of loose ends were tied up and the constant message of the series, that one person can affect the good of many through their honesty and love, was wonderfully concluded. I also thought the book had some excellent fast paced sections that had me eager to turn the page, but that the action wasn't a constant distraction. The book was easy to follow, very descriptive and the characters were nicely developed and intertwined. Very balanced book overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    The best of both worlds!

    Terry Goodkind brings the best of fantasy and reality together in this series. The fantasy is captivating while the reality of it is encouraging while uplifting. My favorite book of the series was the Faith of the Fallen. The lessons of humanity and self worth are put to the test. All of the characters throughout the series are complex and nicely articulated. Every book was a nice touch to the story and added nicely to the overall development and plot of the series as a whole. I have to admit that I was somewhat disappointed by the shortness of the last book. And, ever moreso at the ending itself. I kept waiting for the BIG, HUGE end all and instead it was just openly ended. He could easily resurrect the series or start a new one based on the events leading up to the series. The entire series will always remain a treasure in my collection and I look forward to reading the series time and time again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    But What About the Actual Book?

    I have purchased all the books and have read them since the beginning of this year. I now am half way through 'Phantom' and I looked at my copy of 'Confessor' and discover it is a mess. This is a new book mind you, and a book I paid full price for - the binding is broken and the pages are coming unglued from the back binding, the black cover page has separated from the the binding. What gives here? This is supposed to be the greatest epic ever told? I had to send back this copy and I don't know when I will receive a replacement. We deserve better than this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    Best series I've ever read

    I got involved in this series by reading Phantom, the 10th in this series first, not knowing it was an entire series of books. I then went back and read every one from the first and even re-read the 10th again. I could not wait for Confessor to come out. I got it the day it came out ' signed copy first edition ' and read the final chapter in two days. I loved the entire series but was somewhat disappointed that the ending came up rather quickly. I hated to see the Sword Of Truth Series end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was very close to giving this book 5 stars, but decided on 4 based on the ending (or, really, the parts after the 'end' of the climax). I had been expecting a little bit more, since this was the final book an an 11 book series. Otherwise, the book was fantastic. Fast paced, full of content instead of 'filler', and gripping to the end. I was very satisfied and will be keeping this book for a re-read in the near future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    It was good BUT wasent the best

    i liked most of the book but the ending just wasn't....all that i hoped for. my favorite book was faith of the fallen and while i do love the series i just thought that he had a dead line so instead of writing what he would of he just threw in some other way to do it so he could complete the book faster...didn't notice it untell a lil past half way trough the book tho. but do read if you already started this book series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    FINALY

    love this series, it made me start reading again after a break of several years. goodkind rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3