Customer Reviews for

Constitutional Chaos: What Happens When the Government Breaks Its Own Laws

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    Why the powers behind the scenes protect constitutional abuse

    Since I went to school many years ago honest patriotic americans have revealed the courts abuse of powers. Why does it continue to get worse. Why do the economic, policital and sundry other powers that essentially influence our government allow it to destroy the Constitution? Because they chase immediate gratification of a desire rather than the perpetual protection of their rights. A supposed principle of law is that 'those who can and should prevent a crime, and do not, are a partner to it.' If you want your government back participate in it beyond paying taxes. Stop supporting the abusers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Educational, Informative, slightly disappointing

    Judge Napolitano is clearly a brilliant, colorful jurist. He has developed a well-thought out criticism of the executive powers of the U.S. Government. He has littered his argument with numerous examples of how the Feds (and other governmental officials)abuse their powers. These examples run from the personal (where he was accosted in New York City) to the famous (yes, Martha Stewart rears her head). In short, the good judge has an ax to grind. In truth, his argument might have been a bit more effective if he had balanced it with some counterpoints. There is little doubt that the government abuses its power when arresting people (just ask, as Mr. Napolitano points out, some of the poor folk down at Guatanamo Bay), but the argument could have been a bit more subtle -and therefore convincing - if a more intelligent discussion had been conducted on the 'positive' aspects of aggressive police-work. In this post-9/11 world one can't totally dismiss the dangers of proper 'due process.' Unlike the American environment when our Constitution was written - when, for instance, a pony or a sloop was the fastest form of sending a message - people today have instant access with the entire globe. If someone in the apartment up the street is plotting to dispense nuclear arms on our beloved shores, this person should be stopped as soon as possible. No? The law has always been a slippier slope. And, recently, it has become even slippier.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    Government out of control

    Finally, a former judge writes what many Americans are already learning: that the United States government is out of control, no longer tethered to the Constitution. The Department of Justice and other law enforcement agencies routinely break federal law and the judiciary turns its back on citizens whose rights are violated.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    'WE THE PEOPLE'

    Need I say more? The most disturbing part of all the government injustice, Is that 'WE THE PEOPLE' have the real power to stop all the un-AMERICAN act's being committed against US! My only question to the judge. 'How do WE correct the problem?'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Amazing

    My mind exploded with new anti current administration ammo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Excellent teacher

    For anyone interested in the rule of law, this book is an excellent teacher. The Judge knows our Constitution and explains it well.
    Should be required reading for all graduating high school seniors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Another excellent book by Judge Napolitano.  He spares no critic

    Another excellent book by Judge Napolitano.  He spares no criticism of those who, clothed with the power of government, don't think twice about abusing our freedoms and liberties in the name of national security or keeping us safe.  In light of the recent revelations from Edward Snowden, it  is interesting--and revealing--how quickly our elected and appointed officials labeled him an "enemy combatant" and traitor, even though all he revealed is what most of us suspected all along.  The old adage is quite true: if government is given power, it will stretch its limit to the point of abuse simply because it can do so.  The judge makes a compelling case that it is the people who are ultimately in charge, not the government that is bent on telling us it knows best.    If we are willing to sacrifice our liberties and freedoms in the name of national security, we won't have the former and the latter won't matter.  This is the premise of  Judge Napolitano's treatise.  A must read for those who truly believe in the words of the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and Bill of Rights. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Interesting read

    Gives you a lot to think about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Shall I tell you what Judge (?) Napolitano did?

    That Mr. Napolitano has written a critique of government breaking its own laws and has had it published disgusted me. He is the pot calling the kettle black. My son and I are victims of money promoted bias he called justice.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2004

    A must-read explanation of your rights before the government runs over them all

    I can hardly believe that a former judge who was once part of the government establishment is saying these things that I and so many other people I know think about our government. Judge Napolitano exposes the gross abuses of power that our government perpetrates every day. If you believe in freedom of speech, freedom from searches and seizures, freedom to keep and bear arms, freedom from relentless government surveillance -- you will want to read this book. This book is not about left or right, red-state or blue-state politics. It is about our rights - the rights that we have from birth because of our humanity and only a small portion of which we loan to our government so that it may work on our behalf. Some people think the government gives rights to us, but the opposite is true. We give the government only so much power and they always abuse it. This book is a must-read for anyone who believes in limited and responsible government.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    The Government is not your friend!!

    This book is a must-read for anyone who cares about liberty and civil rights in America, and for anyone who truly believes that a smaller, limited government is the best kind of government. Judge Napolitano from Fox News exposes gross government abuses of power that trample the rights of people every day He reveals how the government breaks the law every day and gets away with it. And you don't have to be a lawyer to follow his clearly stated explanations of our constitutional rights and the government's abuses of people and their rights. The stories told in this book are compelling and shocking, and will make you realize that, as they Judge says, 'The government is not your friend!' All Americans should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1