Customer Reviews for

Conversations with God: An Uncommon Dialogue, Book 1

Average Rating 4
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Sure these books are controversial...but so was Jesus.

I have been studying these books alongside of the Bible ever since I started reading them. Honestly, a part of me wanted to disprove them. But as I got deeper into the Word and compared them side-by-side, I realized it could not be done.

The main message of Conversat...
I have been studying these books alongside of the Bible ever since I started reading them. Honestly, a part of me wanted to disprove them. But as I got deeper into the Word and compared them side-by-side, I realized it could not be done.

The main message of Conversations with God is that "We are all One" - meaning one Spirit. In the Garden of Gethsemane, Jesus prays to the Father, "I pray...that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us...May they be brought to complete unity..." (John 17: 21-23, NIV).

To name a few more examples:

- "Remain in me, and I will remain in you" (John 15:4)
- "On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you" (John 14:20)
- "Do to others what you would have them do to you" (Luke 6:29-31)

Humans have been asking how to have "world peace" and to solve "world hunger" and to "prevent war" for centuries. I tell you the truth; these books have the answers! They answer them just as Jesus did 2000 years ago. Jesus understood these truths and came here to teach them to us.

Why can't God be the One speaking in these books? Do you think that God only inspired people in biblical times and decided that was enough to answer everyone's questions for all eternity? Think about when Jesus came to the earth. He was from God, and spoke God's words - but consider how difficult it would have been to believe him back then. Indeed, it was difficult for many people! He was crucified because of their disbelief!

The same is true today. Anytime something new and different and seemingly crazy comes along, we dismiss it and even go as far as to say it's "from the devil." What if everyone had dismissed Jesus?? You have to wonder - if this really is God, and you don't believe it, what are you saying about Him?

I was a Christian for a long time. As you can imagine, it has been difficult sharing my renewed beliefs to my Christian friends. They wonder what I did "wrong" and how I allowed the devil to capture me. My own sister has shown judgment against me because of it. Do you believe God would really inspire a religion that TEACHES how to be judgmental and to know nothing else? If you have ever felt true judgment, you can easily say that an all-loving God would never make you feel that way.

The God in these books IS ALL-LOVING, He is non-judgemental, He is patient, and by the way, He does not give anything but loving advice! I know because I have put a lot of His words into practice, and it has changed my life and the lives of many around me.


The most important message you could receive from this review is this:

If you read these books and decide to believe God is speaking, you have strengthened your faith.

If you read these books and decide to believe God is not speaking, you have strengthened your faith.

THEY WILL LEAD YOU TO YOUR OWN UNDERSTANDING EITHER WAY. Therefore, do not condemn them; thank God for leading you to them.

posted by kjm on March 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The problem is not that he THINKS he talked to God

There is nothing wrong with someone believing God spoke to them. He does speak to all of us in varous ways. The problem is that the god that this man spoke to is not the one and only true God that made and rules this universe! This man's god is a happy-go-lucky god who ...
There is nothing wrong with someone believing God spoke to them. He does speak to all of us in varous ways. The problem is that the god that this man spoke to is not the one and only true God that made and rules this universe! This man's god is a happy-go-lucky god who says we shouldn't feel guilty about anything we do. The problem is that he contradicts and misrepresents the Bible throughout his book. The problem is that a lot of desparate people will follow this man as he leads them away from God and down a path to some other god. The problem is that you can either believe in the Bible or you can believe Mr. Walsch but you cannot believe both!

posted by Lo98 on December 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sure these books are controversial...but so was Jesus.

    I have been studying these books alongside of the Bible ever since I started reading them. Honestly, a part of me wanted to disprove them. But as I got deeper into the Word and compared them side-by-side, I realized it could not be done.

    The main message of Conversations with God is that "We are all One" - meaning one Spirit. In the Garden of Gethsemane, Jesus prays to the Father, "I pray...that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us...May they be brought to complete unity..." (John 17: 21-23, NIV).

