BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Congo

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Great Story That Will Catch And Keep Your Attention Throughout The Whole Book.

Micheal Crighton has written such a richly detailed story that you are drawn into the Congo woirld as if you are there. The research he has done for this book makes it a realistic, and an excellent story for any type or age of reader. The realism and suspense in a dan...
Micheal Crighton has written such a richly detailed story that you are drawn into the Congo woirld as if you are there. The research he has done for this book makes it a realistic, and an excellent story for any type or age of reader. The realism and suspense in a dangerous situation earn this book its five star rating.

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Temple wasnt found

It was too explanitory and it wasnt grabing a picture out of my mind.

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    A Great Story That Will Catch And Keep Your Attention Throughout The Whole Book.

    Micheal Crighton has written such a richly detailed story that you are drawn into the Congo woirld as if you are there. The research he has done for this book makes it a realistic, and an excellent story for any type or age of reader. The realism and suspense in a dangerous situation earn this book its five star rating.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK

    This book has been one of the most suspenseful, interesting, and exiting books I have read so far. I had to choose a book from a list for an English presentation, and when I read Congo's summary I knew this book would not be boring. And in fact I was right. From the very start of this book I was hooked, when the eight man expedition team suddenly died by a mysterious jungle killer. When I read this I just flipped through the pages just to find out some answers. I literally couldn't put down this novel. Also when Michael Crichton added in another story about finding the lost city of Zinj that caught my attention even more. The way Crichton was able to develop Congo's story line amazed me. I feel that his style of writing will interest many readers of all different ages.
    The perfect use of detail added to this book too. It seemed like the author knew the right spots to add in description. For me, I enjoyed the parts were he described the Congo rain forest. For example, when the new team from ETRS steppes foot into the jungle, Crichton did a good job of explain the scenery. I really felt like I was one of those explorers trekking through the forest, in search of my fellow team member and the lost city.

    By far the most aspect of this book I enjoyed was the feeling of adventure and suspense. You couldn't even tell what going to happen next. Every story that Karen and her crew faced, was a fascinating. The book did a good job of keeping the reader on their feet. This is why Congo caught my attention as one of my most favorite books I have read so far.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    CONGO!!!!!

    Congo, by Michael Crichton, depicts the race between two rival companies for blue diamonds in King Solomon's Mines. The last ETC team that went into the Congo were killed by gray gorilla. Eager to prove herself, Karen Ross, travels into the Congo to excavate the mines. Munro, the guide and Peter Elliot with his signing gorilla, Amy, join the ETC team. The team explores the endless jungles of the Congo fraught with danger.

    ETC has found a contract offering big money for rare blue diamonds; however the last ETC team got their heads smashed by a primate never seen by the world before. Peter Elliot, a Primatologist from California, and his signing Gorilla, Amy are offered a part in helping to find the King Solomon's mines. Peter Elliot has recently seen Amy draw pictures of the Lost City of Zinj and decides it might be best if she travels with the group. The ETC group is off in a race against similar rival companies.

    Michael Crichton creates an action packed story with danger at every turn of a page. Crichton creates a novel that is exciting and thrilling. I overall found the book very interesting, but I also found it a little dull at some times when they discussed the company.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    It could have been better, but not much.

    A team from the company ERTS is suddenly demolished in the African Congo. What does that mean? It means that another Crichton thriller is on your hands. Another team is sent, which includes a techno bug named Karen, a signing ape named Amy, her owner Peter, and a white-hunter named Munro. It was a great book that followed in the steps of Sphere for the cut away from the world thrill. Not as good as JP or Sphere, but it was better than The Lost World.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    The Temple wasnt found

    It was too explanitory and it wasnt grabing a picture out of my mind.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    Warning major spoilers ahead

    I read congo and after finishing conclude that it is a pretty good book, but not even close to m.c's best work. There were many things i liked and a lot of things i didnt. For one, it wasn't nearly as science fiction as i had expected. There was a lot of technical computer science, (which honestly bored me out of my skull, particularialy because the state of thr art computer technology, well, isnt very impressive compared with what we have today). I thought that the main focus of the book would be about the gray ape human gorilla hybrids, and was disappointed to find that it took nearly two thirds of the book to get there. It was essentially a adventure novel with some science thrown into the mix. My favorite character was actually the gorilla amy, and my favorite parts of book were when amy and peter communicated through sign language. The other characters kind of lacked depth, especially karen ross. I dont know if shes supposed to be the main character, if so she failed at making me actually cared what happened to her. I would be much more sad if the gorilla died than if she died. She was a jerk, plus she did something really dumb, she practically out of blind arrogance set the volcano off with explosives, despite other peoples attemps to stop her. I felt like she deserved to die more than some other characters. The ending was also very ubrupt. I felt like the author was rushing to get the book written just as i was rushing to finish it. I would recommend a different micheal chrighton book, like jurassic park or sphere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Book

    Not his best but still a very good read. Ending is a little weird and short but owell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Lo v e d i t

    G e a t b o o k

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Wonderful

    I personally love everything Michael Crichton writes, however this was an exceptional book. It really went into detail and excavated to the points and gave a lot of background to every individual element. I can appreciate that in writing like this.

    I definitely recommend this book and think that anyine who reads it would be just as satisfied.

    Hope this helps!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Amy was cleaning up her paper before going on the trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Loved it

    Really interesting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    An entertaining action story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    waste of time and money

    this book was a compleat waste of time and money not recamended to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Congo

    I really enjoyed this book. I thougth it was believable. I am always amazed at how forward thinking he was. It seemed like he knew things we didn't. I am not normally into monkeys, apes, gorillas, but this story was so much more than that. Don't waste your time with the movie, read the book instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An awesome thriller for any time

    When a team of explorers disapears, all of the evidence is on tape. A mysterious dark figure was seen walking away from the campsite. Now it is up to the exploration company to continue the expidition and find out what happened to their lost comrades.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    Great Story

    This book is compelling. Crichton masterfully describes the Congo and the story flows together well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    Congo

    This is an interesting read. Although the overall plot included some topics not often included in other novels, the book was not my favorite. I have to say that I liked Jurassic Park a lot better. Good for those interested in gorillas and archaeology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    Great Book

    I am currently reading this book. I am a big Michael Chrichton fan. I have read Jurassic Park, & the lost world. Many good characters and lots if adventure awaits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY EXCITING BOOK!!!

    I loved this book. Keeps you interested throughout the whole book. I love how Crichton doesn't dumb it down but, you can still understand it. Very interesting story line. I'm going to go try to find the movie now. Can't wait to read another Crichton book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7