Customer Reviews for

The Confusion (Baroque Cycle Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging, Fun, Enlightening, Clever, Great Historical Romp!

I can't imagine one writer putting this together. This is the most powerful read I have ever experienced. At times I was engrossed and other times totally frustrated. His verbosity is method to his madness. Keep at it, you will not be dissapointed. And keep your t...
I can't imagine one writer putting this together. This is the most powerful read I have ever experienced. At times I was engrossed and other times totally frustrated. His verbosity is method to his madness. Keep at it, you will not be dissapointed. And keep your tongue in your cheek while reading this historical unravelling of fact and fiction.

posted by 1946695 on September 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

f

f

posted by dgarcia on November 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Challenging, Fun, Enlightening, Clever, Great Historical Romp!

    I can't imagine one writer putting this together. This is the most powerful read I have ever experienced. At times I was engrossed and other times totally frustrated. His verbosity is method to his madness. Keep at it, you will not be dissapointed. And keep your tongue in your cheek while reading this historical unravelling of fact and fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    BETTER THAN QUICKSILVER, GREAT BOOK!

    I enjoyed Quicksilver immensely though I found some of the portions relating the tale of Waterhouse to be tedious. I was pleasantly surprised to find that in Confusion he dispensed with that storyline and integrated it as a background thread in the the continuing story of Eliza. This novel picks up shortly after Quicksilver and basically continues the same themes and characters. The biggest difference is that the book is paced much better and the story is more action packed and less cluttered with monotonous diatribes by Newton and such. The rollicking adventures of Jack Shaftoe are both amusing and poignant and the machiavellian machinations of Eliza are sinfully entertaining. All in all a phenominal sequel to a very enjoyable book and I hope that the third will move farther in this direction and away from the oft tiresome alchemical and political ramblings that ate up half of the first novel (which though enjoyable, came across as dry at times).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    History class was never this entertaining

    One of the great strengths of 'Quicksilver', Neal Stephenson's first instalment in his 'Baroque Cycle', was its abilty to inform as well as entertain. Against the backdrop of the Reformation and Glorious Revolution, the author has assembled a colourful collection of larger-than-life characters, some wholly fictitious, some heavily embroidered, and some quite possibly frighteningly close to the real persons. It is a testament to Stephenson's strength as a story-teller that he is able to provide such incredible detail of the the historically verifiable events of this era without the story lapsing into a history lecture. In the opening chapters of 'The Confusion', Stephenson's story veers into some less well-known aspects of late 17th Century European history, and as a result the balance between rattling good yarn and history lesson shifts perceptibably towards the latter. However, with the help of the series' most colourful character, 'Half-cocked' Jack Shaftoe, the story is soon racing along at a cracking pace, with some of the most breath-taking swashbuckling ever committed to print. From there on, the story proceeds in leaps and bounds, throwing together enough action and romance to satisfy the most jaded palate, tempered with cerebal excursions into the theory of economics, chemistry, metallurgy and the genealogy of the various European royal families. All this, plus a dramatic twist at the end which opens the door for countless developments in the next installment. I can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1