Customer Reviews for

Connected (Connections Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    This book had me reading & reading waiting for the end and w

    This book had me reading & reading waiting for the end and what would be...then....nothing!! Godddddd...I hate it when I am so into a book and it just ends! By the time
    the 2nd book comes out I will have forgotten all about the 1st. Otherwise, I liked it...but without an ending just frustrating!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    THIS BOOK WAS AMAzing cant wait for book 2

    THIS BOOK WAS AMAzing cant wait for book 2

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    OMG...I just finished this book and am speechless. Everything a

    OMG...I just finished this book and am speechless. Everything about this book was incredible. The ending just snuck up on me and it was just over
    and I wanted more...can't wait for book 2! BUY THIS BOOK

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I read CONNECTED a few weeks ago and I instantly fell in love wi

    I read CONNECTED a few weeks ago and I instantly fell in love with it because it was different. It wasn't anything I'd read recently or even ever. Kim takes you on a roller coaster ride that doesn't want to let you off. At first when it starts, you think, 'oh I've read this'. but then it goes into uncharted territories that you'll be clamoring for the end to see where it's all leading up!




    The story starts with Dahlia dating Ben Covington while they're at Stanford. It's Halloween and Dahlia is not one to celebrate the holiday (I'm with her!). Her reason is more doable than mine. I hate it, she lost her parents and a beloved aunt in a horrific plane crash on that day. So yeah, she's not dressing up. However, she does promise a friend that she'll head to the local bar to listen to an up-and-coming band.




    So leaving her inebriated boyfriend behind, she heads to the local bar and there she meets an enigmatic stranger who practically begs her to stay. When she finds out that he's the lead singer of the band performing and she knows that she's about to make a big mistake, she bails.




    We flash forward a few years later. Ben and Dahlia are living together and engaged. She's a photographer and he's a hard-hitting journalist who is about to win a prestigious award for a story that he's been working of for a few years. En route to the banquet, the car holding Ben and Dahlia is carjacked and Ben is killed. Leaving Dahlia broken and brokenhearted.




    Two years go by before she's able to go back to work and even function. When her best friend Aerie, offers her a job in Vegas to interview a rock star and grab some photos. Her surprise is complete when she's told its River Wilde that she'll be meeting in Vegas. See this is the same person she met oh so long ago and never acted on it.




    Kim tells a tightly knit story that will break your heart, have you cheering and pretty much leaving your panties in a bunch. She sucker punches you just when you think Dahlia and River will finally live their happily ever after. I fell in love with River. He's a guy who pulls no punches, he knows what he wants and he goes after it. Dahlia is broken. Afraid to open her heart because whenever she does the person she has opened it to leaves.




    With the influx of new adult/contemporary romance/self-published authors, this book is highly recommended. I could read it over and over again because it's just that good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    This is the first book I have read by Kim Karr and certainly won

    This is the first book I have read by Kim Karr and certainly won't be the last.  I thought this was a great start The Connections Series.  I am glad that I knew it was the beginning of the story, so I was not dissapointed when it ended on a cliff!!!

    I look forward to spending time in the lives of the characters that the author has created!  I definitely recommend this book and author to you.  ENJOY!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Amazing Story

    This book has roped me in and I am in love. Cannot wait to read everything in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Amaimg!!!!!!

    Amaimg!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Loved it

    Loved it but it was to short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Loved this Book!

    One of my favorite reads...keeps you wanting more! I fell in love with the characters right away and it keeps you in suspense...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Great

    So good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I'm kinda kicking myself for taking so long to begin reading thi

    I'm kinda kicking myself for taking so long to begin reading this series. I've seen it around and read some great reviews about it, but just never jumped in for some reason. When I was offered a chance to read and review two of the upcoming titles, I decided to dive right into the series and get caught up before reading the new books. 

    Connected is a beautiful story of second chances. Dahlia's fiancé Ben, the man she's been in love with all her life, is murdered and she's left trying to put the pieces of her life back together without the one person who has always been there for her. She decides to embrace every day and take the opportunities presented to her. It's one of those opportunities that brings her face-to-face with River Wilde, the rock star she had an intense first meeting with a few years ago. Even though she was committed to Ben, she's never really stopped thinking about River and things pick up quickly between them as they both get a second chance at love. 

