BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Conflict of Interest

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Loved it

    Read this on my Nook. Excellent read, can't wait for his next book. Love the Nook too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    Terrific!

    This is jut one of two really terrific novels by Adam Mitzner. Great story lines, fantastic characters and totally entertaining material made this novel - and the one that follows - a great read. So happy to have found another great writer. Genuinely looking forward to reading more from Adam Mitzner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    Really great legal thriller. Not high literature, but an engross

    Really great legal thriller. Not high literature, but an engrossing read with mystery and good plot. Really like this new author. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is an excellent well written novel. This author really knows how to keep the readers captivated from the first sentence on the first page to the last sentence in the final page. The revelations will completly stun you. This book deserves six stars. A highly recommended read, enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun!

    Excellently written legal novel with plenty of twists to keep the interest up. Interesting characters and interesting plot(s).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    his is a powerful character driven thriller

    In New York, thirtyish criminal defense lawyer Alex Miller works long hours but feels it is worth the reward. He is the Cromwell Altman's youngest partner, has a beloved wife Elizabeth who understands his hours and a beautiful daughter who he adores.

    At his father's funeral in Florida, Alex meets the family friend legendary Michael Ohlig. The affluent Ohlig retains Alex as his firm's attorney. The client explains that his boutique brokerage firm is accused of selling worthless stock in a startup company that Ohlig allegedly knew would fail. Although the evidence says otherwise, Alex believes Michael is innocent so he throws even more time into the defense as Elizabeth becomes irritated with his fully ignoring their child and her while spending all his time with beautiful senior associate, Abby Sloane.

    This is a powerful character driven thriller as Alex ignores A Conflict of Interests that he acknowledges may taint his belief in Michael's innocence, but obsessively needs to know the truth about his family. The story line is fast-paced with a profound focus on Michael's prime relationships with his wife and their daughter, his parents, his client, his associate, and the firm. With stunning twists Adam Mitzner provides an exciting legal thriller with a close in person look at a fixated attorney.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Awesome book! I could not put it down. Adding this author to my

    Awesome book! I could not put it down.
    Adding this author to my list of favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This offering is a novel that will keep you interested by a fair

    This offering is a novel that will keep you interested by a fairly new author who really knows his subject.

    The story begins in Florida, where Alex Miller, a Criminal Defense Attorney has travelled, to attend the funeral of his father. Alex meets an old friend of his father’s, Michael Ohlig, who now runs a brokerage firm in Florida and is about to be investigated by the Government for his business practices. After speaking to Ohlig, Alex decides to represent him in court, if it should go that far.

    This case is about a ruthless scam that has cost Ohlig's investors millions of dollars and this defendant is so self absorbed that he firmly believes he is innocent. The man is extremely slippery in his dealings with others, most especially his lawyers. Alex prefers to think that his client is innocent until proven guilty. Unfortunately, the rest of the legal eagles on the defense team are a bit more cynical, including a beautiful and very smart lady lawyer, who is a close colleague of Alex’s. This is not your usual securities fraud case (like the movie Wall Street). The lawyers work to free Ohlig and when the case is finished, Alex gets some very bad news. His mother has died mysteriously and he is thrown back into ‘investigative mode’ of a whole different kind.

    It seems that the ever present Michael Ohlig is somehow involved in the case of Alex’s mother’s death and a different court case comes into the foreground blaming Ohlig for murder. This brings the reader into one of the most attention-getting conclusions this reviewer has ever read. While reading this book, it was almost impossible to believe that this was a first attempt by this author. It is a definite keeper and readers will look forward to the next Mitzner book with anticipation.

    Quill Says: This novel will not let the reader rest. As soon as one problem is settled another will pop up with gusto.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Could not put this book down!

