Customer Reviews for

Congo

Average Rating 4
( 131 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Great Story That Will Catch And Keep Your Attention Throughout The Whole Book.

Micheal Crighton has written such a richly detailed story that you are drawn into the Congo woirld as if you are there. The research he has done for this book makes it a realistic, and an excellent story for any type or age of reader. The realism and suspense in a dan...
Micheal Crighton has written such a richly detailed story that you are drawn into the Congo woirld as if you are there. The research he has done for this book makes it a realistic, and an excellent story for any type or age of reader. The realism and suspense in a dangerous situation earn this book its five star rating.

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Temple wasnt found

It was too explanitory and it wasnt grabing a picture out of my mind.

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    A Great Story That Will Catch And Keep Your Attention Throughout The Whole Book.

    Micheal Crighton has written such a richly detailed story that you are drawn into the Congo woirld as if you are there. The research he has done for this book makes it a realistic, and an excellent story for any type or age of reader. The realism and suspense in a dangerous situation earn this book its five star rating.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK

    This book has been one of the most suspenseful, interesting, and exiting books I have read so far. I had to choose a book from a list for an English presentation, and when I read Congo's summary I knew this book would not be boring. And in fact I was right. From the very start of this book I was hooked, when the eight man expedition team suddenly died by a mysterious jungle killer. When I read this I just flipped through the pages just to find out some answers. I literally couldn't put down this novel. Also when Michael Crichton added in another story about finding the lost city of Zinj that caught my attention even more. The way Crichton was able to develop Congo's story line amazed me. I feel that his style of writing will interest many readers of all different ages.
    The perfect use of detail added to this book too. It seemed like the author knew the right spots to add in description. For me, I enjoyed the parts were he described the Congo rain forest. For example, when the new team from ETRS steppes foot into the jungle, Crichton did a good job of explain the scenery. I really felt like I was one of those explorers trekking through the forest, in search of my fellow team member and the lost city.

    By far the most aspect of this book I enjoyed was the feeling of adventure and suspense. You couldn't even tell what going to happen next. Every story that Karen and her crew faced, was a fascinating. The book did a good job of keeping the reader on their feet. This is why Congo caught my attention as one of my most favorite books I have read so far.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    CONGO!!!!!

    Congo, by Michael Crichton, depicts the race between two rival companies for blue diamonds in King Solomon's Mines. The last ETC team that went into the Congo were killed by gray gorilla. Eager to prove herself, Karen Ross, travels into the Congo to excavate the mines. Munro, the guide and Peter Elliot with his signing gorilla, Amy, join the ETC team. The team explores the endless jungles of the Congo fraught with danger.

    ETC has found a contract offering big money for rare blue diamonds; however the last ETC team got their heads smashed by a primate never seen by the world before. Peter Elliot, a Primatologist from California, and his signing Gorilla, Amy are offered a part in helping to find the King Solomon's mines. Peter Elliot has recently seen Amy draw pictures of the Lost City of Zinj and decides it might be best if she travels with the group. The ETC group is off in a race against similar rival companies.

    Michael Crichton creates an action packed story with danger at every turn of a page. Crichton creates a novel that is exciting and thrilling. I overall found the book very interesting, but I also found it a little dull at some times when they discussed the company.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Lo v e d i t

    G e a t b o o k

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Wonderful

    I personally love everything Michael Crichton writes, however this was an exceptional book. It really went into detail and excavated to the points and gave a lot of background to every individual element. I can appreciate that in writing like this.

    I definitely recommend this book and think that anyine who reads it would be just as satisfied.

    Hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Amy was cleaning up her paper before going on the trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Loved it

    Really interesting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An awesome thriller for any time

    When a team of explorers disapears, all of the evidence is on tape. A mysterious dark figure was seen walking away from the campsite. Now it is up to the exploration company to continue the expidition and find out what happened to their lost comrades.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    Great Story

    This book is compelling. Crichton masterfully describes the Congo and the story flows together well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    Great Book

    I am currently reading this book. I am a big Michael Chrichton fan. I have read Jurassic Park, & the lost world. Many good characters and lots if adventure awaits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY EXCITING BOOK!!!

    I loved this book. Keeps you interested throughout the whole book. I love how Crichton doesn't dumb it down but, you can still understand it. Very interesting story line. I'm going to go try to find the movie now. Can't wait to read another Crichton book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Crichton's second best

    Congo is a great, fun, adventure of a book! Other than Jurassic Park I would say this is Crichton's best. It's original and I think, timeless. I read it in 8 hours because I just couldn't put it down. It's really intense at times, which I think is one of the best parts. It's hard to find books that have the same intensity as Congo. A perfect read for any age. Michael Crichton was a brilliant writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    congo is awsome

    In my opinion this is Crichton¿s best book yet. Congo started off with a bang and just kept going. His plot was deep and he used foreshadowing extensively, this kept me trying to guess what was going to happen next. I finished this book over one weekend it was so good. Every suspensefull page kept me hanging on the edge of my bed wanting to find out the next twist or turn in the book. I think it defiantly deserves 5 stars and now its got me hooked on all of Crichton¿s books. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a really good read, or even anyone who needs a book to read. I would have to say that this is one of the best books I¿ve read all year. Thank you Michael Crichton for writing this awesome novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought Congo was a great book. I thought the beginning was a little slow and I was tempted to discontinue my reading. I kept reading and it was a smart decision. When the first team went missing, I couldn¿t put it down. I wanted to know what happened to them. One of the things I liked about the book was that Crichton never really tells you what happened to the first expedition crew. You just have to read carefully and make a decision based on what he does tell you. My favorite character had to be Amy. This is the only book I have ever read where my favorite character was an animal, better yet a signing gorilla. I thought it was genius to form the plot around Amy¿s finger-painting. Her paintings resembled Old Portuguese and a drawing of the Lost City of Zinj. The crew¿s life relied on what Amy said they could do. If she didn¿t want to go any further, than they had to choose to listen to her, or risk their lives. I didn¿t like Elliot that much because I thought he was too whiny. There was one character that I had a love/hate relationship with. It was Karen Ross. Sometimes I would want her to get eaten by one of the angry hippos. At other times I thought to myself, ¿You go Karen.¿ I thought Congo was an amazing book and I recommend it to avid readers and loyal Crichton readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    Best

    I have read all Crichton's stuff, and I think Congo is probably the best. It held my attention more than all his other books (all of which I love immensely). I read this novel in 2 hours flat, and was not disappointed by the ending at all. Go read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    One of Crichton's best!!

    This book is one of Crichton's best!! I read this while on vacation in the Philippines, and I spent many hours reading it instead of enjoying my vacation! I couldn't put it down, and I doubt you'll be able to either!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    10 year old revewer

    A great book! One of Micheal Crichton`s best. I especially loved the last part.I just loved the whole book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2001

    An awesome adventure!

    I thought that the book ended abruptly, yet it was still incredible. I enjoyed the story and the technology but for the people who don't know much about computers, good luck with this one. Michael Crichton produced a prose worth more like $40.00...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    A great, thrilling, suspencful book.

    I love the way Micheal Chrichton combines fact with fictin to make an outstainding plot. I really recomend the book over the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3