Customer Reviews for

Contender

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

very Inspiring! Worth every page!

The Contender is an excellent novel to read with a touching storyline to go along with it. The contender is mainly about the protagonist, Alfred Brooks, wanting to succeed in life. While adding to that subject comes into the play of the art of boxing. After Alfred is ju...
The Contender is an excellent novel to read with a touching storyline to go along with it. The contender is mainly about the protagonist, Alfred Brooks, wanting to succeed in life. While adding to that subject comes into the play of the art of boxing. After Alfred is jumped he finds a boxing gym where he talks to the coach; Mr. Donatelli, to tell him that he wants to be a champion which leads to the wise words of Mr. Donatelli that outlines the whole story. Mr. Donatelli’s response: “You have to start by wanting to be a contender, the man coming up, the man who knows there's a good chance he'll never get to the top, the man who's willing to sweat and bleed to get up as high as his legs and his brain and his heart will take him.” is very important involving various themes of the story. One of the significant parts to this theme of not giving up is that’s what Alfred has been doing before signing up at the gym which emphasizes Mr. Donatelli’s powerful words that if he wants to be a champion most importantly a contender he has to not give up and have determination to achieve his goals in life, not just in boxing. In the way I saw the novel going the author; Robert Lipsyte, likes to put obstacles into the protagonists life that gave him the option of falling into peer pressure, another ongoing theme, which leads to him going back to his regular life as a grocery boy going nowhere or to refuse the bad temptations and obtain the dream of being a contender. The level of suspense was just a little more than average with the constant choices and problems Alfred had to go through with, but it would still be more than enough to keep me highly interested and wanting to finish another chapter after another. Another aspect to the novel would be the fact that Alfred was just a regular guy that you could relate to, a guy trying to fit in the world, trying to chase his dreams. The fact that everything was so realistic and visual kept me going page after page. There have also been moments in the novel where I felt like Alfred was a role model in a way with that determination to stay above and not quit on what he enjoys and believes in. To add to that Alfred was at his lowest point having his best friend, James, leave him more and more often for his addiction of drugs, having no immediate family, living in the ghetto part of Harlem with his Aunt Pearl, depression, and being a dropout; so you got to give some sort of recognition to Alfred wanting to come up on top. Overall the plot is very simple to follow having an exposition, rising and falling action, a climax, several complications, and a resolution. The Contender is a book that has impacted my life in such a positive way.

posted by ChristianRobles on January 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

!p

!hfk

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Pretty good

    Alfred is a great character. He shows to never stop because it hurts. He found what he loved and that was boxing. His friend Jamal is a drug addict and Jamal tries to help him. In his boxing career he should have went further. He should have went to a diffrent manager.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    It's Enter esting

    It's about a Boy (Alfred Brooks)who has lost his mother and his father left him at a young age now he lives with his Aunt Pearl. His friend gets into trouble when he gets caught breaking into the store Alfred works at. He gets probation. Alfred starts to go to a local gym which has produced Contenders. So he has to get in shape so he wakes up early to run. He then realizes that his friend is addicted to drugs. He gets so consided because he won his first two fights when Mr. Donatelli(trainer) tells him not to fight the third and final fight he says no that he wanted to fight. So when he fights he gets banged up so bad but his opponent says he fought good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    A Good Story

    This book is very good. I think teens would enjoy ot more than elders because it is short, and it is the kind of book a student is assigned to read, but all in all , it is a book you can sit down and read on a saturday afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    Good Book

    Good Book with action and drama. Even though it was good the ending was ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    This book was jolly!

    The Contender By: Robert Lipsyte Robert Lipsyte, a well known author, wrote this book to show how hard it is to get all the way to the top of a boxing career. This story takes place in 1967. This book has tons of different moods including drama, sadness, and anger. The Contender is a fictional story, but I still really enjoyed it. The Contender is about a high school dropout named Alfred Brooks who is trying to become a boxer. His drug taking best friend, James, is in jail mainly because of Alfred. Now two bullies named Major and Hollis are after Alfred. Now he has to live with his Aunt Pearl. He finds an old gym called ¿ Donatelli¿s.¿ Alfred tells Mr. Donatelli his story and Mr. Donatelli introduces him to a man named Dr. Corey. Dr. Corey teaches Alfred where to punch when boxing someone. Soon Alfred decides to try to become a professional boxer. Alfred soon finds out that it will not be easy to become a professional boxer. First, he will have to become a contender. This is a great story! If you like stories with drama, action, and many other different moods, you will really enjoy this book! I recommend this book to everyone who likes a good story. My favorite parts of this book were the boxing matches! They were very detailed! One of the things I didn¿t like was that there was not that much action besides for the boxing matches. I think you should all read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2003

