BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Conning For Keeps (An Agents of TRAIT Novella)

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    recommended

    Great mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Romantic Suspense. Rating: 4 1/2 stars I received a co

    A Great Romantic Suspense.

    Rating: 4 1/2 stars

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated in any way.

    Marissa Joens works for TRAIT. This is the second in a series but I found that this book could be read as a stand-alone. If you like this book as much as I did, you may want to go back and read book one titled Gaming for Keeps. Then you will get to know more about what TRAIT is all about.

    Trevor Harris and Marissa are going on a mission together. I found it interesting how Marissa gets prepared for going undercover. Makes you wonder if this is actually done in the “spy” business. I loved how Trevor chickened out – you will have to read that for yourself.

    What’s great about Seleste’s book is that she has created characters that didn’t have the perfect childhood. But it goes to show that it doesn’t define who they are. It helps create who they are but doesn’t mean that they don’t attempt to try to do better.

    You will find that this author does a great job of teasing her readers. Just like her characters, you get all hot and bothered and then she pulls the reader back down to earth. The suspense is continued from beginning to end. It’s a great way to keep the reader’s interest and have them looking forward to what’s coming next. Sorry to say that I couldn’t find anything on her web site so we will just have to be patient. I wouldn’t even mind if she had another adventure with this couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    I thought this was a really fun read. It has really enjoyable ch

    I thought this was a really fun read. It has really enjoyable characters and a story line that had me laughing out loud at several spots. Would recommend reading. I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    I read the first book in the agents of TRAIT series and really e

    I read the first book in the agents of TRAIT series and really enjoyed it so when this one came up for review I jumped at the chance.




    I would have to say this book is even better than the first. I loved Marissa and Trevor they're chemistry was smoking and I loved that Trevor loved Marissa more than Mari.




    This was  thoroughly enjoyable rad that i couldn't put down. 




    Overall i give it 4.5 out of 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    3,5 stars for a nice, steamy read for a rainy afternoon. Mariss

    3,5 stars for a nice, steamy read for a rainy afternoon.

    Marissa is a con artist, who works for TRAIT as an agent. she is teamed up with Trevor to get a painting from a Mafia boss. but nothing is as it seems at the beginning, not only have both of them their own problems with this mission but also are they attracted to each other - and they have to pose as an engaged couple.

    this was a fun read with some steamy scenes and Mrs. deLaney knows how to write them. Nevertheless I missed the emotional development, the developing trust. the story was not perfect either although there were some twist and turns in it, but I got the feeling that there should be more information on the plot

    all in all a nice read for a rainy afternoon

    this is the second book in the TRAIT series, but my first. but I don't think it is necessary to read them in order

    I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Title: Conning For Keeps - An Agent Of TRAIT Novella Author: Sel

    Title: Conning For Keeps - An Agent Of TRAIT Novella
    Author: Seleste deLaney
    Publisher: Entangle Publishing LLC/Entangled Flaunt
    Published: 2-3-2014
    ISBN: 978-1-62266-471-9
    E-Book ASIN: B00HTJ1EG4
    Pages: 111
    Genre: Romance
    Tags: Contemporary Fiction, Novella, Mystery, Suspense, Interracial Romance
    Sensual Level: Explicit
    Overall Rating: Very Good


    Marissa Joens, an agent of TRAIT, has a very special and unique talent. Using hypnosis she is able to become anyone and fool everyone. The brash young woman with the tenancy toward sticky fingers can become the demure shy girl of Trevor Harris' dreams. The reason she can fool everyone is she herself believes it is true. She remembers the planted memories as her own. Just as the love, her memories of the life she shares with Trevor and their upcoming participation in the group wedding being hosted by Franco Canalis and his fiancé Evangeline Sheppard are real. There in lies the problem with their current assignment to find and retrieve the painting Certain Laughter. The very same painting said to have a curse on it that states if a person's blood touches the painting, that person will die. Maintaining their cover is imperative.


