Customer Reviews for

The Conversation: How Black Men and Women Can Build Loving, Trusting Relationships

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very good for conversation!

    I read this book and it was pretty good. I think if he and Steve Harvey had worked together, it would have been a great tool. As usually, there is nothing said that women don't know or shouldn't know. It's really a matter of being honest with yourself. We had a local nonprofit group of young professionals sponsor a conversation. It would have worked if it were small groups, but a panel discussion was not the best format. I think the title says it all. Conversation is something that has become a lost art. I don't think any book of this nature is written to be a road map for your relationships. They are written to get you mind thinking different about somethings. Overall, good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    A good read!!!

    I happened to be in the area on the day of Hill's local book signing (1/21/10), so I decided to stay...little did I know I'd be there for nearly 3.5 hours (lol). I must be a TRUE fan because it was storming like nobody's business in CA that night; it was a great crowd considering the weather. I read the book over the weekend. I enjoyed it; it flowed well and I could envision many of my friends and families in the roles of the characters featured in the book. It may inspire you to have your own "conversation party". I had the pleasure of speaking with Hill a few minutes and taking pictures with him towards the end of the signing; that alone was worth braving the elements for. He is as genuine in person as he conveys himself in his books. It was definitely worth the wait and I look forward to his next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Awesome, very informative.

    This book was a great read, it was very detailed. I enjoyed the illustrations and conversations. The characters were open and honest and a lot of information was easy to relate to for personal experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    GREAT!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    The Conversations

    This book was definitely a good read, i am studying for my final exams at University an in between my breaks i would read a chapter or 2 or 3, lol, while watching television i was reading the book, i could not help myself, i read the last chapter when i was at chapter 3, just to see what would have been up with Hill and Nichole. Good work, i am yet to get my hands on the "Letters to a Young Brother." I am sure that would also be a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a must have book for all races and genders.

    Hill is a great entertainer and a well rounded individual. His intellect, passion, and down-to-earth homeboy composure is one for the books. He has written a fantastic book and if you are able to read his others I'd suggest the same. This book stands out from his previous writings and publications. This is a keeper and great source manual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    THE CONVERSATION

    MR HARPER DID A WONDERFUL JOB ENLIGHTENING HIS READERS. OVERALL THE BOOK WAS DYNAMIC. I LOVE THE DIVERSITY OF THE CHARACTERS AND MR. HARPER'S INTERACTION ON A PERSONAL LEVEL AS WELL. HOWEVER, I WAS LOOKING FOR A LITTLE MORE IN THE CONCLUSION. MAYBE, A FOLLOW-UP.....I.E. THE ANSWER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read - A must have for single and married persons

    I absolutely loved this book. I've read Hill Harper's other books and this one is just like the others. It's filled with a vast amount of info. I love this book and I recommend it to all who have been in relationships and are currently in relationships. Once again I love it! It's not like most books that are biased - there are opinions from both the male and female perspectives. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great book

    i really like Hill's out look on life. great book easy to read and also very moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Blessing for any man or woman seeking how to relate to one another

    I enjoy his writings. This book is a quick read and should be shared with couples and singles. Great idea for small groups. I recommend this book for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Absolutely Excellent!

    I would definitely recommend this book, as it can be used as a teaching tool, with it's practical real-life experiences, as well as the factual research that's documented throughout the book. In essence, the book is nicely balanced, informative, educational and the author easily and freely shares his own personal experiences...a must read, for those interested in improving self and themselves in relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    The conversation

    Great read, kept me entertained throughout. Very insperational and would consider a slef help book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    A Must Read!

    This book placed me in an optimistically cheerful mood. It was tremendously insightful. Most relationship books speak to one gender. This book spoke to both. Despite being written by a man; the book's point of view was balanced. It addresses male and female issues. Both men and women can appreciate this book. Every page was packed with theories, ideas, comments and thoughts that help conceptualize feelings you may have about the opposite sex, marriage, family, and love. It was also clever of Harper to weave a tender love story in the fabric of the pages. I didn't want the book to end!
    I loved the Conversation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    Loved it!

    Definitely gives you something to talk about. It served its purpose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4