Customer Reviews for

Conspiracies (Repairman Jack Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Good, but so far my least favorite of any F. Paul Wilson novel I

    Good, but so far my least favorite of any F. Paul Wilson novel I have read. I found it a little difficult to follow at times. Not sure why the itineraries for SESOUP were given, especially the Sunday one at the end. The only thing I can think of for the Sunday one to be listed at the end would be to indicate that the story didn't end with Conspiracies. That it would continue in a different book. The different conspiracy theories were interesting, bizarre, but interesting. I found too many unanswered questions. For instance, who killed Olive? Why? Why was her body mutilated so badly and was she still alive when it happened? What happened to the computer disks that Melanie gave her and what was on them? And who the hell are the MIB Twins? What is up with the sunglasses that didn't have lenses? If they weren't from the "Otherness", then where did they come from, who sent them, and what is their agenda? Why did the hole close up when they fell into it? What kind of "torch" did the one twin pass onto Jack? Not to mention, what kind of creatures are they anyway? What exactly happened in 1968 to cause the infant mutations and who was responsible for it? I just found parts of this book vague and disjointed. Which was strange considering the detail Wilson went into describing the different conspiracy theories.



    I have loved all the other F. Paul Wilson novels I have read, but this one was a little disappointing. Where the others were "complete", with a beginning, middle and end, I felt that Conspiracies only had a beginning and middle, no conclusion or ending. Maybe the answers to my questions will be found in other Repairman Jack novels. I intend to read all of them because I love the character. How can you not love Repairman Jack?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    One of the better books in the series. Not as good as Hosts but

    One of the better books in the series. Not as good as Hosts but this one's pretty awesome! The ending was a shocker. Didn't see that one coming. This is a treat for any science fiction or horror fans out there. Great read. Couldn't put it down. Read VERY carefully about the ending. I missed something that was essencial to the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    Plot to Seize the White House

    If you like reading about conspiracies, you'll love the true story of how radicals tried to overthrow FDR! It's a historical even almost completely forgotten, but you can read about it in Jules Archer's The Plot to Seize the Whitehouse.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    A good diversion overall

    It's been a while since I read 'The Tomb' and I didn't realize that it was actually turned into a series of books. I haven't read 'Legacies' and might should have before reading this book. However, this is a good book and I actually enjoyed the variety of conspiracy theories that are put forth. There are parts where it seems a little disjointed and I will agree with another reviewer that the SESOUP Sunday schedule being placed on the last page is a bit odd and could be an editorial error. However, I consider that a minor issue. Bottom line, if you enjoy books that are a little far-out, you should enjoy this one. I can definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    Hell of a book!!!!

    This book was great from the beginning to the end! I was so into it, I couldn't put it down. I read the whole thing in a couple of days! This is the first Repairman Jack book that I have read, but now that I have read this, I'am going to get the other ones!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    REPAIRMAN JACK IS BACK IN ACTION!

    Though not as good as THE TOMB and LEGACIES, the newest 'Repairman Jack' novel, CONSPIRACIES, by F. Paul Wilson, is still a fun read. This time Jack is hired to search for a missing wife, Melanie Ehler, who was in the process of finishing her 'Grand Unification Theory when she suddenly vanishes. Her theory will shed light on what is actually going on in the world with regards to conspiracies, proving some and disproving others. Melanie was supposed to present her new theory at the national SESOUP (The Society for the Exposure of Secret Organizations and Unacknowledged Phenomena) conference, but disappeared just before the start of it. The question is whether or not her disappearance was voluntary. Jack cleverly infiltrates the conference of paranoid people, hoping to find out if any of its members were involved in the disappearance of Melanie. It isn't long before Jack finds out that basically everyone at the conference is a little nuts, and that there is a conspiracy of major proportions in the works. He suspects that Dr. Salvatore Roma, the founder of SESOUP, may be behind the strange happenings. Of course, Jack is right in his suspicions. Dr. Roma and his little monkey, Mauricio, are determined to unleash the 'Otherness' upon the unsuspecting world, thereby creating unimaginable calamity and chaos. It also isn't long before Jack realizes that Dr. Roma is connected to Melanie's disappearance in some way, and that it may be up to our reluctant hero to save the world when push comes to shove. CONSPIRACIES had a number of good things about it. Beside having a great character in Repairman Jack, the story line also offered a somewhat detailed look at the major conspiracies floating around out there (UFOs, little gray aliens abducting humans for experiments, the Men in Black, and the global Kabal taking economic control over the world). My own theory is that where there's a little bit of smoke, there's bound to be some fire. Well, the arguments presented for the above conspiracy theories certainly sound plausible enough to me. Even Jack begins to question his on beliefs after just a few days at the conference. He even starts to see his own paranoid self mirrored in many of the participants at the conference. I mean, who's more paranoid about the U.S. government than our Repairman Jack. The rakoshi creatures from THE TOMB return, at least in Jack's dreams, and Mr. Wilson does go into some detail concerning their origins, as well as their relationship to the 'Otherness.' The ending of the book is a little far-fetched, but it didn't take away from my enjoyment of the novel. One thing the reader should be aware of is that CONSPIRACIES takes place roughly seven months after THE TOMB (circa 1985/86), but Mr. Wilson throws in a large number of things that only recently happened, so just ignore the inconsistencies. Jack is definitely a wonderful character to hang out with for a day, and that is what makes the novels so much fun to read. These books are pure popcorn entertainment and are not to be taken too seriously. Buy the novel, read it, and have a great day of fun and relaxations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    Repairman Jack Rocks!!!

    I can't get enough Jack! Full of action/adventure and plenty of humor. Jack will have you grinning, smiling and laughing out loud! I am an aspiring writer having trouble with books keeping my attention. F. Paul Wilson's The Select and one of his Repairman Jack novella's got me hooked! I can't put his books down! Don't wish to take my word for it?, ask the President of the Jack Fan Club; Stephen King. Go out and buy The Tomb, Legacies, or Conspiracies today

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Repairman Jack is back

    No database contains information on Repairman Jack, who applies unorthodox methods to fix problems for people. Jack blends so well into the scenery, no one notices him, let alone remembers seeing him. Though a pragmatic person anchored into the material plane, Jack has battled some supernatural creatures in his time. <P>Jack¿s latest case comes to him via his home page on the Internet, which allows the Repairman to advertise, but remain invisible. Lewis Ehlers desperately wants to find his missing spouse Melanie. She appeared on his TV screen while he watched the Weather Channel and appealed to him to obtain the services of Jack. The Repairman accepts the case and soon attends a conspiracy buff conference where Melanie is scheduled to make an appearance. Jack meets the usual crazies, but also senses a malignant supernatural essence trying to crash the barrier into this world. Only Jack can hope to stop the creature from succeeding, but his odds of surviving the counter is slim. <P>Anyone who has ever read a Repairman Jack tale wonders what makes the man tick? He appears to be a normal person just by the nature of his conversations with his friends, but the average individual does not spend an inordinate amount of time making sure no trace exists of his ever being anywhere. Thus, Jack remains one of the most enigmatic characters around as readers realize they don¿t know Jack. Placing this puzzling protagonist inside a non-stop, action-packed thriller like CONSPIRACIES leave the audience wanting more novels starring Jack. As with his TOMB AND LEGACIES, F. Paul Wilson provides the audience with a triumphant tale starring a quirky hero who deserves wide fan attention. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1