    To name a few more examples:

    - "Remain in me, and I will remain in you" (John 15:4)
    - "On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you" (John 14:20)
    - "Do to others what you would have them do to you" (Luke 6:29-31)

    Humans have been asking how to have "world peace" and to solve "world hunger" and to "prevent war" for centuries. I tell you the truth; these books have the answers! They answer them just as Jesus did 2000 years ago. Jesus understood these truths and came here to teach them to us.

    Why can't God be the One speaking in these books? Do you think that God only inspired people in biblical times and decided that was enough to answer everyone's questions for all eternity? Think about when Jesus came to the earth. He was from God, and spoke God's words - but consider how difficult it would have been to believe him back then. Indeed, it was difficult for many people! He was crucified because of their disbelief!

    The same is true today. Anytime something new and different and seemingly crazy comes along, we dismiss it and even go as far as to say it's "from the devil." What if everyone had dismissed Jesus?? You have to wonder - if this really is God, and you don't believe it, what are you saying about Him?

    I was a Christian for a long time. As you can imagine, it has been difficult sharing my renewed beliefs to my Christian friends. They wonder what I did "wrong" and how I allowed the devil to capture me. My own sister has shown judgment against me because of it. Do you believe God would really inspire a religion that TEACHES how to be judgmental and to know nothing else? If you have ever felt true judgment, you can easily say that an all-loving God would never make you feel that way.

    The God in these books IS ALL-LOVING, He is non-judgemental, He is patient, and by the way, He does not give anything but loving advice! I know because I have put a lot of His words into practice, and it has changed my life and the lives of many around me.


    The most important message you could receive from this review is this:

    If you read these books and decide to believe God is speaking, you have strengthened your faith.

    If you read these books and decide to believe God is not speaking, you have strengthened your faith.

    THEY WILL LEAD YOU TO YOUR OWN UNDERSTANDING EITHER WAY. Therefore, do not condemn them; thank God for leading you to them.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Just what I didn't know I was looking for.

    I chose not to read this for a long time because, having been raised Christian, I saw the outcomes of the religion founded in contradiction and 'better than the rest' opinions, which never sat well with me. 'Look at any of the negative reviews of this book, as examples.' This book is not about 'religion' and certainly not about 'christianity' - instead it offers the simple line 'GOD IS LOVE'. I have never heard something so simple and so profound. Love is kindness, goodness, respect for people and the earth 'even those people who think differently', compassion, etc... If it helps to personify that idea and call it 'God', so be it. I am literally shocked that anyone could have a bad thing to say about this book. It's full of optimism and positivity. Different doesn't mean wrong - and this 'I'm right you're wrong' conundrum seems to fuel the fires we are always trying to resolve with love. Step away from restrictions and guidelines of religion and seek a more intimate, personal relationship with god and love and humanity.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    There is more than what the eye sees.

    A book that is beyond your imagination. Father God does speak with his children, and sometimes these children are encouraged to share his words with others. Time to open our minds and spirits and elevate ourselves much higher than the spiritual self we continue to practice.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Could YOU answer the questions as eloquently?

    I personally find it difficult to side with those who say that Mr. Walsch 'made up' his conversations with God. As someone who has studied philosophy extensively, I marveled at 'God's answers' because they are so eloquently stated, yet simply understood. I cannot imagine an individual with the ability to answer Mr. Walsch's questions with the intelligence and breath-taking synergy from one question to the next. Yes, I was skeptical at first. But, the 'answers' absolutely convince me that Mr. Walsch did indeed have a series of conversations with God. I defy any human being to make up something as full of wisdom as is this book WITHOUT input from God. You just can't make this stuff up. The source is clearly a Higher Being, i.e., God. This is one of the most incredible books ever written and must be read slowly in order to absorb its contents. As so many have said, it is a life-changing experience to have read this book and then, more importantly, to apply it to your own life. Furthermore, the 'answers' expose the fallicies inherent in the rules perpetuated by organized religion, be it Presbyterianism, Catholicism, Buddhism, or whatever. Where did these 'rules' come from? Not God, that's for sure - they came from free will imposed on the masses by virtue of their fear and ignorance and/or the strength of the messenger. Read this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2008

