Customer Reviews for

Conscious Capitalism: Liberating the Heroic Spirit of Business

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Thoughtful....

    Read the book before passing judgment-you will find unwavering firsthand knowledge of the free enterprise system. And yes, Obamacare IS Fascism. Look it up and read the law and its rules.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Negative reviewers

    The couple of people who gave negative reviews clearly did not read the book. You may disagree with the premise or arguments contained in the book, but at least read it in order to make intelligent counter-arguments. Mackey does an excellent job of outlining a business that is designed to maximize fiscal, mental and physical wellbeing for all stakeholders, including employees, shareholders, customers, suppliers, etc.

    As more businesses follow this and similar models, we will all profit in our personal and financial lives. Rather than complain because you dislike free enterprise, why not praise those companies that want to maximize the potential of everyone? Give your business to those companies that show concern for and seek to benefit the environment, their customers, their employees, and, yes, those willing to invest in such companies.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Excellent! I recommend this book for all schools to make it a re

    Excellent! I recommend this book for all schools to make it a requirement for younger students to read and live by it!!!
    Even way before I read this book, I share the same ideals as John Mackey!
    In response to YarnHog, I think you are confused. John Mackey cares for the human race (progress) so much so that he structured his
    company in such a way that almost every one will have an opportunity  to earn a decent  living, live healthier and be sustainable!!
    What are you talking about? Being healthy is proof enough that it ensures human progress!!!!!
    Are you kidding me? Are you healthy? How much do you weigh? And are you financially sound?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    John Mackey equates Obamacare with fascism and he has the nerve

    John Mackey equates Obamacare with fascism and he has the nerve to write a book with the word 'conscious' in the title?
    Give me a break. He cares little for "human progress." Given the recent spate of horrible publicity and apologies
    this book is a joke.

    4 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    This book is a breath of fresh air! I agree with the authors' bo

    This book is a breath of fresh air! I agree with the authors' book wholeheartedly, and my family would be shocked.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Capital is defined as such by the process of an owner of labor m

    Capital is defined as such by the process of an owner of labor making more money out of money. The Planet's resources are finite - the crucial, cheap natural resources that Capital Accumulation ("growth", i.e. capitalist economic "stability) relies on, the most important being oil, cannot be exploited limitlessly. The Space on Earth
    is itself limited, the foresting industry cannot serve as an endless field of accumulation, the fossil fuel industries (on which the whole modern capitalist economy runs) cannot provide as a profitable field of accumulation in the next decades as oil becomes harder to find, demand increases as the capitalist economies continue to blindly expand in the sought for necessarily higher profits. Today, global Agriculture produces enough food to feed 12 Billion humans with 2,700 kc a day, yet, 1 Billion humans are considered by the UN "permanently severely undernourished". Capitalism can NEVER be conscious of human needs, it serves CAPITAL and not LABOR, humans. Producing Wealth for the fulfillment of Human Needs is the other other system: Communism.   

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    A Must Read

    I have found this book to be life changing, as a future international attorney I will only work for companies who practice and live the conscious capitalism credo in their corporation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Putting it simply, the first part of this book is thick with the

    Putting it simply, the first part of this book is thick with the air of Mr. Mackey's self-promotion and grandiosity. Even when he was writing about the heroic traits of another company, the story was often brought back to underlining his heroism. It seems in his mind, he is Whole Foods. When shopping at WF's I intentionally hold the idea that I am only supporting organic food, fair trade, sustainable products and quality employees.

    The second half of the book does lay out some interesting non-ego-maniacal points, but I found it grueling to get through the first half. All the information could have been more succinctly addressed in an essay, as much is repeated many, many times. I also found many of the conclusions erroneous. Following are a few points that scream out:

    Mr. Mackey states WF "think of customers as our most important stakeholders...the well-being of customers must be treated as an end." Yet at the beginning of the book he talks about how he and his partner/girlfriend lived in an office above their first store, Safer Way. (to save on paying rent) "there was no shower or bathtub there, so we took `showers' in the stores dishwasher...pretty sure that violated several city health codes." Woa, can you imagine going to someone's house for dinner, eating and then the hosts bragging they took their showers in the same sink they washed their pots and pans and bragging that they got away with breaking the city's health codes? P-U-K-E! That is not in alignment with caring about anothers well-being, just being a cheapskate about paying rent.

