BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Contagion (Jack Stapleton Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An interesting combination of plague and the swine flu epidemic

Robin Cook has yet produces another griping medical mystery telling the story of some plague. He has added his own special tough of magic as he always does. Jack Stapleton, a medical examiner autopsies some very suscpicios cases with Plague, Flu, Rocky Mountain Spot...
Robin Cook has yet produces another griping medical mystery telling the story of some plague. He has added his own special tough of magic as he always does. Jack Stapleton, a medical examiner autopsies some very suscpicios cases with Plague, Flu, Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever and maybe even Ebola. A must read for Robin Cook fans!!!!

posted by Anonymous on November 26, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

pretty good

try it

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 14, 2014

    Have you read any of Robin Cook¿s books yet? No? NO??!! Dude!! Y

    Have you read any of Robin Cook’s books yet? No? NO??!! Dude!! You have no idea what you’re missing out on! We’re talking epidemic, deadly viruses, panic, conspiracies, drama, confusion, medical negligence, and gangsters! And of course, as with any good medical drama worth its salt, at the center of it all are two competing corporate healthcare giants out to make a quick profit AND an ad company with a near-impossible deadline. If this sounds to you like a heady mix of suspense, intrigue, and holy-crap-hope-this-never-happens-to-us chills, then right you are. Seriously, you have to read this. Contagion is also my first Robin Cook experience, so I won’t judge you for not having read any of his novels yet. 

    Right, so I mentioned the panic and conspiracy theories, a plague, and other killer diseases. But there are a ton more elements that made this both an exciting and disturbing read. The scariest thing for me was that this could really happen. It might seem unlikely that a break-out with such devastating consequences as described in this story could occur in a real-life large, bustling, modern hospital, but I personally believe it’s possible. Even if you don’t believe such a likelihood exists, Contagion will definitely convince you otherwise.  

    Here we have a spectacular cast of characters to keep track of. Most characters have minor roles, and some more important, but each character is crucial in moving the plot along. It is clear that a good amount of time was spent on developing every character no matter how big or small their part in this story. From start to end, there is absolutely no indication of who the guilty party might be. Yet, when the big reveal is done, you’ll probably ask yourself why you hadn’t suspected that person(s) from the start. I love when an author is detail-oriented, but doesn’t weigh the reader down with too much unnecessary information about the setting and characters’ histories. Robin Cook balances all this perfectly and sticks to the storyline without too much explanation (though a lot of the medical- and biological terminology went right over my head). 

    You know what I liked most about Jack’s character? His go-getter attitude. He asks questions, gather as much information as he can, and then immediately goes out looking for the answers. He doesn’t even care how many toes he steps on along the way. Plus, he does all this while adding his own patented brand of tongue-in-cheek humor, intentionally provoking the tempers of his superiors, the staff at Manhattan General Hospital where the first plague outbreak occurred, and the corporate heads at healthcare giant, AmeriCare. Jack is fearless, yet vulnerable, and I soon realized I’m rapidly developing a soft spot for this character.

    One of Jack’s best lines in my opinion (with which I share the same sentiment): 

    “The problem is that I’ve developed an aversion to mediocrity.”

    The only issues I had was that the ending felt a little blunt, and the motivation behind the spread of the deadly diseases wasn’t as impressive as the continued build-up throughout the story led me to believe it would be. Although, I did like how it ended for the antagonist(s), so I’m giving Contagion an easy five stars. I can’t think of anyone who wouldn’t enjoy this book. Want to know what lengths some people will go to to get what they want? Yes? Then this book was written for you. If not, read it anyway because it’s kick-ass!   

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I found this book quite by accident. It had no cover and is several years old. I could not put it down. I is amoung one of the best books I have read this year. Please check it out you will not be disapointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    Non-stop action

    Absolutely loved it. Cook is masterful at taking several opposite subjects and tying them all together for a fantastic page turning mystery

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    Great Read

    My First Robin Cook Novel and I'm ready to buy more! Contagion is well written with an exciting plot, making it hard to put down once you get going. First Class!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    My first Robin Cook novel

    And I loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    After loosing his ophthalmology career to AmeriCare, a for-profit insurance company, Dr. Jack Stapleton discovers life as a forensic pathologist. After not only loosing her job in the mid-west, he looses his wife and kids in a plane crash. At this point, jack is extremely depressed, and is so depressed that he rarely even speaks to women. One day at work, he discovers that a body that had died of a strange disease. After examining the body, he guesses that the person died of the plague. Soon enough, jack discovers that his hypothesis was correct. He then goes to warn the hospital where the body came from to warn them. Coincidentally, the hospital is owned by AmeriCare. Eventually, after many diagnoses and a few threats on his life, Jack decides to find out how the plague was started, which brings him into a situation that he had never expected to be in. Robin cook, the author of Contagion, writes with room for the reader to think. For instance, he writes so that he hints at a few people the reader would suspect to be the one(s) spreading the disease. He writes so that the reader could think, ¿How did he/she spread the plague like that?¿ or, ¿Wow! I never really expected that to happen!¿ I think Robin Cook¿s writing fits perfectly with the genre that he chose to write with, a medical thriller. Some themes that are found in this book are, moving along after loved ones have died, that bad things happen to good people, and that you need to take opportunities as they come to you. Personally, I thought that Contagion is one of the best books that I have ever read so far. It¿s one of those books that you can never put down. I certainly agree with the Denver Post that this book truly is ¿spine tingling.¿ The New York Times says that Robin Cook is ¿a master of medical thriller.¿ I have read many great books in my fourteen years of life, and I must put Contagion in my top five favorite books of all time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2001

    WoW ***

    One of Cook's best I've read so far. Very mysterious and exciting at the same time. The book's got a surprising ending.. something you never expected to happen happened. Really enjoyed it.. Although the book is kinda long, but it was worth reading every single page !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2000

    AMAZING

    I dont read many of Robin's book but I found this one totaly amazing. The choice of style in her writing is just incredable and I know that anyone who reads it will feal the same.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1