    I loved Dahlia and River. Their chemistry was intense and it was obvious how much they cared for each other. There was a bit of drama with their new relationship, but most of it was from outside sources. Dahlia's guilt and grief adds to it, of course. But the main focus of this book truly is on the relationship growing between Dahlia and River. For some reason, despite how much I liked the characters, this just wasn't enough for me. I felt like the book moved VERY slowly at times and it was difficult to remain focused on the story and the emotions. I expected more feels from this one because of the nature of the story, but while I enjoyed it, it just fell a little short in the feels department. 

    This is one of those cases where I wish I have half-stars because, while I believe Connected deserves three and a half stars, I just can't round it up to four. I enjoyed the characters and the passion they shared. The second chance at love was beautiful. But, I just felt like the book moved too slowly to really be considered a four-star read for me. There are a couple twists that sucked me in and surprised me and the intense cliffhanger ensured I would continue on this series. I mean, I HAVE TO know what happens next.

    While the small details about this story might escape me after some time, I know the characters won't. Connected was a good, enjoyable and sometimes emotional read. I just wanted a little bit more. But don't let my expectations keep you from reading this one. Seriously. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Sexy and gorgeous River Wilde meets beautiful and loving Dahlia

    Sexy and gorgeous River Wilde meets beautiful and loving Dahlia London. Sparks fly, souls connect...
    but there are many obstacles they need to get past before they can truly be happy.

    I loved their story. The instant connection... love. that. River's made his way onto my book boyfriend list.
    He's so loving. The emotions within their story are all over the place and I truly felt what they were feeling
     as they were feeling it. I can't wait to see what's in store for them next. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    cant wait to read the second

    cant wait to read the second

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Fantastic!

    Amazing read. I will definetly be having a major book hangover!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Dahlia London is with the guy she's loved all her life, when she

    Dahlia London is with the guy she's loved all her life, when she meets the love of her life in a brief encounter while in college - River Wilde - the connection between them was unlike anything either had experienced before, but that is all that it was meant to be at that time in their life.  Now several years later and trying to recover from a tragedy that almost completely destroyed her, as fate with a little help from her best friend would have it, Dahlia reconnects with River and these two discover what true love is really about.  When it finally seems like things are coming together for Dahlia and River, the past rises up and threatens to destroy it all, forcing them to figure out how strong their connection really is.  




    I really loved both Dahlia and River.  Dahlia had been through so much and my heart just broke for her.  River Wilde is a rock star, hot as hot can get, and I just loved everything about him.  He couldn't be more perfect, and he loved Dahlia with everything in him.  I loved their romance, the chemistry between them, and the romance was hot.  There are also several secondary characters I enjoyed getting to know, some of which play big roles in the subsequent installments of the series.  




    I enjoyed Kim Karr's writing style and the way she brought the characters and their story to life.  My only quirk was that sometimes things seemed a little repetitious with the dialogue that took place between the characters.  Other than that, I enjoyed the entire book for the most part.  Kim Karr even managed to throw a twist in at the end that I didn't see coming until we were almost there, which I loved.  If you are a fan of contemporary romance, then Connected is something you definitely might want to check out.  This is an adult novel with some explicit scenes that are not appropriate for readers under 18 years of age.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2014

    As much as they make me crazy, I do love me some cliffhangers an

    As much as they make me crazy, I do love me some cliffhangers and plot twists. And boy did Kim Karr deliver those! They're exactly the reason why Connected is such an emotional roller coaster of a read.
    There's a lot of romance but a good amount of mystery and suspense as well. Which came as a surprise, but I thoroughly enjoyed it!




    Never did I get bored or turned off by an anticlimactic moment. If I wasn't swooning over River Wilde and his relationship with Dahlia, I was intrigued by her past life with her ex. There was always something interesting happening.




    When I can figure out the plot line or big mystery early on in a book, I don't necessarily hate it, but I do get a little bummed out. Though I was able to put two and two together, that didn't seem to deter my fascination with the story and characters.




    Kim Karr is a fabulous writer and she does a swell job of drawing the reader in with the simplest words and moments. This book will make you believe in love at first sight.




