Customer Reviews for

Conquered by a Highlander

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Loved it!

    This was a great book and continuation to this series, that started with the parents and now continues with their kids, in this book, Colin MacGregor. The book does not disappoint as you find yourself in a different world with heroes and villians. I am always amazed by how immersed you become in the lives of the people in these books. Colin is in a difficult spot where Gillian is concerned, and the situation with Gillian and her son is heartbreaking. Despite Colin trying to maintain his distance, he is unable to do so because of the nature of Gillian's situation with her son, and Gillian's very cruel uncle, an Earl. This is a story of a damsel in distress, the internal struggle between doing a job versus letting go and doing what is right. A really good read and another really good book in this amazing series. Loved it and highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Conquered by a Highlander by Paula Quinn

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND... ADD TO YOUR "MUST READ" LIST. AWESOME !! YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN UNTIL THE LAST PAGE....PLACE IT ON THE TOP OF MUST BUY....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    One of the Best!

    The 4th book comes to an end, how sad! There is a short story left after this one about Finn-A Highlander for Christmas. This story about Colin is one of my favorites. So much excitement, anxious moments and much love that makes me sad this series is at an end, which means Ms. Quinn did an amazing job in telling the Children of the Mist stories. I loved Gillian, Edmund and Captain Gates character's too. I know some say the books can stand alone, but to get a true picture of all the crossover character's from all the books, I feel should be read in order. If you love Highland Romance, this is a fantastic series! ( ljb)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CONQUERED BY A HIGHLANDER by Paula Quinn is an exciting Scottish

    CONQUERED BY A HIGHLANDER by Paula Quinn is an exciting Scottish Romance/historical romance.Book#4 in the Children of the Mist series,but can be read as a stand alone. See, “Book 1, RAVISHED BY A HIGHLANDER,In Book 2, SEDUCED BY A HIGHLANDER,and In Book 3, TAMED BY A HIGHLANDER”. What a conclusion to this fast paced,adventure filled story with characters that jump off the page and will capture your heart. Follow Lady Gillian Dearly and Colin MacGregor as they find passion,desire,love,betrayal,and bound by duty.They must navigate treachery,as Colin serves his King and brings Lady Gillian and her young son to safety. Another Scottish Romance hit for this author. “The Children of the Mist” has been a wonderful series,I hate to see the end to the MacGregor’s. What strong,sexy,tough,duty bound warriors they are and the women who love them is feisty,passion filled. What a delight to read “Conquered By A Highlander”. Ms. Quinn knows how to write Scottish romance that will pull the reader into the story and hold them there. A must read! If you enjoy Scottish highlanders,treachery,treason,warriors,feisty lasses,English lady’s,clans, and a delightful tale of love and romance, this is a title for you. Received for an honest review from Net Galley and the publisher. Details can be found at Forever, an imprint of Grand Central Publishing, the author’s website,and My Book Addiction and More.


    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    How historic romance novels should be!!

    Conquered by a Highlander (Children on the Mist, Book #4) by Paula Quinn Rating: 4.5 Genre: Historical Romance During the reign of the Catholic King James Stewart in 1688, Colin MacGregor, a general in James's Royal army, is sent on a secret, and hopefully his last, mission to gather as much information as possible in regards to the enemy Dutch Prince, William of Orange. Under the alias Campbell of Breadalband, Colin plans on infiltrating the Garrison of the Earl of Devon in Dartmouth Castle in hopes of preventing, at all costs, the threat of a royal take-over. Yet, when confronted by the strong-willed Lady of the castle, Gillian Dearly, Colin never thought he could be so easily impressed by her no-surrender mannerism and her sweet-tempered son. Having always thought that his kin/clan, training for battle, and the "desire to conquer with a blade in his hand" were the most important parts of life, Gillian truly catches him by surprise and that seriously bothers him. Colin just isn't the type of man who rescues damsels (or their children) in distress since his sole mission is to prevent William of Orange from arriving on this English shores. Cousin to Geoffrey Dearly, the cruel Earl of Devon, Gillian Dearly is all but condemned to Hell by her father due to a past mistake (i.e. child out of wedlock). Under the protection of Captain George Gates, Gillian is attempting to properly raise and educate her three-year-old son, Edmund, while in this confining way-of-life forced upon her. Even though a new mysterious mercenary arrives at Dartmouth Castle, who adds excitement to her and Edmund's days, Gillian continues to secretly exchange correspondences with the Dutch Prince in Holland, in hopes that he can aid her in escaping this nightmarish lifestyle for a brighter future with her son. The sooner William of Orange arrives the better, since Gillian and her son are in desperate need of a rescue. In my opinion, this is how historic romance novels should be!! A rugged warrior plus a jaded lady equaling a truly refreshing tale full of suspense, great historical details, and a sweet budding romance. The overall story flowed so smoothly that I quickly found myself absorbed in the struggles of the characters late into the night. I really enjoyed the trust barriers that the protagonists had to overcome as well as their internal struggle with keeping secrets. From a readers perspective, their weaknesses really made them believable and even more likeable. The family aspect in this book was really interesting as well. It really make evident the broad range of some of the best and worst family traits: abandonment vs. compassion or arrogance vs. encouragement. All in all, a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Recommended

    Love this story as well as the rest of the series.
    'Laird of the Mist' will always be my fav tho..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Quinn never disappoints! This is a great finale for my favorite

    Quinn never disappoints! This is a great finale for my favorite Highland series! Start from the beginning - Laird of the Mist - and read all of them through. You won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    DEFINITELY RECOMMEND - LOVE THE WHOLE SERIES, ALL AS GOOD AS TEH NEXT.

    I first read one the the later books in the series and loved it so much I had to go back and read the series from the start. I loved each book as much as the previous one. So much so that I pre-ordered the new one coming out. Can't wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    This was really good. Highly recommend. I've read all of the ser

    This was really good. Highly recommend. I've read all of the series and am torn as to my favorite. Love them all! Can't wait for more!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Recommend

    I enjoyed this entire series.... Best if read in order, in my opinion, but each book can easily stand alone as a good book if you like historical romance... Personally I really enjoyed them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    How can you not love this book. It was a fantastic end to all th

    How can you not love this book. It was a fantastic end to all the kid's stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Awesome

    Another awesome book in the series! Sorry it ended. Can't wait for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2