Customer Reviews for

The Conspiracy Club

Average Rating 3
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    One of his best books. I really enjoyed the characters in this b

    One of his best books. I really enjoyed the characters in this book. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    To long dragged on

    I love a good mystery novel but this story dragged on. To many unnecessary tangents. Sorry and not a extremely thoughtful ending either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    A magnificent Jonathan Kellerman

    Although "The Conspiracy Club" doesn't include an all-time favorite, Alex Delaware, we're introduced to a likeable, young psychologist named Jeremy Carrier. In this story, he is psychologically put through his paces, and once the momentum begins to build, the reader is almost as caught up in the intrigue as the hero.

    When we meet Jeremy, he is recovering from the vicious murder of his fiancée, Jocelyn Banks, a nurse at Central City Hospital where he also works. He is typically considered a suspect by the police, and although they later leave him alone because of the lack of evidence, one of the detectives, Steve Hoker, continues to pursue him throughout the novel in an indirect way.

    Jeremy has become totally absorbed in his job and is considered a favorite of all who come into contact with him. He has a special healing talent that patients respond to and a charisma that doesn't escape Angelo Rios, a resident physician. She and Jeremy eventually become lovers.

    Meanwhile, an older doctor on staff, Arthur Chess, a pathologist and director of a weekly meeting Jeremy attends, approaches Jeremy one day in the doctors' dining room. Chess's overture confuses Jeremy because the older man's manner is unusual, and Jeremy doesn't see the point of their conversation. As time goes on, however Jeremy realizes that Chess is involving him in a clever and elaborate mind game, and the symbolic name of Chess doesn't go unnoticed by the reader. Still, the point of the game eludes Jeremy, although he is caught up in the mystery and is determined to follow it though. He is introduced to Chess's friends at a bizarre late-night supper and then abruptly ignored completely by the older doctor and the rest of the group.

    When Chess leaves the hospital temporarily to travel, Jeremy is given strange clues via interoffice correspondence to something that momentarily baffles him. He thinks the messages are coming from Chess, but the fact that he's abroad only confounds the issue. Jeremy is hooked nevertheless. He suspects that Chess's dinner companions may be in on the project and are acting in his behalf. Occational postcards from Chess offer further clues to something hidden.

    Finally, the twists and turns expose a symmetry and enlightenment that amaze Jeremy. He connects the dots to reveal an evil side to two other doctors on staff and a vulnerability shared by Chess and his friends. The clues he has received plunge Jeremy deeply into their secrets and his own psyche and ultimately point to a cathartic release for Jeremy.

    For readers who enjoy winding through a maze, this book is recommended for the sheer intricacy of it. Once more, Kellerman performs his magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    Excellent read.

    One of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Borning ... Yawn

    I'm thoroughly disappointed. I expect a lot more out of this prolific writer. I thought I'd be thrilled get to know new characters, but I wasn't. 86 Dr. Carrier and Angela. The story never got off the ground. I finished the book because I hoped that it would get better. It didn't. Bring back the page turners with Alex and Milo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    Disappointing

    As a huge Kellerman fan I was excited to read something with new characters..it turns out that I should have stuck with the usual Kellerman fare. The storyline was mediocre at best and I felt nothing for the characters..I missed Alex and Milo. I look forward to the next Delaware or Petra book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    I liked it...

    Contrary to the other reviews shown here, I thought the book was a success... Even though written as a stand-alone book, I would read another about Dr. Jeremy Carrier or Arthur Chess and the CCC. As an avid reader of the Alex Delaware series, I appreciated Kellerman's deviation from the norm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    Not overly impressed

    I'm not impressed at all with this book. It was extremely slow and boring. Just when you expected something exciting to happen, nothing did. The book did not flow like it should have. I don't think it was completely horrid, but it is definately not on my Favorite Books List. Kellerman didn't begin to develop his characters until at least 50 pages in to the novel. I was expecting more from a book call The Conspiracy Club. To me there wasn't much of a conspiracy. For real conspiracy read The Da Vinci Code or The Rule of Four.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    Satisfying

    I was ready not to like this book after reading all these reviews, but decided to give it the benefit of the doubt. I was pleasantly surprised. Although this one is slower paced than the Delaware whodunits, I found this story line more intriguing and interesting. I liked the fact that we learned about the club slowly as part of the story. I liked the characters and thought he did a good job developing them throughout the book. Overall, it's not one of those 'can't put it down', but it's a very satisfying read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    Hard to believe Kellerman actually wrote this...

