Customer Reviews for

Conspirata (Cicero Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

You Cannot Miss This!

I'm not sure the other reviewers and I read the same book. Far from boring, I found this novel impossible to stop reading. I had separation anxiety every time I was forced to put it down, to work or make dinner or whatever. Like its predecessor, Imperium, it is written ...
I'm not sure the other reviewers and I read the same book. Far from boring, I found this novel impossible to stop reading. I had separation anxiety every time I was forced to put it down, to work or make dinner or whatever. Like its predecessor, Imperium, it is written as a thriller, not as history. Take away the history and you still have a compelling story--and Harris handles it marvelously. In fact, having finished Imperium and Conspirata, I am now devouring the rest of Harris's bibliography and am finding that all of his books are equally well written. I cannot wait for the third installment in the Cicero Trilogy. Definitely get this one. Whether you like history or not, you will not regret it!

posted by The_Walrus on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pass it up

This book covers some of Rome's most interesting years, filled with power shifts, intrigues and shifting fortunes. Great stuff! Right? Why then does the author make it so pedestrian? boring? dull!
I found the last chapter of considerable interest, although I don't thi...
This book covers some of Rome's most interesting years, filled with power shifts, intrigues and shifting fortunes. Great stuff! Right? Why then does the author make it so pedestrian? boring? dull!
I found the last chapter of considerable interest, although I don't think the author intended my take on it. J.G. Caesar qua master manipulator has boxed Cicero into a corner where he either has to capitulate to Caesar or leave Rome in exile. Truly, I felt the power of Cicero's downfall as a parallel to our political situation today. Caesar has obtained overwhelming power which he exercises though his puppets. The constitution is violated, laws outflanked, and the galloping doom of the Republic is tangible. Oh well! Don't Republics end up as dictatorships anyway?
I pondered how an author so familiar with the history could produce such a dreary novel. It wasn't the times. They were really cooking. I came to the conclusion that the author lacks the zip to make the novel interesting. All that intrigue, sex and manipulation! I fear the author maintained too great psychic distance from his subject, or to put it bluntly: he just didn't want to get his hands dirty.

posted by RobertGaines on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    You Cannot Miss This!

    I'm not sure the other reviewers and I read the same book. Far from boring, I found this novel impossible to stop reading. I had separation anxiety every time I was forced to put it down, to work or make dinner or whatever. Like its predecessor, Imperium, it is written as a thriller, not as history. Take away the history and you still have a compelling story--and Harris handles it marvelously. In fact, having finished Imperium and Conspirata, I am now devouring the rest of Harris's bibliography and am finding that all of his books are equally well written. I cannot wait for the third installment in the Cicero Trilogy. Definitely get this one. Whether you like history or not, you will not regret it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Robert Harris brings back the declining days of teh Roman republ

    Robert Harris brings back the declining days of teh Roman republic, Harris highlights the treachery of an aristocratic senator who attempts a coup d'etat, but Cicero is the hero of the day. It is a fantastic read, and anyone interested in this volatile period of Roman politics will appreciate his prose. I highly recommend this book. I just with that Robert Harris would write another in the Cicero series, as it has been too long in the making.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Pass it up

    This book covers some of Rome's most interesting years, filled with power shifts, intrigues and shifting fortunes. Great stuff! Right? Why then does the author make it so pedestrian? boring? dull!
    I found the last chapter of considerable interest, although I don't think the author intended my take on it. J.G. Caesar qua master manipulator has boxed Cicero into a corner where he either has to capitulate to Caesar or leave Rome in exile. Truly, I felt the power of Cicero's downfall as a parallel to our political situation today. Caesar has obtained overwhelming power which he exercises though his puppets. The constitution is violated, laws outflanked, and the galloping doom of the Republic is tangible. Oh well! Don't Republics end up as dictatorships anyway?
    I pondered how an author so familiar with the history could produce such a dreary novel. It wasn't the times. They were really cooking. I came to the conclusion that the author lacks the zip to make the novel interesting. All that intrigue, sex and manipulation! I fear the author maintained too great psychic distance from his subject, or to put it bluntly: he just didn't want to get his hands dirty.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    tiro triumphs

    The middle act in this fall of the roman republic is better than the first! A republic in it's death throes, how prescient. Very much looking forward to the finale! You can't go wrong with Robert Harris!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Interesting

    Not a page turner, but fun look at "history"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Rome Comes Alive

    Harris was wise to pick Cicero as his protagonist. The orator was probably the nearest in outlook to us of all the Romans. Even though any ancient history buff knows the outline of this story, seeing it through the eyes of Tiro, the slave who narrated the first novel of the trilogy is like being a fly on the wall. (He existed and actually wrote a now lost Life of Cicero.) Caesar, Pompey, Cato, Cataline, and Crassus all come alive as they jockey for power and the Republic totters. This book is as good as Robert Graves' Claudius novels. Harris may surpass that duo when he finishes this trilogy. For more background read Tom Holland's Rubicon and Adrian Goldsworthy's Caesar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awful book

    Not much I can say but I wished after reading 50 pages, that I could return it. Instead I put it down and will give it away with the next books I pass on to Vet's Hospitals and maybe someone, somwhere will like it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Politics Endures

    Not being a fortune teller, I cannot tell you how others will enjoy this book in the future, nor will I write a review until I have actually finished reading the novel- which is now. I liked it a great deal. It gives a look at old Roman politics, teaching us that some things never change.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I have been anxiouly awaiting to know the rest of the story...

    I pre-ordered this audiobook last fall. It has not dissapointed me. I have not finished listening to it yet but I know I will be hearing it again and again. Then I will give it to my husband, who will enjoy it just as much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lustrum (from UK)

    Read this a few months back, as Lustrum, from the UK. Harris is quite an adequate historian, and a capable writer and story-teller, which makes for an enjoyable read. One can feel history through fiction in ways that pure historical text could never convey.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Caveat Emptor

    This option requires you to download OpenOffice which is 15mb! T

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Asuperb complex Ancient Rome political thriller

    The stage is filled with competitors who know no ethics; the likes of Pompey and that upstart Caesar to name a few. However, as slick as his opponents are, in 63 B.C., Marcus Cicero is chosen as the Consul of Rome though not a good time to take over as ruler with all the unrest further enflamed by his opponents and even his allies.

    Two days before the oath of office, a young male slave is brutally murdered with his organs removed in what appears to have been a human sacrificial ritual. Fear spreads through the city and Cicero knows even before he takes over he has issues. As the Empire grows, Cicero concludes the biggest threat to the fall of the Roman Empire is from within by the avaricious seeking personal power. He proves to be right when he is fortunate to prevent an assassination that would turn the Republic into a dictatorship, but his strongest rival Caesar survives the defeated conspiracy proving to Cicero this is his biggest threat.

    As told once again by slave secretary Tiro (see Imperum), Conspirata is a superb complex Ancient Rome political thriller with ramifications to modern day America. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action that brings to life Ancient Rome in the first century BC, a place filled with riots, civil unrest, and corruption (could easily be DC). Fans will enjoy this strong saga especially Tiro's side commentary and observations as to why would anyone with a sane mind want this ruler job when you can read a book or in modern Twitter text watch Rangers' baseball or Bull's basketball.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3