    Great book for everyone

    This is a great book for everyone. It helped me understand the God I believe in and have believed in from my youth. I am now well over 60 and I have studied with many different religions and several secret groups, but never found my home. This book explains why I never found home because it expresses for me my most inner beliefs. But this book is only the start of the beliefs. Book 2 and book 3 of this trilogy are also a needed read to complete the understanding of my belief system in the Almighty.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    Simply The Truth

    Are you ready to know the truth about God, religion, the devil...ect? This book contains essential information for anyone who desires spiritual growth.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Finally, Truth and Understanding

    It seems that until I read this book, I was lost in all the doubts that religion had provoked in me. It seemed that Christianity was trying to teach me two things at once: to love everyone for who they are, and then, to stay away from everyone who doesn't do as the Bible tells them. This book had been sitting on a shelf in my house, staring me in the face, and one day I opened it. I've never had such an enlightening, spiritual experience in my life! I got chills, and butterflies. I cried, and rejoiced in the fact that I CAN LOVE GOD and NOT HAVE DOUBTS. The book reaffirmed much of what I had suspicions about in my heart. That God is Love, and is NOT a man waiting for you in a land of harps in clouds, to beat you down if you've been 'bad'. That it doesn't matter what choice you make as long as you know that every action has a reaction. That science and God can go hand in hand. And that religion and spirituality are not the same thing. This book changed my life, and finally made me content in my faith. Haters of this book live in fear, fear of accepting something new and different (something that Christianity spurns inside many people). I like when Neale says that people will believe just about anything because 'it eliminates the need to think' (p.153). This book allows you to make the decision of right and wrong on your own, and let your heart make your decisions. I loved every page of the book and reccommend it to anyone who is searching for the REAL GOD. THE GOD OF ALL RELIGIONS. LOVE.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    Decide for yourself

    I was going through a rough time in my life, and was looking for a Bible that I was given as I had never read it. While searching I came across this book instead and read it through in a week which is unheard of for me. I got more out of this book in a week than I could have in months of trying to decipher that Bible. I have since begun reading parts of the Bible, but CWG always puts me at ease and makes me feel better. What's interesting about scanning through the reviews is that there are very few votes of 2 or 3, mostly 1 and 5. This seems to be a very polarizing book, and has caused quite a little debate here in the reviews. In this book is expressed the idea that every thought and action springs from one of two places: love or fear. In a few of the reviews rating the book low I get the feeling that the reviewers fear that their belief system is being attacked, that this book says the Bible is not to be heeded which they don't like. My interpretation is that in his conversations with God we are told that the Bible, the Koran, and many other texts are of great value, but should not be blindly followed. Words are open to misinterpretation and misunderstanding. Just look at how many different denominations have sprung up using the same book to define their faith! Neither should any one walking among us be blindly followed. We should question always, and come to our own decisions that are right for us. If we don't then tragedies like Jim Jones' The People's Temple, and Hitler's Nazi Germany are destined to be repeated. This book also spoke to me in profound ways, and confirmed thoughts that I had developed on my own from a very young age. for instance, this great debate on creationism versus the big bang. From a very young age I always wondered why on earth could the two not be the same thing, and the arguments stem from them being viewed from two different perspectives? Well, when that thought was fairly well backed up in the pages of this book I knew that it had an openness and completeness that I appreciated. You will also find the author questions many things, sometimes more than once, but the answers that come are very complete and thoughtful. To some they just feel right, and to others they might not. But decide for yourself.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    An eye-opener

    This book is great and I'm glad I had the experience to read this. It helped me see things clearer. I can't really express how great it is, you will have to read it for youself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2014

    Breathtaking new ways to understand, God, Life, and all the iimportant "whys".

