Customer Reviews for

Conquistadora

Average Rating 3.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Well written and very insightful,

In Spain, Ana Cubillas dreams of living in Puerto Rico after reading the diaries of her sixteenth century ancestor who accompanied de Leon in the New World. Ana finds a means to cross the Atlantic when she meets twins Ramón and Inocente who inherit jointly a sugar plan...
In Spain, Ana Cubillas dreams of living in Puerto Rico after reading the diaries of her sixteenth century ancestor who accompanied de Leon in the New World. Ana finds a means to cross the Atlantic when she meets twins Ramón and Inocente who inherit jointly a sugar plantation in Puerto Rico. The brothers fall in love with her, but she marries Ramon in 1844. Soon afterward, she persuades the siblings the good life is at their Hacienda Los Gemelos plantation.

However, the island is not the tropical paradise of her dreams. As the American ideological divide heats up and threatens to boil into the Caribbean, she finds the oppressive heat unbearable and the feral land just outside the hacienda dangerously unwelcoming. Finally Ana is disturbed by the slave labor employed on her Hacienda. Still a romantic at heart, she sacrifices everything for her first and only love Hacienda Los Gemelos.

The underlying theme of this super mainstream story is similar to Esmeralda Santiago's autobiography When I Was Puerto Rican, which focused on having a foot on the island and one in NYC; this enjoyable tale likewise has a foot in real Puerto Rico and whimsically in Ana's romanticized Puerto Rico. Well written and very insightful, readers will relish this engaging mid ninetieth century look at Puerto Rico (and initially Spain).

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

No

In spanish

posted by 9455256 on December 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well written and very insightful,

    In Spain, Ana Cubillas dreams of living in Puerto Rico after reading the diaries of her sixteenth century ancestor who accompanied de Leon in the New World. Ana finds a means to cross the Atlantic when she meets twins Ramón and Inocente who inherit jointly a sugar plantation in Puerto Rico. The brothers fall in love with her, but she marries Ramon in 1844. Soon afterward, she persuades the siblings the good life is at their Hacienda Los Gemelos plantation.

    However, the island is not the tropical paradise of her dreams. As the American ideological divide heats up and threatens to boil into the Caribbean, she finds the oppressive heat unbearable and the feral land just outside the hacienda dangerously unwelcoming. Finally Ana is disturbed by the slave labor employed on her Hacienda. Still a romantic at heart, she sacrifices everything for her first and only love Hacienda Los Gemelos.

    The underlying theme of this super mainstream story is similar to Esmeralda Santiago's autobiography When I Was Puerto Rican, which focused on having a foot on the island and one in NYC; this enjoyable tale likewise has a foot in real Puerto Rico and whimsically in Ana's romanticized Puerto Rico. Well written and very insightful, readers will relish this engaging mid ninetieth century look at Puerto Rico (and initially Spain).

    Harriet Klausner

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    I really enjoyed this

    It is a longer story, a plus as far as I'm concerned, (400+/- book pages: 2.5 nook pages per book page.) that is very well thought out. It is not suspensful, as clear foreshadowing allows you to forecast upcoming events, but it is entertaining.

    I kept thinking that I would love to see this as a movie.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Left me wanting more...

    Conquistadora would be great for book club discussions, particularly for people who know and appreciate Puerto Rico and its history. It's a quick and interesting read.

    The only negative for me was the sexual content, which sensationalized the characters but took away from the important history being conveyed.

    Nevertheless, I look forward to Esmeralda Santiago's sequel to this historical novel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Great read!

    Ana was a true Conquistadora...at all cost. I loved her unforgiven agenda, ambition, tenecity. I found myself routing for her and greatly disliking her in-laws and the society/culture that defined them. But by the end of the book I found my emotions turned upside down, as Ana's selfishness took over her life and mine as I could not turn the pages fast enough. Santiago played with those emotions just like Ana contolled the lives at Hacienda los Gemelos. Many of the cultural idiosycracies described in the book about men, women, and their environment are still visible in 2011 Puerto Rico. A true work of art!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Wonderful

    I loved this book. The strength of women against a harsh environment and the success of an individual. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves historical fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2012

    Page-turning

    In some ways predictable, but nonetheless enjoyable, this is a sweeping "emigrating to the new world" saga of a woman pursuing her dream (sometimes for, some times in spite of her loved ones... reminiscent of Scarlett O'Hara)

    While I wouldn't qualify this as an icon of literature, and the author made some odd choices, it was still a very enjoyable escapist novel, that swept me up in the story and characters, and kept me lost in its world until the last page, which left me scope to imagine how the story might continue... Especially as I read much of it overlooking the same warm Caribbean waters and similar fields of sugar cane in which the bulk of the novel is set.

    Well worth a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    I couldn't put this one down

    I really, really enjoyed this book. I did not expect to like it as much as I did. On my Nook, this was 415 pages and I enjoyed each page. The writing was really good and the story was very interesting. Each character was so interesting. There was much to admire in the book's characters but also much to depise. This would be a perfect book club book becaue after finishing reading it I can just imagine the differences in opinions that readers would have about each of the characters. Besides being a great story this book touched so many issues such as social class, slavery, the role of a woman, infidelity, etc. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Exceeds expectations...

    This novel, although different from cannon latino-lit, embodies struggle, the spirit of perseverence, a question of identity, feminism, and magical realism. It is compared to Gone With The Wind... but is quite different. As in much of her work, the author is amazingly descriptive of the natural beauty an hardship of la isla. The protagonist is, much like Scarlet, meant to be both admired and dispised. The comentary on Puerto Rican slavery and other politics of the time-period is well-done. Many of the characters are interesting, but I admire her use of language more than anything. I would deffinately recomend reading this, I certianly plan on reading it in Spanish soon myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    I enjoyed this Powerful

    Could not put this book down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    I have a Love/Hate Relationship with the Book

    Very well-written, exciting page-turner. I have a love/hate relationship with almost every character. Santiago does a great job demostrating the good and evil within each of the characters, allowing you to admire them for certain attributes and despise them for others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Conquistadora me conquisto

    Intersting story which brings you through the development of the lovely isla del encanto

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No

    In spanish

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I chose this book based on reviews I saw here as well as a recent magazine book review. I very much enjoyed learning about the culture and history of Puerto Rico as well as well as following the trials, tragedies and triumphs of a young girl into her womanhood, making unpopular choices and following her dream. I look forward to reading other books, especially a sequel to this book, by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    Very good read!

    I really enjoyed this book. As a Puerto Rican women it made me embrace more my culture and my ancestry. A must read for every Puertorican daughter. It made me want to know more about my family tree. Called my 90 year old grandmother, and talked about her life experiences , while growing up the island of Puerto Rico. This was priceless ! Wish there were more book choices available in the Nook from Esmeralda Santiago and Isabel Allende.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2014

    Ki ugfrffihrrih Cggdfu.nedcbkjvkhglhvzkvsVxZhschgfytrrrrkbtbhbhnjnhbybgbgybyhyfrtmggrrjjikttggggghghghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhyyyyyyiiooooooooh

    Brgrhtgtgrvttrjhfhhgtththnjhtufoughyhfrjtfyhutihuhhkgkijijjgttgp ecfbvunyhtgk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Highly recommended.

    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Enjoyed

    A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    WORSt Book ever

    Gffggxf%-/ hcvghtkxyctbr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9