Customer Reviews for

The Connected Child

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    Great book

    I wish I would have read this book 3 years ago when our family first became a foster family. It is a wealth of knowledge on connecting with children that have bonding issues

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Highly recommended

    Terrific book for parents of children adopted from orphanages. We adopted our daughter nine years ago from an orphanage in Eastern Europe. Because of the trauma she experienced during her early childhood living in a government-run institution, we've had to learn new parenting techniques to help us work through attachment and behavioral issues. The suggestions presented in this book are not only practical, they work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    Important to Read

    I purchase this book to better help me understand the four children my husband and I adopted. I don't care what the Social Workers or Adoption people tell you Love is not enough and if you are not prepared for what may be when you adopt a child then you really need to read this book and many others to understand you child. Our child came from a background of sexual abuse and nelegect and 6 years later we are still dealing with the backlash. Therapy is important too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    One of the Best Parenting Books I've Read

    I hardly ever type reviews but this is one of the best parenting books I've ever read...and I've read a lot. I only have biological children but it was recommended to me by a friend with adopted children. The advice is practical and doable. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    A Huge Help

    What a great book! It's a great reminder for parents to continually think from their children's perspective. There are so many reasons for children's behavior and we do our children a huge justice by considering the core of their actions. I definitely recommend this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    The Connected Child

    As a couple with no children, embarking on the foster care adoption process, this book is invaluable. It's a great read with really good practical examples and advice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Connected Child and waiting parents

    My husband and I are in the process of adopting a child with special needs. We also work with students in special education. This book is a great resource for parents and professionals working with "waiting children". Waiting children are children who are being adopted after birth. These children may have trouble adjusting to being adopted and may not know how to live in a caring family environment. They may still be mourning the loss of their birth family or may be mistrustful because other adults in their lives were unable to take care of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1