BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Congo

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Great Story That Will Catch And Keep Your Attention Throughout The Whole Book.

Micheal Crighton has written such a richly detailed story that you are drawn into the Congo woirld as if you are there. The research he has done for this book makes it a realistic, and an excellent story for any type or age of reader. The realism and suspense in a dan...
Micheal Crighton has written such a richly detailed story that you are drawn into the Congo woirld as if you are there. The research he has done for this book makes it a realistic, and an excellent story for any type or age of reader. The realism and suspense in a dangerous situation earn this book its five star rating.

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Temple wasnt found

It was too explanitory and it wasnt grabing a picture out of my mind.

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Crichton's second best

    Congo is a great, fun, adventure of a book! Other than Jurassic Park I would say this is Crichton's best. It's original and I think, timeless. I read it in 8 hours because I just couldn't put it down. It's really intense at times, which I think is one of the best parts. It's hard to find books that have the same intensity as Congo. A perfect read for any age. Michael Crichton was a brilliant writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    congo is awsome

    In my opinion this is Crichton¿s best book yet. Congo started off with a bang and just kept going. His plot was deep and he used foreshadowing extensively, this kept me trying to guess what was going to happen next. I finished this book over one weekend it was so good. Every suspensefull page kept me hanging on the edge of my bed wanting to find out the next twist or turn in the book. I think it defiantly deserves 5 stars and now its got me hooked on all of Crichton¿s books. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a really good read, or even anyone who needs a book to read. I would have to say that this is one of the best books I¿ve read all year. Thank you Michael Crichton for writing this awesome novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought Congo was a great book. I thought the beginning was a little slow and I was tempted to discontinue my reading. I kept reading and it was a smart decision. When the first team went missing, I couldn¿t put it down. I wanted to know what happened to them. One of the things I liked about the book was that Crichton never really tells you what happened to the first expedition crew. You just have to read carefully and make a decision based on what he does tell you. My favorite character had to be Amy. This is the only book I have ever read where my favorite character was an animal, better yet a signing gorilla. I thought it was genius to form the plot around Amy¿s finger-painting. Her paintings resembled Old Portuguese and a drawing of the Lost City of Zinj. The crew¿s life relied on what Amy said they could do. If she didn¿t want to go any further, than they had to choose to listen to her, or risk their lives. I didn¿t like Elliot that much because I thought he was too whiny. There was one character that I had a love/hate relationship with. It was Karen Ross. Sometimes I would want her to get eaten by one of the angry hippos. At other times I thought to myself, ¿You go Karen.¿ I thought Congo was an amazing book and I recommend it to avid readers and loyal Crichton readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Best

    I have read all Crichton's stuff, and I think Congo is probably the best. It held my attention more than all his other books (all of which I love immensely). I read this novel in 2 hours flat, and was not disappointed by the ending at all. Go read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    high tech mania

    Congo HarperCollins Publishers Michael Chrichton ISBN 0-06-054183-0 The ERTS Congo expedition mysteriously disappears,the company instantaneously sends another expedition into the Congo in search of a natural source of rare blue diamonds. This second expedition uses a scientist and his gorilla as a cover to get across the borders of the Zaire. Once onsite a mysterious lost city, Zinj, the long sought city of King Solomon's mines is found. Upon arrival manlike creatures killing some of the expedition attack them. Now they just want to get out of the jungle alive. Crichton weaves an electrifying tale from start to finish. Continuing his trend of spectacular books dating back to Jurassic Park ,he has 3 books made into major motion pictures, 'Jurassic Park', 'Congo', and 'Eaters of the Dead', which was called the '13th Warrior'. The characters dragged me along with them on this thrill ride. The stubborn perseverance and the relentless terror fill this book up to crazy potential. I began to fear for the lives of the characters Chrichton creates in this novel. When finally they came out alive I had made a schedule to read this book everyday. I don¿t read much so this was a big step for me. This exhilarating story will hook you from start to finish. -Derek

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Good Book!

    Congo was a great book but like one of the other reviewer's said, it didn't really have to do with the evil white gorilla's like it did in the movie, or how it seemed like it would in the book. That was the dispointing thing about it. The book wasn't as addicting like most of his other books tend to be, but it was a good book. Other than the white gorillas not being in the book a lot, it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    One of Crichton's best!!

    This book is one of Crichton's best!! I read this while on vacation in the Philippines, and I spent many hours reading it instead of enjoying my vacation! I couldn't put it down, and I doubt you'll be able to either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    10 year old revewer

    A great book! One of Micheal Crichton`s best. I especially loved the last part.I just loved the whole book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2004

    OK by my standerds

    This book is pretty good. But it doesnt really focus on the gorillias. Much of it it bounces back and fourth but it is still entertaining and better then the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    supports the excitment with mystery

    I was intrigued when he held the destination of their expedition in such mystique. It was hidden until the end which is definately what I liked most about the book. I didn't like how he made the Dr. Ross character so career oriented. She was a lot nicer in the movie. People want the girl to be all humorously spiteful but I guess he makes all his protagonists love/hatable. So not bad! His next book should add some colour to the character, methinks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    Great fun!

