Customer Reviews for

The Conversation: How Black Men and Women Can Build Loving, Trusting Relationships

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Must-Read for Men and Women (Married or Single!)

    I purchased The Conversation yesterday (9/8/09) when it was released and I finished it today. What a great read! I've been a fan of Harper's genuine conversational-style writing since his debut, Letters to a Young Brother, and the follow-up, Letters to a Young Sister, and in his signature-style, the conversation continued in this latest work. Hill Harper is an example of so many of us that are still "working it out" on some level, though some of us dare not admit it. The book is a breath of fresh air as it serves as a model for true transformation as the writer goes on his own personal journey during the process of "The Conversation." Equally informative and engaging, are the candid conversations of the subjects profiled, which range from the conservative to the extreme. Hill manages to present this work without his bias but doesn't neglect to offer his own wisdom about the important issues like sex, money, child rearing, and fidelity. This book is not about--as that old adage informs--eating a fish for a day, The Conversation is about learning to fish to eat for a lifetime. Readers, cast your rods and get into "The Conversation." Excellent job Mr. Harper; keep it cutting-edge and straight. We love that. I'm officially in "The Conversation."

    Extra testimonial:
    I'm a 35-year-old woman (a daughter and a mother) that had a candid conversation about sex with my mother today-for the first time; what seemed taboo was natural as I took the lead and inspiration from The Conversation. My courage to be bigger than the "appropriate" old model rooted in a lot of "pretendism" (my new made-up word), created a new space for me and my mother. In turn, she talked openly about her sex life as an adult (and lack there-of). I didn't imagine that conversation but we have to delve into those important topics and if we can't do that with ourselves and our loved ones, we're kidding ourselves about creating and/or maintaining healthy romantic relationships. I can't wait to talk to the men I know-without judgment-but with a true commitment to engage toward solutions. The Conversation offers a lot, but you'll have to read the book to get those jewels.

    Melody Fox

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thought Provoking and Inspiring!!!

    I purchased the book the day that it hit the market and completed it the following day. I would like to praise Mr. Harper for his honesty in sharing the mistakes which he has made in dating black women. I am so glad that he wrote this much needed book. I have recommended the book to all of my friends(male and female single and married). I have also purchased a few copies and given them as gifts to my close girlfriends. I have not only committed myself to disengage in sister talk bashing black men but I have also stepped up to the plate to let my girlfriends know that it is not ok to carry on such a conversation. It is my hope that black men will also take the time to read this book so that they can examine themselves and realize the changes that they must make in order to heal the black male/female relationship. Only then can we ultimately change the distructive course of the Black family.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome, Thought Provoking,In-Your-Face Read

    Hill Harper has laid our issues in our laps so that we can no longer ignore them and offers us the courage and assistance to make a change. This book was so honest and open. It made me acknowledge and face things that were hidden. I was hooked from just reading the introduction, so much so that I brought a copy for my brother as a gift before reading chapter 1.
    Haper in this book has offered us a road map from beginning to end on how to be better people so that we can be better friends and lovers to our partners.By the time you finish this book you will have been give the permission to forgive yourself and the tools to fix the errors. You will be left with a willingness,open mind, heart and a renewal to love; WITH NO EXCUSES!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Then Conversation

    I pre-ordered this book and it is so worth it! Hill Harper is a very deep insightful man. I hope that this book allows us to look at ourselves and one another openly, with, love honesty and desire. I hope this book does stimulate conversation and growth. Black men and women need one another. Number one selling book!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    Loved, loved, loved your book!!

    I purchased this book Saturday morning 9/12/09 and finished it on Sunday morning 9/13/09 prior to church : ) I cannot say enough about it, your honesty, the discusions, your insight, our history playing such an integral part in our lives, very well written, your brilliant!. and still single? still looking?...... : ) I have had conversations with my male/female friends and purchased several books for them as well. this is a very much needed book, thank you so much for sharing and informing.

