Customer Reviews for

Contact

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    Touching the soul and mind

    I was astounded when I first watched 'Contact' the movie starring Jodi Foster. I then decided to read the novel by Carl Sagan. I was hooked...this was something I couldn't put down for quite some time. I absolutely was enthralled by Sagan's balance of love, astronomy, religion, and everything else imaginable. I was fascinated by Ellie Arroway, the main character and heroine. She was absolutely brilliant, courageous, and everything else an admirable astronomer should be. She held her head high in the face of opposition and broke through all obstacles facing her way. I cried, laughed, applauded, screamed, thought long and hard about universal possibilities, religous questions, and wanted more and more with the turn of each page. I appreciate this book almost more than any other I've read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2000

    Wonderful Read with Genuine Message

    If there is one book that I had to pick as my favorite, this would be it. While it may give a lot of scientific detail, Sagan portays the work with great style and tact. His story centers around a scientificly spun story with true moral and intellectual implications that delve into the heart of the human soul. In the book issues such as the roles of politics in science, religion, love, humanity, etc. are discussed and opened up to the reader. If you have to read a book for the summer, or a break, this should be it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was quite disappointed in this book, started out amazing, then

    I was quite disappointed in this book, started out amazing, then it just bogged down with a lot of techie, sciency stuff. The characters got lost in the very technical story, there was really no build up as to the excitement of the Message, and the Machine...well, it was almost a side story getting lost in all the droning on and on and on. A great disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    Great Story

    As is often the case, the book is much better than the movie. There were enough differences, some significant, between the two to keep the story fresh. Sagan did a beautiful job overall but I felt the science vs. religion debate was just beat to death. I know it played a significant part in the main character's development but come on, we get it already. The story itself definitley gives you the sense that there is so much more to the universe than the small rock we're standing on. I felt humbled by the thought. We (humans) were almost childlike in "their" eyes. It was like they were teaching us to walk. At some point they may teach us how to run. Great book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Full of humanity as well as science

    I was very surprised to find the science spokesperson wrote a piece of fiction with such human tenderness and sense of wonder, as well as being very interesting for the science and philosophy explored. I really identified with the numinous wonder of a child growing up and exploring the unknown. The book was better than the movie, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    One of the few times the movie was better...

    i Contact /i is a really great story with some very interesting characters. But Carl Sagan was a scientist, not a fiction writer. While the book featured some interesting and even beautiful passages, it is generally overwhelmed with too much science and too much technical writing. This makes for a frequently boring read. The other problem I had was with the glaring contradictions. Ellie Arroway is a woman who has had a tough time being taken seriously in her field because of her gender, while the US has a highly-respected and twice elected female President. This is one of those few stories where the movie version was actually better than the book. There were too many characters, but not enough character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    An Excellent First Contact Book

    Sagan's vision of humanity's first contact with an alien species is thought provoking and realistic, right down to the nuts and bolts. Almost all possible consequences of the discovery is relayed, some positive, some negative, but all very believable. If you're interested in the movie, which was good, I would definately recommend the book, which is a more intensive (and yes, satisfying) depiction of the whole first contact scenario. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Among the best books I've ever read!

    With the touching insight of Carl Sagan, Contact is the powerful tale tackling the hard subjects--everything from nationalism, religion, atheism, science, and overall, man's place in the universe. A MUST READ FOR SCI-FI FANS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    The depths of humanity and science

    Contact is truly an amazing masterpiece of literary work. It's not just another story, one that you read and then put away on a shelf to gather dust; it's an exploration into the very heart of human nature and back again. On the surface, there may seem to be too many characters for your average science fiction book, but this book was not intended to simply tell a good tale of fiction. Each character has a purpose in painting the view of humanity that is written in this book. And while some passages may seem slow, political, and generally irrelevant, they give you a deeper look into the structure of society and man's conception of this structure. Yet, while this book delves into the deeper meanings of life, it also is a good read for those simply looking for a science fiction story because, though I shudder to think of anyone doing this, the 'slow segments' of the book can be skipped with no loss of understanding of the plot. Contact is a work of genius, and it shows the true nature of people, the many questions starting with 'what if', and it brings together a captivating blend of pure science with a cleverly constructed fiction. For those who are seeking a wider view and a story with some real scientific plausibility, I strongly recommend this book. I know that it changed the way I think about some things in society, and made me begin to wonder about certain scientific concepts. This book will stay in my collection of favorites for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    The best book I have read.