    At first glance of A Conflict of Interest, I jumped at the opportunity to read this book. I wanted to read it because my husband loves reading law and learning law, he is studying Criminal Justice and then wants to go to law school (we live 5 minutes from his dream law school). About 1/3 of the way into the book, you'll learn the meaning behind the title of the book. A Conflict of Interest is full of secrets and lies that make you question every character in this book. All throughout, I wondered why any of the characters did what they did. Their reasoning behind their actions are revealed and it all begins to make sense. A Conflict of Interest is Adam Mitzner's first novel, and he's a master at keeping the reader immersed within the pages of his book.

    I did not agree with some of the decisions Alex Miller made, nor the actions he took. There were times that I pitied him and others that I despised him. Sometimes I felt he got what he deserved but then I'd root for him to all work out for the best.

    I could see A Conflict of Interest made into a movie or even a mini series. The characters were relatable and real to me. After reading the book, I can understand why each character did what they did. They each had their secrets that eventually came out and the characters faced them. There were twists and turns that kept my interest. I read this book in less than 3 days, since I didn't want to put it down. The novel, A Conflict of Interest in a page turner that keeps you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    RATING:4.5! AN AMAZING,EXCITING THRILLER FROM A DEBUT AUTHOR! A CONFLICT OF INTEREST BY ADAM MITZNER...

    A CONFLICT OF INTEREST by Adam Mitzner is an exciting debut thriller.
    It is well written with depth and details.The cast of characters are strong engaging,intersting and will keep you turning the page.The plot while confusing at times is easy to follow.Alex Miller,a criminal defense lawyer finds that the live he imagined is about to fall apart. Michael Ohlig,an old family friend who to Alex seems like a myth appears to ask Alex for his help in a serious legal matter.Alex's father dies suddenly and a few months later his mother dies mysteriously. Alex has an affair with a co-worker,his marriage has become murdane,he will lose his job for this affair and will find out the truth behind numerous secrets.As secrets are revealed Alex must face the question if the people in his life are truly who they appear to be. This is a fast paced,page turning story of betrayal,secrets,family,twist,turns,trust and change. A Conflict of Interest will not only captivate its readers it will also bring them to an unexpected conclusion.A must read for any and all mystery,suspense,and thriller fans.This book is an amazing debut and this author is an author to watch out for.If you enjoy authors such as John Grisham and Scott Turow,for I have read them both you will enjoy this author also.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Gallery Books, a division of Simon & Schuster and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    A Real Page Turner!

    I had planned to take A Conflict of Interest away with me for Memorial Day weekend, but after reading the first few pages, I couldn't put it down. It has been at least 10 years since I read a Grisham or Turow legal thriller. Narrative non-fiction is generally my preferred genre, but something about this book drew me back. Book plots today are usually so foreseeable, but not this one. A Conflict of Interest includes unpredictable twists and turns (don't read ahead or you'll ruin it for yourself) that thrilled the cynic in me. I loved it! Now I need to get another book for my weekend away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent legal thriller!

    A story ripped from the headlines: "Brokerage firm bilks seniors out of life savings with worthless stock." Or is it as simple as that? Could the prosecution have an ulterior motive? Adam Mitzner takes his readers on a page-turning, winding road to get to the ultimate truth. Alex Miller is an important lawyer who always wants to believe in the innocence of his client. Michael Ohlig is an old friend of the family who needs help, but, he doesn't want Alex to tell his parents that he will be representing him. Why not? What possible harm could come from telling his family? From the beginning, the relationship between Adam and Michael has its secrets. Secrets that could either free or convict Michael; secrets that could shake Adam to his core. Is Michael the corrupt swindler the prosecution claims? Is he innocent? Or does the truth lie somewhere in the middle. This legal thriller will grab you from the beginning and leave you wanting more from this author at the end.

    Adam Mitzner has a hit on his hands! His characters and storyline kept me reading and guessing. I enjoyed the bantering in the law office, but also the description of the toll it takes on families and lives when someone forgets that there is more to life than a career. I love psychological legal thrillers, and this one didn't disappoint me. I can't wait to read more by this author. Thank you FSB Media for the opportunity to read and review this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2