Customer Reviews for

The Constantine Codex

Average Rating 3
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book, although not my favorite from Maier. I always lo

Excellent book, although not my favorite from Maier. I always love his writing, but I'd have to recommend More Than a Skeleton more highly.

posted by youthpastor247 on July 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

if you love Bible history then check this book out

When Jonathan and Shannon Weber archaeologist found a manuscript having no idea what they had found. But his find was something better that the "Dead Sea Scrolls" was this old manuscript the real thing or something someone had planted? I was found tucked into a book s...
When Jonathan and Shannon Weber archaeologist found a manuscript having no idea what they had found. But his find was something better that the "Dead Sea Scrolls" was this old manuscript the real thing or something someone had planted? I was found tucked into a book so how could it have been there.

The manuscript was stolen Jon is found to be in a deadly race to try and find it and to prove if it was read or not. He was so afraid that it may be lost now forever if he could not get his hands back on it. This could be end of his career, his reputation and maybe even his life. He is willing to risk all of these in his attempt to find out the truth about the manuscript.

This is an interesting book at little deep but plenty of suspense as Paul Maier tries to find out about the manuscript and the history behind it. I found that it was a little hard for me to get interested in it as I usually read a different type of fiction.

This book was sent to be my GLASS ROADS public relations free and for me to review as I see fit.

posted by mrsred49 on May 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    if you love Bible history then check this book out

    When Jonathan and Shannon Weber archaeologist found a manuscript having no idea what they had found. But his find was something better that the "Dead Sea Scrolls" was this old manuscript the real thing or something someone had planted? I was found tucked into a book so how could it have been there.

    The manuscript was stolen Jon is found to be in a deadly race to try and find it and to prove if it was read or not. He was so afraid that it may be lost now forever if he could not get his hands back on it. This could be end of his career, his reputation and maybe even his life. He is willing to risk all of these in his attempt to find out the truth about the manuscript.

    This is an interesting book at little deep but plenty of suspense as Paul Maier tries to find out about the manuscript and the history behind it. I found that it was a little hard for me to get interested in it as I usually read a different type of fiction.

    This book was sent to be my GLASS ROADS public relations free and for me to review as I see fit.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    You've Got to be Kidding. Really?

    How sad that a book with such incredible research and educational power can be hindered by some truly unrealistic and saccharine dialog. A quote from Chapter 13 in the book: "Dillingham lost all control of his tongue, blurting out, "Listen, Weber, whatever your ding-dong, dad-blasted reason may be, we're sick and tired of tryin' to keep you outta trouble when all you do is go out of your dag-blamed way to find trouble!" Really? Maier had a CIA agent, described by Maier as “not a religious man himself”, yelling these words, IN ANGER, at our hero. Choosing 'ding-dong, dad-blasted' and ‘dag-blamed’ over any other pejorative term is beyond ludicrous. This and the twenty occurrences of "darling" or "my darling" addressed to the ‘wife’ would have been better left on the editing floor. At another point in the story, Maier has Jon and Shannon sharing a "lingering, passionate kiss" and then immediately returning to their respective tasks. It's no wonder that these characters don't have children. Again, better left unsaid.

    When dialog makes the reader stop reading and think or say ‘huh?’ or laugh AT the writing, it’s a death knell to the story.

    Without the absurd aforementioned dialog, I would have rated the book as a 4 or maybe a 5 - extremely educational in the various aspects of Christianity and Islam. But, BECAUSE of the dialog as noted above, I had a very difficult time finishing the book. As another reviewer noted, perhaps Mr. Maier should leave passionate dialog to others and stick to what he does so well - explaining his research.

    As someone who is not Christian, Mr. Maier’s defense of Christianity did nothing to persuade me to change my beliefs. There seemed to be something missing in Maier’s testimony that could convert the unbeliever and I have yet to put my finger on what that ‘something’ is. Maybe it’s just faith, which in and of itself is unprovable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Excellent book, although not my favorite from Maier. I always lo

    Excellent book, although not my favorite from Maier. I always love his writing, but I'd have to recommend More Than a Skeleton more highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Not what I expected.

    Was not to happy with this book. I expected more an Indiana Jones type adventure. There is really no adventure in this book. This book went into way too much detail for me on the religion aspect. I do not mind reading books with religion in them, but that was pretty much this whole book. I would not say it was a bad book and probably intersting for those who really like reading about religion, but it was certainly not what I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    As others have noted the dialog can be a bit corny, however, the

    As others have noted the dialog can be a bit corny, however, the premise is extremely interesting. I appreciate how the author explained Christian and Muslim history. A great read and I definitely look forward to reading other books by the author.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Love it

    KkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjkjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjJjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjkjjjjj1*&%$#@!@#$%&!

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    It surprises me how much I learned, and how much it made me thin

    It surprises me how much I learned, and how much it made me think. I love Biblical History, and this was a very entertaining and informational read. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Not as good as expected

    Years ago I read "Pontius Pilate" by Paul L. Maier and found it fascinating and enjoyable; to this day, it is still one of my favorite books. So when I saw this one as a free Nook book, I was thrilled and expectant. Unfortunately, this book was not very interesting and seems more of a position paper strung together by a weak plot and flat characters. There were numerous times where I rolled my eyes at some of the corny dialogue. I respect Dr. Maier highly for his scholarship, but frankly don't think fiction is his strength. "Pontius Pilate," however, was historical fiction and it is better reading than "Constantine Codex."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    disappointing

    kept reading, waiting for more plot to kick in. large part of book read like it was merely the author's forum for academic arguments with himself over differences between Islam and Christianity. disappointing. glad i didn't have to pay for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Good fiction for a smart Christian reader

    I had fun reading this book and would liken it to a Christian Da Vinci Code genre thriller.

    However, there are certain items of background knowledge required for a reader to be able to really GET the plot and the impact points. (For example, a reader should be familiar with the idea that the printed ending of Mark is a disputed text.) Though the author does give the reader an explanation of the background material, its akin to having to explain a joke: if it has to be spelled out its not funny anymore.

    That all being said, this is a good read for you if you fall into his target audience and are looking for a diversion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Let me add

    My previous review, "disappointing", should have included that i applaud the author's effort to bring eastern, western, and Protestant Christianity together, as well as Islamic and Jewish leaders worldwide. He quotes from the Quran, prohibitions against suicide and killing of the innocent. I was impressed with the author's use of religious scholarship to promote religious tolerance and understanding. But i don't usually buy either religious or political books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    good Good Read Good Read

    This was an interesting book that had me going to Wikipedia to find out more about some of the historical references

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Maier always writes with a great base of history, and this is no

    Maier always writes with a great base of history, and this is no exception. Great storyline.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2