BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Conspiracies (Shadow Grail Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This book pick up from right where it left on bringing on more trouble in the school. I like how this time around we see Spirit grow up more. She is more kin to her surroundings and is much more careful but also sneaky. Her friends on the other hand, I felt like they betrayed her, especially Loche. He is so different in this book that it scared me. It was like he was a whole new person.


    The storyline was somewhat boring. Some things happen but it pretty much was just filled in with drama from the friends, teachers, etc. It didn't get exciting till the part of the new student Elizabeth who brings a whole new element to the book. And I must say, it was a nice surprise. I really like how they incorporated an old tale in the future of these students. It really brought the story of Spirit and her friends to a whole new level.


    The love interest in this book was good. I like it when characters take their time getting to know one another, It makes it much more intimate to read. I love seeing Spirit happy and worry free of what was going on in the school. I also like to see Spirit just happy for once. She deserves it.


    Conspiracies laid down the foundation for a whole new side of the book but brings so much more to the table. The book is filled with more secrets, betrayals, and great twist I even enjoyed! I am looking forward to see what happen to Spirit and her friend in the next book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Great book"!!

    Overall, i loved this book and the first. Mercedes really expressed a great story plot, and made it come to life. There were some parts in both books that were really slow, but they did eventually start to get good. I hope that if there is a third book, that its a little more fast-paced and entertaining. Overall, great story. Keep reading!! :)

    - Anna :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The second young teen Shadow Grail urban fantasy is an engaging thriller

    Teenager Spirit White attends the Oakhurst Academy for orphans with magical skills where they train to fight in a war against an alleged evil. She and her new friends (Burke, Lachlan, Muirin and Adelaide) recently defeated the Wild Hunt (see Legacies).

    Though still grieving the deaths of her family in a car accident before she was enrolled at Oakhurst and feeling survivor guilt because of her doubts about what really happened to cause the deadly tragedy, Spirit and her BFFs look forward to time off to shop during the winter holidays. However, something feels off to her, but her buddies ignore her warnings except to ridicule her as alumni have taken charge of security. The only one who believes what Spirit says is the new lunatic student who insists the war between Arthur and Mordred has come to Oakhurst. When the homicides begin waking up everyone, Spirit fears it is too late.

    The second young teen Shadow Grail urban fantasy (see Legacies) is an engaging thriller starring an angry despondent anti Potter teen whose inner rage brings realism to the mix. For the most part the story line is fast-paced though it drags when relationships are explored with one late twist adding depth. Although her BFFs still remain out of the DC Teen Titan handbook, fans will want to attend the Sadie Hawkins Dance at eerie Oakhurst Academy.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Really Good!!

    If you liked the 1st book in this series at all you will enjoy this one too! It's a great mixture of mystery, intrigue, magic, and money with, of course, a touch of romance. I definitely recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Ah-maz-in

    Ohmygowd this book was absolutly brillent!!!!! I never ever ever wanted this book to come to end their betterb a 3 and a 4 and at least a 5!!!! csh NOT wait for the third to come out!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Thought it was wonderful! Does anyone know when the third book

    Thought it was wonderful!

    Does anyone know when the third book will be coming out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Evenbetter than first book

    I really enjoyed this and hope the next book is availible soon

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Keep them coming! Spirit has barely moved on with her life since

    Keep them coming!
    Spirit has barely moved on with her life since her family died, but she's doing the best she can.  She knows that the school and her friends are in danger and has to fight with them to realize it too.  

    Overall, I really enjoyed this book.  However, there were some inconsistencies from the last story.  (I'm guessing that they are there because there are two authors and it was pretty obvious that one wrote most of the other book where the other one wrote this one.)   These inconsistencies are fairly minor and were likely over looked.  Here are a few examples:  In the first book, Oakhurst was given the rights to the students until they turned 21 not 18.  Burke was also noted for being at Oakhurst longer than Muirin, not the other way around.

    ***Spoilers***

    Keep Reading for some of my Theories:  

    Several things hit me as I read these first two books.  
    First, the names of the main character and her sister.  Spirit kind of reminded me of being ghostly since she should be dead.  Then I noted Phoenix,  is a mythical creature that is reborn.  I half expected Phoenix's magic to be her rising from the grave without anyone knowing, but this has not happened.  
    Second, the idea of being called a Legacy could have been easily cleared up.  While Spirit and Loch were looking at the year books, they should have looked up their parents.  Spirit could have also asked to find out what type of powers her parents had, at least then they could have seen what the school came up with.  
    Third, the Destinies are likely linked to the Reincarnates.  Here are my guesses:  Spirit, Unknown, but her ring glowed; Loch, Shield, Sir Lancelot? His nickname means lake and some stories he was raised by the Lady of the Lake; Burke, sword, Sir Gawain since he is known for his kindness and compassion.  He was one of the main Knights of the Round Table; Addie, Chalice, Vivian also known as one of the Ladies in the Lake.  I'm guessing this because of her water gift.  Muirin, raven, possibly King Arthur since he turned into a raven, or Owein who fought King Arthur with ravens, or someone else? Camilla, wolf, Sir Pelleas, who was of low birth.  
    Fourth, Lizzie is missing and perhaps is Quercus.  My guess is that she's with Ms. Holland.  Another guess for Quercus is Doc A since Quercus is part of the Oak family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Lackey Scores Again!

    Very good follow-up book for the first book of the series. Even if you haven't read the first book, this one can stand alone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3