Customer Reviews for

Control: Exposing the Truth About Guns

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

FINALLY SOMEONE TELLS THE TRUTH!!!

Completely vetted! Hundreds of facts and citations! It's about time someone explained how wrong the anti gun lobby is and what their true agenda is: absolute power and total CONTROL! Thank you Glenn Beck!

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Seriously? They can't even get the 2nd amendment right on the pr

Seriously? They can't even get the 2nd amendment right on the product description.

posted by DDIEHL on May 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    FINALLY SOMEONE TELLS THE TRUTH!!!

    Completely vetted! Hundreds of facts and citations!
    It's about time someone explained how wrong the anti gun lobby is and what their true agenda is: absolute power and total CONTROL!
    Thank you Glenn Beck!

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Definitely a book that needs to be read, it is an eye opener and

    Definitely a book that needs to be read, it is an eye opener and covers real facts about guns. This gives you real facts that can be used when debating those who are against gun ownership. The facts are confirmed with the numerous research and is well cited in the book. Many people will automatically disagree with this book simply because Glenn Beck's name is on it, however, look at the research and citations at the end of the book. Buy one for yourself and buy one for a friend, it is a real eye opener.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    Each time a Glenn Beck books comes out I have hope that not only

    Each time a Glenn Beck books comes out I have hope that not only the facts and information will bring more people at least a sense that there is a better path to follow. In this case, Glenn Beck reveals with facts, a person to person effect and a real sense of humor that the falsehoods to by liberals/socialists/progressives/communists have no standing in reality. In fact, those who want firearms removed from society only want control and once they are through supressing second ammendment rights will, and already are, going after supression of the bill of rights.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Thank goodness the book is short. Once I started reading it, I c

    Thank goodness the book is short. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down! While I knew the answers already, it gives me more ammunition to tear down my ignorant friends. :)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Just purchased the book CONTROL after finding it was sold out at

    Just purchased the book CONTROL after finding it was sold out at many bookstores. Finally found one of the last copies at Barnes & Nobles Store at the Alamance Crossing Shopping Center in Burlington, NC 27215. All other nine (9) Barnes & Nobles in the Northern Central Triad Piedmont Portion of North Carolina are all sold out! Control is a hugh hit! Sold out in many Barnes & Noble Stores. Congratulations must be given to Glenn Beck, Kevin Balfe, & Hannah Beck along with Dan Antros, Lt. Col/ David Grossman, Stephen Halbrook, David Kopel, John Lott, Sharon Ambrose, Cam Edwards, Joe Kerry, Tim McGinnis, Skip Patel, Meg Storm, Jacob Sullum & Paul E. Nunn. This is a great read, filled with facts and information. It is one of the best books ever written!!! Thanks must be given to all the above writers and contributors All Glenn Beck books are very informative and very well written. .

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    A Good Book that exposes the Gun Control Myth.

    I do not agree with Glenn Beck on some of what he espouses, but on this subject, he has hit the nail right on the head. It is well docuemnted with the appropriate foot notes and is well thought out.
    I recommned this book to ANYONE who is a "gun control advocate." You will get an education.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2013

    This is the best book to find facts on gun control and how the

    This is the best book to find facts on gun control and how the American public is being manipulated.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Amazing arguments good read

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Here's another black-eye for the dishonest media and power-grabb

    Here's another black-eye for the dishonest media and power-grabbing politicians!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book arms me with the information to discuss and win arguments with gun control advocates. The 2d amendment is the most important one because if it goes, so do the rest of our rights.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Just likes hearing himself talk

    Another of his money making schemes.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Goof Beck

    This man is a wolf in sheeos clothing.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Seriously? They can't even get the 2nd amendment right on the pr

    Seriously? They can't even get the 2nd amendment right on the product description.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Very well put together and a great single book reference for all

    Very well put together and a great single book reference for all the current counter-points. The sources are well documented. Glenn is correct how the focus is NOT about making society safer, it is about getting rid of guns as if nobody was ever killed before guns existed. Colt developed the modern firearms in order to even the odds for the weak and otherwise defenseless against strong bullies. Those arguing for more gun control should actually argue against more control as they even the odds for the weak and poor (insert minority here). But protecting the weak and poor is trumped by the elite's fears that guns could keep them from controlling us as they see fit.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    If I could only read it

    So far I have purchased a book that I have been unable to pull up on any of the apps you recommend. I have windows 8 and the Nook app which you say you are working on. However, the apps you recommend do not work.

    2 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Everyone should read this.

    I don't always agree with Mr. Beck, but he hits the nail on the head with this one. We should all read and understand this before we allow big government to strip us of our rights.

    As for the "opposition's" review with the repetitive use of "moron", I have to say - your limited and crass vocabulary speaks for itself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Good read, full of facts sure to piss of the liberal trolls. Spe

    Good read, full of facts sure to piss of the liberal trolls.
    Speaking of liberal trolls notice all the people leaving 1 star ratings & attacking the character of the writer & readers, guess its pissing off the liberal trolls already.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Read

    A bit to many numbers but he makes his point its not about keeping people safe its about control. Disapointed beck isnt on tv he would do more good and he was reaching more people.interesting the mass killers were gamers and spent all thier time playing violent games.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I own several guns, and I worry about the future of my right to

    I own several guns, and I worry about the future of my right to carry/own guns in this country. "Part One" of this book was pretty good. While I can do without some of his shots towards other news personalities, most of the information seemed objective. I read part one (114 pages) in one sitting. "Part Two" seems very contradictory to me. Part one focuses on the problems of blaming guns for violence, but part two essentially blames media violence for real violence. Could mass murderers possibly be attracted to media violence because they are already violent individuals? I think so. While Beck repeatedly says that there is no scientific way to prove the correlation, he repeatedly implies it. If he is upset about the media and others blaming guns for violence, he shouldn't then blame violence on a different individual factor. If you are interested about the gun control debate, I would recommend part one. You can put it down after that without missing much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    But.........Beck is a moron!

    Regardless of what the tea party people "think", Glenn Beck is a fraud........he has admitted that he is a "character" simply playing a part. Knowing this, how can he be taken seriously? The truly scary thing is that his followers believe him, and that is what needs to be controlled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2