    Unfortunately Trevor has been fighting an attraction to Marissa, not to mention he blew his chance to have anything come of it a year ago. He doesn't trust her and her criminal proclivities. He worked his way out of that life years ago and refuses to be tempted back into it. When "Mari" allows her planted memories to tempt Trevor a bit to much her uses her trigger phrase to bring her out of her hypnosis. Now they have to complete the mission with one less tactical advantage and Trevor has to deal with the sassy Marissa who draws him like no other woman ever has. With danger all around them can they survive and make it out alive or will the passion igniting between them flare into a forest fire and burn them first?


    This novella might be short in pages, but it is long in suspense and drama. The characters jump off the pages with their bold personalities. Not to mention the emotions run the gauntlet of shy and timid to bold, sassy vixen and dangerous protector. You will find yourself trying to catch your breath with the speed of which the story goes. There are no dull or empty moments in this story and as you race to the end you find yourself wanting to slow down to savor it more Pick up a copy for yourself today and enjoy the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Another great read by Ms DeLaney! This installment has two unde

    Another great read by Ms DeLaney!
    This installment has two undercover agents trying to recover something from the mob. Each wants something different for past reasons.


    This book has undercover agents, the mob, a wedding thrown in and sex. It all works together to make a quick interesting read. I couldn't put the book down ~ read it in a day! I'm hooked on what I hope becomes a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    I am really enjoying the Agents of TRAIT series. The second book

    I am really enjoying the Agents of TRAIT series. The second book of the series kicks off with a bang. The main characters Trevor and Marissa get sent on an undercover mission, whilst at the same time managing to hide their true feelings of desire from each other. Seleste paints the sexual chemistry between the characters very well, especially leading up to their initial "encounter." At the same time she creates a world full of suspense and action, with the Trevor and Marissa having pasts that conflict with their lives as agents. Seleste not only incorporates romance, but adds elements of mystery, action and suspense. Its a must read for anyone that enjoys a good novel. I really can't wait for the third book in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    Love this series! **I was given an ARC of this book in exchang

    Love this series!

    **I was given an ARC of this book in exchange for honest review**

    Conning for Keeps is the second in the TRAIT series. I love these books. They're fun, suspenseful, and hot. Seleste deLaney is always a great story teller, and Conning For Keeps doesn't disappoint.

    Marissa is a fun-loving character with a little bit of feisty, as well as some vulnerability. It makes her extremely likeable to read.

    Trevor is stoic and a little brooding, which is just such a sexy trait in a character. I love how strong he was, while still being vulnerable—even if she couldn’t let Marissa know it.

    This is just book two in this series, and personally, I’m hoping for a lot more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    **I received an ARC of this book in exchange for this honest rev

    **I received an ARC of this book in exchange for this honest review**

    With this second installment in her Agents of TRAIT suspense romance series, Ms. deLaney has confirmed that she has a true mastery of the art of the novella. Novellas, by their very nature, are often unsatisfying and under-developed – but not with this series. Each character is fully realized and the conflict is intense, yet brought to us in a delightfully smaller package that allows for enjoyment on any schedule.

    The series premise is perfectly suited for this format, in that each installment (so far) is a high-stakes standalone mission that gets the reader’s heart racing, right along with the steamy romance. As with book one, there are lots of twists and turns, but Ms. deLaney still developed the romance perfectly. That is no small feat, indeed. I often find that suspense romances can’t bring the goods with both sides of that coin, but this series balances that dichotomy expertly.

    You could certainly read this book on its own, but Gaming for Keeps was one of my favorite books of 2013 and I highly recommend you one-click that one, too. I’m thrilled to hear that there will be at least one more book in this series. I wish there were dozens more, and a TV show! And if Ms. deLaney or Entangled are reading this review – please write a novella about Josh, he seems complex and definitely hero-worthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    I enjoy Delaney's books, there is always an interesting twist



    I enjoy Delaney's books, there is always an interesting twist and a thread of humor. Conning for Keeps is no exception. I love the hypnosis trick for Marissa, and Trevor's reaction to her being not quite herself. Gotta' love a man with the integrity to not sleep with a woman while under the influence - any influence - that keeps her from being able to make her own decisions.


    Trevor and Marissa have such a lovely contrast to them - she's much more of a free spirit than he is. Or maybe just a little more rebellious. She pushes his buttons and limits while trying to complete their mission. Watching him trying to control her while relaxing (or perhaps losing) control of his desires is amusing and hot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1