    Carl Sagan has to be the best scientist writer I have seen. This book was full of detail, and it also gives a lot of information that the movie left out. Everyone who likes science fiction, this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    Out of This World!

    This is just the book I needed!! I enjoyed it from beginning to end. It was a good contrast of beliefs for me. Carl Sagan deserves comments like "well written" or "good read". I reccomend it to anyone who's looking for a challenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    VERY THOUGHT-PROVOKING

    It's important to not draw any conclusions about this book till you've finished it. So many questions are addressed, and so many different philosophical points of view presented, it's tempting to try to second-guess the author's own perspective on the question of extraterrestrial intelligence. Specifically, did Carl Sagan believe in God, or not? But he doesn't truly reveal himself till the last few pages. And it's worth the wait; the story's closing is very satisfying. One caveat: The book can get pretty bogged down in the development of too many characters. I myself only really cared about Ellie Arroway and Palmer Joss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2001

    This book is amazing!

    I loved this book! I was delighted with the blend of pure science and science fiction. The combination of the two made the story believeable, not just another sci-fi novel. Sagan's exploration of the human condition and the consequences and joys that it brings make for a book that I will remember for a long time, as a possible future and present for mankind and the universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2001

    A must-read!

    This is a book of ideas, questions, and observations that happens to involve a science fiction story. The plot is good, but the real import of this work lies beyond that. Sagan deals with the nature of faith, how faith relates to science, modern gender issues, as well as religious discrimination and discrimination against the non-religious. Economic hedgemony, abuse of natural resources and the blind pursuit of 'isms' are also important themes. The author was an excellent scientist so this book has a ring of truth to it and is entertaining. It is also interesting that he seems to have had fun detailing the inticracies of the characters' relationships (especially that of Ellie and Palmer). Read Contact for the philosophical issues that are often mentioned yet seldom fleshed-out in Western culture.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    Sagan is a genius

    I love Contact by Carl Sagan. I have the video, the book, and the compact disc which is truly excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2000

    First Contact Suffers Here

    Dr. Sagan's first and only venture into the Science Fiction genre is somewhat disappointing. The long ramblings on religion and sociology, nuclear weapons reductions and the President of the United States being a woman are all prejudices that Carl Sagan had for most of his professional career. These only slowed the novel and weakened it where it needed to be strengthened rather than turned into moralistic propaganda. The movie was a step up, but having Ellie Arroway go on that Ride alone was more like reduction to a daredevil stunt than a scientific exploration mission. Also, religion was protrayed as a blackmail weapon due to the inability of most cultures and governments to separate religion, politics and science and attempt to reasonably cooperate with other Nations. I was somewhat disappointed, but I still wonder if First Contact will ever be made and will We be ready for it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2000

    CONTACT A BOOK REVIEW

    This book by Carl Sagan is good reading, but there are many parts which the main character (Ellie) rambles on and on about some points. I found it annoying that she stayed on one subject for a long period of time even though she already had made her point. So I wouldn¿t recommend this book to any one with out patience. Even though the book has some boring parts it is not a bad book. It has a few interesting parts, but they are far and few between. Summing things up, the book Contact is basically about a girl Ellie who was very inquisitive. She was always taking things apart, like her father¿s old broken radio and fixing it. She was always contemplating things like Pi and how many decimals points follow it. Later, she receives a degree from a technical institute and begins working for SETI(Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence). She receives and interprets a Radio transmission from Vega, a star in deep space. The rest you¿ll have to find out by reading the book yourself..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2