    Let me first say that I'm an AVID Kellerman fan & have read all of his novels. As soon as I finish one, I wait expectantly for his next to be published. The quality of the writing in The Conspiracy Club is so inferior.....It's slow, dull, stiff, unsophisticated. A pet peeve: The author used his thesaurus liberally. (IMO, I'm not fond of using obscure words when you can convey your meaning much more clearly & directly.) The writing is mediocre & far beneath what we have come to expect from this fine author. I agree with the reviews below & wish I could have read them before buying this book. Kellerman is usually so good that, out of trust, I pre-ordered this book. Save your money & don't buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    MUST SURVIVE THE SLOW-PACE OF THE FIRST HALF TO APPRECIATE THE STORY!

    Although the first half of the book is slow-paced, its short chapters were absolutely necessary in order to prevent one from totally giving up on the story! Once past that, the story picks up pace to reward the reader with a novel that is worth exploring to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    My first and last Jonathan Kellerman book

    I was absolutely bored with this novel. I read the last 100 pages in one sitting just so I wouldn't have to open the book again. It seems you're waiting for something to happen and when it does you have one page left in the book. Very Dissapointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Enjoyable suspense

    Contrary to most of the reviews, I enjoyed Kellerman's departure from the norm. The characters are well-developed and I did not think this story dragged. It is not a long novel and Kellerman spaced the twists and turns to my satisfaction. I have not read a complete Alex Delaware novel but will do so after reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Not his best, but pretty good...

    The Conspiracy Club took me awhile to get through and I'm a big Kellerman fan--loved the Murder book. Thought the main character in this book a little stiff, but he came through in the end with a twist and his usual white-knuckle suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    First Exposure... A Weak Story from a good author...

    I always finish a book with the belief that somewhere 'in there' there is something of value to learn. The basic plot of The Conspiracy Club is an attention-getter --- women being murdered. And yes, the pages will turn. However, until I got to page 225, I was struggling with the decision --- is this a romance, mystery, or medical chronicle? After approximately page 225, the plot does gain momentum. I did not find the story psychologically complex or challenging. I am slightly disappointed with this writing. Specifically, connections to the plot are expressed in shallow, below standard, and insubstantial build-up and depth. There is only a tad of 'breathtaking' moments, and desire for the reader to hurry to the end to find out 'who-done-it.' The characters, even the hero, Dr. Jeremy Carrier, are too laid back. Except for Jeremy, other characters are very inactive in their roles. I did not find the culprit 'hunt chilling' nor do I consider this tome a '21st century Jack the Ripper' --- far from it. A small number of victims, very little involvement of police activity and investigation expressed, and did not see the police represented as 'assumed' heavy investigative factions --- a part that made the story 'not believable.' Many nondescript factors combined to make for weak storytelling --- other than the description of what/where someone ate (for) lunch. The roles of doctors Gwynn Hauser and Dirgrove were left 'flat' with no follow-up; Arthur Chess and compatriots were left flat in most of the story, especially Dr. Chess in his travels and how they connected to the plot. I was left wondering whether the parts of the aforesaid characters add value to the story and am left with the question: 'Are they necessary to the story?' On balance, I did enjoy the read and would read other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    No depth

    Having read and loved all of Jonathan Kellerman's books, I was so very disappointed in this one. The characters were so one dimensional. The relationships between the characters were flimsy, dull, and lackluster. The ending was beyond predictable. I'm only glad I borrowed this at the library instead of buying it. I'm all for a new character but don't make him so washed out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2004

    Slow but intriguing

    I've read other Jonathan Kellerman novels, most recently 'The Murder Book', that was a great book! This one was very slow getting started and I became a little frustrated towards the middle, itching for something to happen. Once I hit around Chapter 42 or so, things picked up and I couldnt put it back down until it was done. Good but could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2004

    Good solid read

    Good solid read. Pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2003

    Not one of his best .....

    I've read most of Kellerman's novels ... and say that this is one of the poorer ones. It doesn't bear any resemblance to the 'Alex Delaware' stories (where So. Calif. and Alex and Milo's adventures are so vividly painted). I couldn't get past half of it before having to 'skim through' the rest of the book. Big waste of time - and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone expecting 'Kellerman's normal type of novel'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    Mr. Kellerman-Stick to what works!

    I have been a longtime fan of his work and have enjoyed every book and looked forward to each new one, but this book was lacking in thrill factor, as well as, being incredibly boring characters. Please bring back Alex and the plots that keep me up all night striving to get to the end. All this book did was force me to keep going hoping for some reminance of the old Kellerman, but to no avail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2