    Earth Resources Technology Services wants something that's hidden deep in the jungles of the Congo, at the Lost City of Zinj. Because it's a resource that can make nuclear power obsolete, others want it just as badly. When their Congo field team's satellite check-in gets interrupted by the deaths of all its members, apparently at the hands of a band of gorillas behaving in totally atypical fashion, ERTS dispatches supervisor Karen Ross to lead the next attempt. As the 24-year-old mathematics prodigy and her new team fight their way toward a goal they may never reach, her drive to succeed may be what keeps them alive. Or it may just as easily be what finally kills them, too. Joining the ERTS team are primatologist Peter Elliot and Amy, an adolescent gorilla trained by Elliot to communicate using American Sign Language. Ross hopes Amy may make a difference if they encounter the first team's killers, while Elliot has his own agenda. Meanwhile, the Congo's chronic unrest boils over into tribal warfare - and the local volcano threatens to just plain boil over. I picked this book up expecting a 'not his best' effort by one of my favorite authors, after finding the movie version rather - well - hokey. But what came across that way on the screen works fine in Crichton's prose. A wild roller coaster ride! Great fun, and a nice tribute to H. Rider Haggard, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2003

    R.A. Long Student

    Congo is a supsense driven-thrill ride, if you take the time to get into the story. You never know what is going to happen next. This book starts slower than most, but you can look past that. This book has some odd things like a talking gorrila, like that could ever happen. All in all, this is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2003

    Readable

    I am a big Crichton fan but was disappointed by the absurdity and corniness of this book. I think he had plenty of potential with the basics of the story but made it to hard to feel that it could actually happen. I realize that this is fiction and most of his work twists modern technology and advances it to fit the story but this book failed to make it plausible. I felt that Amy the talking gorilla was able to talk too well. The story also took too long to develop. In spite of this it was still a good adventure story if you don't mind that it gets corny often. If you are looking for something to read I would suggest reading something else by Crichton so that you aren't put off of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    congo the review

    Congo The Review Congo by Michael Crichton is a mesmerizing masterpiece. It is the best book since To Kill a Mocking Bird. Crichton¿s writings are full of action and surprise they¿re tales of epic size. Congo is one of the most exciting books I have ever read. Tales of giant apes will keep your eyes glued open and your fingers flipping pages. The book Congo is about a man that brings a giant ape from the far away jungle to civilization in Los Angeles. Well to make a long story short the ape gets loose in the metropolitan area of Los Angeles. And we all know were it goes from there cause if I told you too much information you would know the entire book and that wouldn¿t be good cause I recommend this book because it has exciting surprises around every corner. This books strongest point is all the strong points in it. The strongest point in the book is that it is so exciting and surprising. On every page there is a new surprise and it gets to be a better surprise each time. Now to tell you the truth the weak points in the book were that there was no sequel or a movie made from it. I would like to see Congo on television one day soon or even in the theatre. And I wouldn¿t wait to go see it at the dollar cinema or wait for it to come out to the rental store I would have to go see it the day it sneak previews. Now I need to tell you how important it is to go out today and not only rent this book from the library but to go out and buy it. I have read this book three times and it gets better every time I read it. You begin to notice new things each time you read it. So I am urging you to go out today and get this book. I hope you enjoy this book Congo as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2002

    Very interesting and frightening!

    I'm not sure if I loved it, but if I don't I'm pretty close. It takes awhile for the characters to actually get there, but it's still definetly worth reading. It's not quite as good as Jurassic Park, Lost World, Timeline, or Sphere, but if this sounds negative it's not ment to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2002

    An adventure that's hard to forget!

    Its a book you that poses the question,'What If?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2001

    An awesome adventure!

    I thought that the book ended abruptly, yet it was still incredible. I enjoyed the story and the technology but for the people who don't know much about computers, good luck with this one. Michael Crichton produced a prose worth more like $40.00...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    A great, thrilling, suspencful book.

    I love the way Micheal Chrichton combines fact with fictin to make an outstainding plot. I really recomend the book over the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2000

    Great book

    The book Congo was really exciting. It is a science-fiction book that really is a page turner. I liked this book because I¿m really into science-fiction books. I also wanted to read the book because I saw the movie and I wanted to compare the two. After reading the book and watching the movie I found out that the book was a lot better than the movie. The book had more detail than the movie and it was just better. This book is about a group of scientists who travel into the deepest region of the Congo in search of some diamonds. The team is soon in trouble and the only way out might be a horrible death. I give the book 4 stars * * * *

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    A great book

    I¿m in the middle of this book. I like the way the book is going so far. An aspect of the book which I like is the way the author develops the characters in the book. A couple of pages into the book he gives the main character, Karen Ross, a physical description and a personality. In this case the identity of the main character proves to be important, because her unique personality enhances the book. The author establishes the setting and the plot of the book in a good way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7