    Mr. Mackey claims "the ethical basis of free-enterprise capitalism" has been "hijacked intellectually by economists..." though the disaster capitalism economist, Milton Friedman is one of his hero's. This is the same MF, who promoted disaster capitalism and who counseled many US presidents who implemented his suggestions. According to Naomi Klein, author of The Shock Doctrine, "the economic chaos that we're seeing right now on Wall St., main st. and Washington, stems from many factors including the ideas (put into practice) of Milton Friedman."

    In Conscious Capitalism, Mr. Mackey writes quite extensively about the heroic role he and Whole Foods' plays and has played in educating the public about organic foods, the well-being of livestock, etc. to the blatant exclusion of all the advocates and educators of the 1920's, 30's etc. who were mocked, scorned, and ridiculed by the industrial farmers and chemical companies.

    Does it make one a hero who takes advantage of an opportunity borne from the hard work of others who were mocked, dismissed, and undermined by the industrial farming advocates and who with great courage and trust in the truth, continued to educate and inform even though it did not begin to be mildly profitable until the 1960's?

    In his book it seems Mr. Mackey thinks if he does not mention all the organic, sustainable and/or green businesses' and meat and fish advocates that came before him, he will convince the world that he and Whole Foods are the only hero's in this area. In all the businesses highlighted in the book not one of the well known, pre-Whole Foods' businesses is mentioned. In fact in his list of companies practicing the tenets of "Conscious Capitalism," he includes the overly stocked, bloated examples of Ikea and Costco.

    He also celebrates the fact that companies like CocaCola, Pepsi and Wallmart are getting into organic and/or natural healthy foods. This is the same PepsiCo who was caught illegally adding a synthetically produced ingredient to it's Naked Juice products as well as including GMO's and continuing to label the drinks as "all natural." We won't even get started on Wallmart or CocaCola. Isn't this like letting the fox into the hen house or a wolf in sheep's clothing in the field of sheep? I mean come on now!!!!

    Also, anyone getting into the organic business allows them a seat on the organic standards board. These standards were long and hard won and do not need to be undermined by wolves in sheep's clothing.

    Another important point, Mr. Mackey states, "customers look to WF to be their `editors,' as we carefully examine and evaluate the products we sell." He also states "WF talks and walks our values selling the highest quality natural and organic products available. Trust is critical to having a good relationship with customers and is developed by dealing with them with authenticity, transparency, integrity, respect and love."
    Yet, under all these lofty statements, among other things, WF has sold unlabeled GMO ingredients in some of their products. As a longtime shopper, I find that totally dishonest. Many ethical natural and organic foods' companies have voluntarily labeled their products GMO free. Mr. Mackey with great fanfare promises WF will do that soon. That some products have included GMO's is not in alignment with their promise of being honest and transparent!

    There are many more holes in the conclusions and ideas he puts forth in this book. It would be nice to believe business owners can and are heroes. When I was a kid I did believe in fairy tales, but real life and real people came along and I had to wake up. There was no regulation when the automobile giants forced out Tesla. There was no regulation in pre-union days when the greedy mine owners and industrial tycoons used their clout to get the police and government soldiers to shoot and/or kill their striking employees. So to suggest regulations are what caused businessmen to behave so badly is ludicrous or incredibly naive. I've noticed being raised by a rich daddy who can make one's dreams come true, twice does have a tendency to distort one's judgment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    All the arguments against ever reading this book are clearly lis

    All the arguments against ever reading this book are clearly listed in John Mackey's promotional interview with Mother Jones magazine.

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1