    The characters were well developed and the story just took my breath away.
    I would definitely recommend this to all romance readers; especially ones looking for something a little outside the box. You will devour every single word of this spectacular book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    Ben and Dahlia have loved each other since childhood. Now they a

    Ben and Dahlia have loved each other since childhood. Now they are engaged to be married and have a beautiful home together. Then everything shatters for Dahlia when Ben is killed in a random car accident. It takes almost a year for Dahlia to feel like she can even function. On a work related trip to Las Vegas, Dahlia runs into River Wilde. Instantly all the feelings that she had for him one night in college came back. Only now she just might be able to act on them. She isn't to sure if he even remembers her much less carried those same feelings. When she realizes how he feels and that he never forgot her, their relationship begins where it could have years ago. The realization that they were meant for each other is so powerful that nothing could break their bond, until the unthinkable happens and Dahlia is left questioning everything that she thought she knew. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4 stars - No doubt I was connected to these characters First Im

    4 stars - No doubt I was connected to these characters

    First Impressions...

    While I loved the cover when I first saw it, the blurb made me nervous. It sounds so emotional and I have to be in the right frame of mind to read those kinds of books. But when the second and third book covers come out, I decided to give this one a try. The thing is, I never should have worried about the emotional thing. It was emotional for Dahlia but while I cared about her, it wasn't taring me apart.

    The Characters...

    My heart breaks for Dahlia. She's had so many loses in her life. She's trying to heal but it's so hard. Her grief takes a long time for her to get a handle on but when she decides to move on she's bold about it. She was self-aware about the process and what was good for her. I admired that.

    I love River. The connection that they share when he first meets Dahlia is profound. While I don't believe in love at first sight, I do believe that your soul can react to another and form an intense connection just like it did for these two.

    I so loved River's flirty, male ways. There are so many quotes highlighted on my iPad where he's touching her or whispering in her ear. The heat of their connection really comes through the pages to intensify the experience.

    The Story...

    Those little clues that authors drop along the way that make readers nervous, this one had those. I kept collecting them and thinking about them. I like that. It's more than a story of grief. It's more than a story of connection. It's a puzzle of emotions that I enjoyed putting together.

    The Writing...

    This is what kept this book from being 5 stars for me. I loved the story but there were just a few places where I took pause and was like, what? Things like calling for room service right before they were headed out to dinner, or certain lines that repeated a lot. Just little things that bugged me. Not enough to keep me from enjoying the book but enough to stop me as I read.

    Could I Put It Down...

    The thing is that I marked it as currently reading before I actually started it. I thought I was going to start it but life happened and I put it off. When I finally did pick it up, I went through it quickly in about two sittings. The story had my attention and I didn't want to put it down. I had all those clues I was collecting and puzzling together that I needed to work on.

    In The End...

    This book is different. It's more than romance. It's got a healing aspect to it. It's got a comfortable connection aspect to it. Anyone who enjoys those kinds of things should not worry about picking this one and just get to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The first book in Kim Karr's Connections series, Connected featu

    The first book in Kim Karr's Connections series, Connected features the romance of of young woman whose life is marred by tragedy and a rock star she has a connection with. Karr throws readers head first into Dahlia's life and the life of rock star River Wilde. Every girls dream to meet and fall for a rock star. If readers are looking for a book that ties everything up in a neat little package, this isn't it. If readers are looking for a book featuring a soulful connection between two people from two different walks of life, this is it.


    What I liked:


    I knew going into reading this book that I might have an issue with it. I don't think this happens very often, if ever in real life. How many rock stars even have the time to talk to someone off the street so to speak, not many if any. So I was bound and determined that this book would an unrealistic read at best and one I probably wouldn't like. I would have to say that Karr really changed my opinion of what I thought rock star romances were all about. She gives readers a couple that have this uncanny relationship. They just get each other. They are so soulful and right for each other that the reader can easily forget that they probably would never meet in the real world. It just doesn't even matter.


    River was certainly not your average hero. He has a few moments where he lets it go to his head a little bit... who wouldn't? He could have any woman he wants, but when he meets Dahlia, it's all over. She ruined for anyone else. They have this instant vibe between them. It's like they are held in this bubble and the world keeps on going around them, but they are somehow suspended in time. Dahlia knows she can't act on these feelings because she has someone and she really does love Ben in a sense it just isn't the same with River.