    Sincerely,
    Ms. Sherrill Horton

    PS: Will you be doing a book signing in West Palm Beach, FL?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    The Conversation

    I greatly enjoyed this book. I've read all three of Hill Harper's books and this one is by far my favorite. I did not enjoy Letter's to a Young Sister though.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I recommend this book! Share with family!

    Hill Harper did a tremendous job in wriitng this book and giving the issues we face as Africian Americans, a voice and face. I felt is was refreshing and relevant to what is happening in our community, home and families today. I enjoyed how Mr. Harper wove his story in with the stories we, everyday men and women, are facing as well. I was so moved, impressed, and uplifted, to host my on "conversation" parties. Plese read this book and let's start conversating!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    GREAT BOOK BY HILL HARPER ONCE AGAIN

    This book takes a view from the perspective of the Black Female AND Black Male discussing how we can dispel myths and misunderstandings about each other, our race and how to move forward in loving relationships. It does not put the responsibility on one sex or the other but both. He doesn't give shallow tips to 'catch a mate' or what games to play but provides an intelligent conversation that will benefit our race as a whole.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A good conversation piece.

    I really liked this book, mostly for its candor and insight. It's something all women and men should read, whether they are single, in commited relationships or married. The key to converstation is to listen, and this book tells how.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    This book makes you realize relationships can last!

    was very amazed by the conversations in this book. It is really thought provoking; I really wish I was reading this with a book club because it makes for great conversation (no pun intended). I think Hill really hit it on the nail with relating our behavior to slavery. I never thought of it that way until this book. What makes this book different from most relationship book is the rules. This book isn't trying to teach you how to get a partner, it's trying to show us what changes we need to make within to sustain a healthy relationship. The book is really deep and I think all couples married and single should read it. I've heard the people are saying "how is Hill writing a book about relationships and marriage when he is single"... but when you read the book you will see that this was just as much of a learning journey for him as well. Hill really did his work; he had conversations with married, singles and even divorcees. There are many valid opinions in this book, but the way Hill brings it all together and paints the picture of love is truly beautiful... Lastly, the financial advice in this book was the best you could give a couple. And he does know a little about finances, after all he was part of the best financial advisory team in the History of Campaigns.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    Conversation Necessary

    The Conversation is more than another relationship book, but a call to action. Hill's own personal journey gives the book a level of authenticity not found in many books. A must read for men AND women. Let's start the conversation with others and with your inner-self.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book opened my eyes...

    Whether you're in a relationship or not.Looking for someone or just taking your time to find that "special someone".Married,divorced,single.Man or woman...this book is for you. I recommened this for anyone who is just looking for answers,period. I swore up and down my fiance helped right this book, or at least took part in some of the conversations that when on in some of the chapters.Please get it.read it.and re-read it. It will make you realize things about yourself and your partner(s),past or present...Get it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    Great read about MUCH-needed dialogue for successful dating and

    Great read about MUCH-needed dialogue for successful dating and relationships!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The truth!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. Hill and his friends truly had an open dialogue about relationships. I don't think he and Nichole are still together but if they are, then I am happy for them. It would be great to have this "Conversation" on a larger scale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!!!!

    this is a Must Read!!! for all sisters and brothers...we need to bridge the gap1!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Investment

    This book challenges African-American women and men to examine themselves. Since reading the book, I have organized a book discussion with a group of 25 men and women, single, married and widowed. I agree with the author that something has to be done to turn us back to our rich heritage. This book is a great investment!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    What an awesome book!

    This book is incredible! I could not put it down, I finished it in three days. It gave me a whole different look on how I view marriage and it gave me plenty of ideas on how I can improve my already beautiful marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    A MUST BUY

    I purchased this book for a friend for Christmas..it was definitely a wake up call for her. Although I'm married I plan to purchase this book for myself as well considering a marriage is also a continuos relationship. Definitely a must buy for the home library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Awesome, very informative.

    This book was a great read, it was very detailed. I enjoyed the illustrations and conversations. The characters were open and honest and a lot of information was easy to relate to for personal experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    GREAT!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2