Customer Reviews for

The Contortionist's Handbook

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Jiqwesha lanay morant

    I love contortion im the biggest fan ever!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic if you're a fan of Chuck Palahniuk

    I really liked the tempo of this book. It went back and forth between flash backs and a psych evaluation after a drug overdose. I really liked the off beat descriptions and the realness of the feelings he tries to get across. I read this because Chuck had good things to say about it, and I wasn't disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    wow.

    I was turned on to this book by one of my favorite authors->Chuck Palahniuk

    "I swear to God this is the best book I have read in easily five years. Easily. Maybe ten years." - Chuck Palahniuk, author of Fight Club.

    The characters are really well developed and the plot is original. Clevenger really pulls you into the story with his writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting book...

    I was surprised by how much I actually enjoyed this book. Clevenger uses a very interesting and refreshing premise for this book. John Vincent (main character) is someone who makes the reader thankful that they are not in his position, but still makes the reader sympathetic for what Vincent has gone through in his life. Craig Clevenger shows serious talent for writing and I am looking forward to reading other novels of his. Overall, 'A' grade for this selection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    A Great Fiction Novel

    That is just how I would categorize this book. The character elements are astonishing. Clevenger can really get inside your brain and make you think that he is writing about you personally. No I am not a contortionist. But we all are in a way just looking for happiness and trying to squeeze into our niche. No I am not a practicing forger. I don't even have good handwriting. What I enjoy most about this book is that even though I am nothing like the main character and I do not agree with what the character does, I can't help but empathize and feel close to the character, like he is a brother or a best-friend. That is good writing, and that is what I look for when I read a book. The whole book is just wonderfully thought-out. I recommend this to anybody that is looking for a great fiction novel that has a great deal of whit and humor. I have purchased this book 3 times; my own hard cover, my brother-in-law's Christmas gift, and a soft cover so that I can loan it to friends without the risk of losing my copy. I am waiting anxiously for Craig's second book. Kabol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Tremendous effort for a first novel

    Mr. Clevenger's well paced novel draws you in from the first page. The meticulous details regarding the forging of official documents, left me amazed. Clevenger certainly did his research. John Dolan Vincent is a fascinating protagonist, who's too smart for his own good. Can he outwit yet another psychiatrist and evade some of his questionable business contacts? Read it and find out, a great novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Absolutely incredible - our Contorionist Hero is very well written

    This is an exciting time in literature - especially for fiction novelties. Craig Clevenger adds to the list of great writers that truely command their vocation! This work is solid Authority! Pick it up for a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2004

    Excellent book

    Craig Clevenger did a great job with this book--it's extremely riveting and interesting. The characters are believable, and his research is more than just thorough. I thought the ending was a bit cryptic, but they that's just me, and I could be wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    Rescued by a young forger

    Crawling through the labyrinth of mediocre writing in search of something new can often lead to rather unpalatable places. I was in danger of becoming that which I despise: an unadventurous reader safely nestled between the covers with familiar and trusted authors. Craig's book has restored my faith in contemporary writing. I don't know how adequate the comparison is but I found something of Garcia Marquez within this book. Craft. Don't get me wrong, the style and content bear no resemblance. However, there is something of the extraordinary seeming entirely plausible, which appealed to me. The development of the characters is brilliant and the plot compelling enough to read the book in one sitting, provided you don't have to be up early for work the next day. Read this book, if for no other reason than to encourage publishing houses to be a little more daring. Bring on the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2002

    When's the movie? Can I be in it??

    This book blew me away. In fact, I read it in 3 long sittings because I couldn't put it down. This is doubly significant because I don't read fiction as a rule. Great character development. Intriguing plot. It all works to pull you in. A cerebral work that's still down to earth and in some senses in the gutter. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2