Customer Reviews for

The Conquest (Saucer Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Rip roaring space adventure novel

    After the adventures in SAUCER, Rip Cantrell and his girlfriend Charley Pine donated the flying saucer to the Air and Space Museum. A bored Charley accepts Pierce Artois¿ offer to pilot a space plane to the moon to bring supplies to the station being built there. While she is on the space plane, Charley notices inside a locked compartment an object marked with a radioactive warning label; nothing on the manifest indicates that anything radioactive is on the ship......................... On the moon, Artois and his associates are building a mysterious machine that disturbs Charley. She soon learns that they are constructing an antigravity beam that will destroy anything in its path even from the distance to earth. Artois wants to be emperor of the world and he has a good chance of succeeding. Charley hijacks a space plane and returns to earth. She and Rip steal back the donated saucer so that they can try to destroy Artois¿ fleet leaving him stranded on Luna, rescue his abducted uncle, and ultimately obliterate the weapon of mass destruction......................... SAUCER: THE CONQUEST is a rip roaring space adventure novel filled with a dashing hero and a courageous female champion, vile villains ready to commit genocide for power, and numerous space battles that make Star Wars look like a romance. Rip is a modern day Flash Gordon leaping from one adventure into another while Charley is the only person who can out leap Rip yet keep him somewhat on an even keel. Gifted Stephen Coonts provides an innovative yet in some ways old fashioned space tale that will appeal to anyone who enjoys the Star war sagas........................ Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    This is a hidden gem... just as good as the original

    There are two books in this series: Saucer and Saucer the Conquest. Steven is currently writing the third and probably final book of the series due out April 2014.
    I have found this book one of the most enjoyable I've ever read... Along with the original "Saucer" book. Make sure you read "Saucer" first before reading "The Conquest"... You'll be able to understand the characters better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Fantastic Read!

    Thank you so much for book 2! Now we need a book 3 ... This book is impossible to put down ... just try it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Awsome plot and great characters

    This book is very good, it's plot is well rounded with great character.People that love books with spaceships in it will love this book. Also it is a good past time book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    Interesting continuation...

    The continuing story of the saucer enigma. The main characters bond together to eliminate a worldwide threat against humanity. Mr. Coonts was definitely reaching for this one! I purchased this second installment because I was somewhat impressed with the first. However, "Conquest" is a ridiculous story with totally unbelievable characters and events. I think the author was trying to write a James Bond scenario that fell way short of any timeline interpretations. Although it is an interesting read, it's value is subjective and relevant only to the continuation of the lives of the main characters and the ideology of the saucer technology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    A good sequel to the first Saucer book

    I read this immediately after the first book and it was just as entertaining. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    What an imagination!

    A fun and exciting series! I can hardly wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Enjoyable read.

    Old yet fun topic on have aliens visited us a long, long time ago; and did they seed earth which is how we originated here, or is there intelligent life out there that looks like us? A fun and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No Interest in Reading the Third Book in the Series

    The first book in the series was entertaining. This book just became silly. The plot was all over the place and somewhat predictable. The "science" in the fiction was ridiculous from the physics to the biology. It did not leave me with any interest in reading the third book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    Very Entertaining and good science for the most part too.

    Stephen Coonts is a favorite author but this book is a departure from his normal genre. He spins and weaves a good tapestry and his characters are believable. This is a reccommended read, it will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    the author quit trying

    the first book was a light space opera romp, and i had hoped this would continue the story. unfortunately the secondary and tertiary characters in this sequel are as developed as a three year old and shallow as paint. they are cartoonish in their response and actions. i regret not stopping at the first book and will not be buying the third.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    By chance, I came across Stephen Coonts' Saucer series and found

    By chance, I came across Stephen Coonts' Saucer series and found Sauce and Saucer: The Conquest to be delightful reading. The story line is quite different from his other novel and yet very enjoyable.
    I would recommend this as a good read.  I am looking forward to reading the third and final book in this series. - Alison Sing, Lynnwood, WA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Just asg Just as good as the first

    Keep them comming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Did not read

    I started this book and really was not impressed and did not finish it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2