Customer Reviews for

The Contest (Everest Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Gordon Korman's #1 Fan

    You have to read ALL 3 books of Everest! Once I pick one of them up i cant put them down. They are definitly my favorite books ever. It makes me feel like i want to climb Everest myself!!! Gordon Korman ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Great book

    I love the book and series, though it looks like a cheesy book, it is a read that will keep you hanging until the end of the series to see who the youngest person to climb everest is; and to see who is e-mailing the National Daily day by day events to put in the paper and put the expedition leader's career in jeopardy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    The Contes Review

    When I first got The Contest I thought oh boy a stupid book, but when I read the first couple of chapters I got hooked. The end is so cool but I cant give it away so Read the Book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Love will deal with it: a novel by jessie jewls

    Book1 part 1: the nieghbor * * *
    It was a hot summer day in brooklyne for 17 year old angie, the 'cutie bop' at her school, because, well...she was a cutie. With her perfect doll face, blonde curly hair, blue eyes, light skin, and naturely pink lips, she was the barbie of westmount highschool. She looked out her 2nd story bedroom window that faced the window of the empty house next door. Creepy. She felt the suns rays and thought, 'perfect tanning day.' She slipped on her smallest bikini, so most of her breast and under thigh would get tanned. She slathered on SPF15 and went downstairs. Her mom was watching JEPORDY and barley noticed her, like always. Angie sighed and said, ''hey mom, i'm gonna jump into a snake pit, so, bye.'' Her mom snorrted and said, ''okay honey. Have a nice time.'' Angie stompped out of the house, angry with her mom.she quickly unfolded a chair in the front yard, layed down, looked over the fence, and gasped. There was a family moving into the house nextdoor, wich she thought was weird since it was old and creepy, but what really caught her attention was the teenage boy liftting a box. The HOT teenage boy liftting a box. Chapter 2 coming soon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Your butt

    I love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    My new favorite book!

    i love this book so much that it became my new favorite! this is my first time reading one of his books and i loved it! it made me feel like i was there with the characters the whole time!!! now i really want to climb everest myself! i cant wait to read another trilogy of his!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    Now I want to go climb Mount Everest

    Have you ever had that feeling after finishing a book in a trilogy and you want to got straight to the next one? That's the exact feeling I got after reading the first book in the Everest Series. I opened the first page and couldn't put it down. I'm not that avid a reader in the first place so when i got a hold of this, it was amazing. At a 60ph clip, I finished it in a day, but I felt like I had run the 90 miles that they had to in the book and climbed the rock walls they tried to conquer. I had never felt an experience with such great characters and conflicts. So, if you want some excitement and well rounded characters, pick up the introduction to the Everest Trilogy and if you're in the mood, pick up the other two. You could finish three masterpieces in one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS IS THE MOST AWESOME BOOK EVER! if u havent read it yet what ru waiting 4?!

    this book is awesome i first heard it in 5th grade my teacher read it 2 the class n i jus had 2 buy it 2 finish it n once i did i was captivated! ive read all 3 books at least 5 times n ill STILL keep reading them! there the type of books that u can read over n over again cause there jus so good! the way dominic conquers everything despite his size the way ... wait i better not tell u nemore cause then u wont have 2 buy the book ull jus read this n know wat happens! well if ur reading this know that everything i said is true n i really hope u buy this book its awesome n ull love it (n if ur a teacher ur class will like it 2! =D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    this book is awesome it had me asking for it for chritmas

    These books were so good I coudn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    The Most Intense!

    The book was so intense,my favorite part was when Bryn slept walked off the mountain and Dominic Alexis saved her! That book I DEFINITLY recommend this book to action cravers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Mountain Everest New Race To The Top

    It¿s about a boy who gets in a contest to see who can reach the top of the mountain Everest fist. People do get hurt in the story and of course they have training to do before climbing the mountain. People do get eliminated! If you love the show called Survivor you will love this book. It¿s almost like it. But not the very beginning, you read on you will see the compares to the show Survivor and this book. What I did like about the book was that you don¿t want to put it down on the last few chapters. What I don¿t like is that the begging had no action in it You have to reads the book in order so you know what¿s going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2007

    Very very interesting

    Okay, I'll admit I haven't actually finished this yet, but so far it's great! I should've ordered these books from the book list at school but I didn't. If you are obbsessed with Everest you must read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2004

    Awsome

    This is the most wonderful book and also its seques. Korman has outdone himself in this book. Stay away from the computer and read it! You won't be dissapointed. Believe me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    Greatest book ever, #1 fan

    This was a really great book. When I checked it out, I did it b/c it was there and there was nothing else for me to read, I wasn't a big fan of mt. everest, I just thought it was neat. But then I read this book and it really made me want to read more of his books, this is really great and I totally recomend it. E me with good books like the ons I reccomended, I like medival books, and stuff like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2004

    GREAT BOOK

    I first bought this book Everest Book 1: the contest when i realy got into climbing. So noticing this was about climbing i read it. i was so intrested in Dominics' part of this adventure because he's about my age, i wanted to find out what happens to his adventure through out the story. I read abut him being the smallest person in his group, his brother Christian being one of the best kid climbers in the world. I also enjoyed this book a lot because it was based in the outdoors. Which I love!!!!!!!!!! P.S. if any one nows where i can get one of these books TO OWN for only a few dollars pleas tell me thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    gr8

    i thought it was a extreme. i can't wait to read the second because the first was so...ultimate!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    read it now do not even read this just read the book

    This book is the best I have skipped school to read this book I have balied out on freinds to read this book I have read all three just kiding I never skipped out on freinds but school these books rock I went 5 solid hours without tv so read the.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    This book is SO awesome

    This book is great. Usualy I don't read anything that has to do with mountains or nature but I picked this up because I read the Island Series and I noticed that it was the same author. As soon as I picked it up I could not put it down. My mother took me to the store and I was reading it there. Please read this book it is totaly awesome and worth your time!! You will almost feel like you are climbing Mount Everest!! This book is so awesome and I would recomend this book to anyone who can read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    Put on your oxygen mask and crampoons and your ready to go!!

    Excelent book!! I love the way Gordon Korman writes. He puts you in Dominic's eyes and mind. You feel like you are realy climbing Everest. Read the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    I love this book!!

    I loved this book so much!!!!I would recommend it to anybody.Once you pick it up you can't put it down! I recommend you read the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2