    Years later they meet again. Dahlia has suffered some pretty profound tragedy by this time and River only wants to take the pain away. The way that he gives her the time she needs to grieve would make anyone's heart flutter. Rock stars are cast as materialistic and superficial, well somebody forgot to tell this character, because he is anything but... Karr does such a great job of making this connection apparent to everyone who comes in contact with these two characters. They were made for each other, no doubt about it.


    I kept waiting for the conflict. For that thing that happens to drive them apart. I had no idea this one ended in a cliffhanger until the end and I was basically stunned by how quickly things take turn. Karr certainly wasn't scared off by the fact that some readers don't like cliffhangers. I will admit that I am one of those readers. But this one might have changed my mind a little bit. The cliffhanger made sense, there I said it. I thought the cliffhanger actually worked in this case and it totally made me want to jump into the second book.


    What I didn't like:


    I still have issues with the rock star meets regular girl theme, but I was able to suspend that attitude for this book, because Kim Karr was able to make me believe it could work if you have the right connection. Most readers are thinking... I want to connect with a rock star! LOL.


    Bottom Line:


    This a really special relationship. These characters will speak to anyone who thinks love at first sight is possible. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Connected is painfully emotional.  This gripping tale had me sob

    Connected is painfully emotional.  This gripping tale had me sobbing as my heart was breaking.  It takes an enormous amount of talent to evoke emotions in readers.  Kim made me feel more emotions than any other author ever has.  I cried so hard that I went through half a box of tissues.  It was soo worth it to see an amazing love story unfold.  I was connected to the characters in this story and wanted more than anything for them to get their happily ever after.
    Dahlia is destroyed when Ben is taken from her in a ruthless act of violence.  She becomes severely depressed and does not leave the house for more then a few minutes for almost two years.  She can’t sleep.  She can’t eat.  She is pale and frail and a shadow of what she once was.  If it was not for Ben’s mother Grace, his best friend Caleb, and Aerie, Dahlia may have just let herself die.  She felt like she had nothing to live for.  Her parents died in a plane crash and her closest relatives had all passed away.  She was truly alone.  She had the most passionate night with Ben before he was killed and she clings to that memory and to the bracelet he gave her with the promise that he would love her forever no matter what.
    Thank goodness for Aerie.  Aerie finally pushes and prods and gets Dahlia to pick up her bootstraps and start to move on.  Aerie convinces Dahlia that here life is not over.  Aerie is so excited when Dahlia agrees to do an interview and photo shoot of River Wilde.  River is Dahlia’s one and only crush from college.  River is about to be a big time rockstar and Dahlia is convinced that he will not even remember who she is.  She is shocked to find that he does remember who she is and that he felt the connection too.  The connection that she felt that night in college where he kissed her.  She never felt anything like that before in her entire life.
    "But it wasn’t just a kiss.  It was so much more.  When our tongues met it felt like our souls connected with each other.”
    An awe-inspiring love story begins as River and Dahlia fall madly in love with one another. They have a love that I envy.  The love that one can only hope to find once in a lifetime. They have the kind of love that gives me hope.  I fall hopelessly in love with River and my heart is filled with warmth and happiness because of the undying love that he has for Dahlia.  He loves her so much that you can feel it in your soul.
    “As I continue to watch her with amazement and wonder, I no longer simply see rain falling from the sky.  In my mind the drops have become the tiny wishing wells she once described to me and they are gathering all around her.  I have this overwhelming urge to grant her every wish.”
    Of course you wait for the bottom to fall out and eventually it does.  All I can say is thank goodness that the sequel to this book Torn is out already or I would have went crazy.  I needed for River and Dahlia to have their happily ever after.
    In the sex department this book is scorching.  River and Dahlia have an insatiable appetites for each other.  He can never get enough and she is right there with him.  You may want to walk into another room when you get to the good stuff because your face will be flushed and your girl parts will be looking for some relief.
    Kim had me on an emotional roller coaster unlike anyone that I have been on before. She made me want to find the connection that Dahlia and River had for myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4