    Recommended

    Alfred and his friends were going to rob a store, but the thing that alfred forgot to tell his friends is that the store had a silent alarm on it. So while they were robbing the store alfred they didn't know that the cops knew that they were robbing the store so alfred and his friends were in alot of trouble. When they had saw that the cops were outside of the store they ran most, of Alfreds friends weren't caught except for his friend james.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2003

    action packed book

    This book is a great begining to the books the brave and the cheif. It explains how Alfred Brooks became a Contender. With all of the problems in life. It is a great book to fans of boxing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    Simply Marvelous

    I felt this book showed how a kid who is not given much can make something out of his life and not succome to the life of an underprivelaged kid in a bad area. Alfred went against the odds and made something of himself and that showed me a lot about him. I thought this book was well written and is something every kid should read because it shows them to set goals for yourself and don't stop until you reach them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2002

    The best..

    Author: Robert Lipstyle Title: The Contender Genre: Young adult fiction Alfred lives on the streets of a bad neighborhood, gets into many fights and always gets hurt, so he decides to become a boxer. He becomes very good and wants to go pro. The book is very good and is written for young adults. Lipstyle explains the characters very well and he lets you know about what it¿s like to live as a boy who grows up on the street. For example, Alfred gets beaten up a lot. The book says that he was once walking down the street and a boy named Major who had gotten in a verbal confrontation with him the day before walked by him and punched him to the floor. He then jumped on him and knocks him out cold. This makes Alfred decide to become a boxer so he could protect himself. He starts going to practices and when he becomes very good and he starts to get into matches. While reading the book I made connections to the world and myself. When the author talked about Alfred being held upside down so the people could get his money, it reminded me about this show I saw about people in New York when they were doing the same thing. When he became a boxer I thought about the reasons why some of the boxers today got into the sport. Although I liked the book from the time I read the back cover, I also had times that I needed a strategy to get what I was reading. When I was reading I had to ask myself questions about the text so I would stay focused. Since the setting was like some places in the New York, New Jersey area, I was able to visualize what I was reading so it made it more fun and it kept me going until the end of the book. This was the first time I read a book like this, so it made it easier when I asked myself questions and made pictures in my mind to help me through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    A great book especially if you are training in the gym, etc.

    I liked this book as it teaches one, that being on top may just mean trying your hardest. If one is trying hard to overcome something or be the strongest weight lifter, lose weight, be a boxer, or athlete of any sort then try this book. It is easy to read and follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2001

    'The Contender' is a very very good book!!!!

    This book is very educational for children to learn about friend ship and learning about the racisismin the 1960's and how African americans have to work hard and strive to get what the want.Chapter 19 really brings out the theme in the book. My oppion is that that chapter is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    If you like sports......This is your book!

    It is a great book for people who are thinking of taking their sports to the next level. This book shows how much work it takes to become a great athlete. I really liked this book. ---Justin Behm a.k.a. JB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2000

    This was outstanding

    The Contender was a great book about a boy named a Alfred Brooks that was a street thug and a gang member. In this story Alfred Brook¿s friends rob the grocery store where Alfred works. His friends get caught after a couple of days. They thought that Alfred told the grocery store owner that they robbed the place but they didn¿t realize that they had silent alarms in the store. So then Alfred heard that his friends are looking for him to beat him up. In order to protect himself he went to Mr. Donatelli¿s gym. You will have to read the book to find out what will happen next. I liked this book because it was about a drop out street thug who went back to school and made it big. This book was easy to read. The wording was clear and in good spoken english.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    Alright book

    The book was exquisite and the boxing in the story made the book flow but the ending wasn't that spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2000

    A great favorite of many youth.

    I've read this book a few times and it is never boaring to me. It's one of those books you pick it up and you can't ever pit it down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    READ THIS BOOK!

    This book is a good example of the will power and self-diciplin it takes to become good at something, i think boxing fans will enjoy this book, or even if you dont like boxing but love a good story, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3