    When i first read this book around 2000,I had come to a realization that much of what I had been taught about God did not fit my experience. The words found in this book firmed up what I had been led towards, and clarified many more thoughts that were somewhat fuzzy at that point. Great Book for those on the Spiritual Journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    I read all 3 books and have never in my life read any books that

    I read all 3 books and have never in my life read any books that affected me the way CWG series did. I read the Bible many times and did not understand it. I found EVERY answer to EVERY question I ever had in these books. To the person who wrote the comments in BOLD letters on October 13, 2006, the author is a man, not a SHE!!! This proves you never read the book and judging it by its cover. Books find us, we don't find them!!! I want to thank Mr. Walsch for sharing this beautiful story with the rest of the world because the exact same thing happened to me. My anger with God turned into a conversation with Him. I did not find answers to all the questions I had in life in the Bible, but I did find it in Conversations With God, especially Book 1. God wanted me to read these books because the books found me. I had not idea such books existed until I demanded answers from God to help me understand life in general. I highly recommend these books. This book helped opened my eyes to my own relationship with God. Again Mr. Walsch, thank you for this beautiful gift. I never realized how easy it is to love God until I read your books. You are an angel sent from heaven. You certainly changed my life. I have all 3 CWG books and your biopic DVD. With love. A BIG FAN!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Amy G

    I love books. This is my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Very interesting views. A book that really gets your mind pondering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    It will provide you a whole new way of thinking

    I recently listened to this book, and its interesting to hear it from an audio perspective, with three seperate voices. What I enjoyed most is the idea that it gives you a new way to process and think about the world. Thinking positively, focusing on manifesting goodness and happiness in your life...these are not new ideas. We have heard them from other sources as well, and I know for a fact that it works. This book just provides a more comprehensive way to know the best way to do that, and how to follow the path that is closest to God's in an effort to create the person you want to be. I felt it was a lot like The Secret, but more focused on being "Godly" and less about just getting whatever you want.
    As for the negative reviews of this book, I had to chuckle. While I deny no one the right to their own opinion, it is laughable to me that most complains about CWG are that it doesn't follow the bible. Because it was written by a person. Are you serious? You realized that God Himself did not come down and strike the words of the bible into a printing press and start the machine. The Bible was not only written by man, it was REWRITTEN by man as well. And if you actually paid attention to the book, or the subsequent books, you would see that there are direct quotes from the Bible. Walsch makes no claim that this is like the Bible or any such nonsense. That's the point! And for the thinking that God would never support being gay or cohabitation or whatever other no-no's you think are written in stone because you're church told you so, maybe you're right. Maybe He is much more impressed by ignorant bigotry against people you consider different. How very spiritual of you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    This Book Advocates the Complete Opposite of escapism, unlike what some reviews would have you think!

    Two things, in response to what I read in the comments here: First, saying that humanity is responsible for the way the world is now, and will have to be the ones to change, if we want it changed, is the opposite of escapism, which, in different words, is what some reviewers here seem to think. Also, as the the grammar mistakes, keep in mind that this book's audience is the everyday person, not some hypothetical English Professor. As to the given example of "become made manifest", the "Song of Thankfullness an Praise"(135 in the hymnal I read it from), uses the phrase "God in Man made Manifest" as its' refrain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Concepts Modernized To Answer Life's Grandest Questions

    Having been raised Catholic, I approached Conversations With God with trepidation. First, I had to get past my concerns and doubts about the idea that Neale Donald Walsch actually believed he was speaking with God. Next, I knew the ideas and concepts found within the pages would challenge everything I had ever been taught for the first 30 years of my life, and I wasn't sure I was ready for that. Within just a few pages, I realized that what I was reading answered so many questions and clarified why so many traditional, orthodox religious ideas create so many contradictions and so much confusion.

    Conversations With God explains a great deal about creation. In the beginning, there was only God, pure spiritual light, no opposing forces. In order for God to know Himself, He had to create the physical realm, for to understand one concept, you must understand its opposite. The purpose of life, according to Walsch (and God), is to understand ourselves as physical beings in order to remember who we are as one individual extension of a universal consciousness. If Walsch himself is an extension of God, it no longer becomes such a stretch to think that he could actually be conversing with his Higher Self, or God.

    Conversations With God teaches that there is no devil, no hell, at least not in the sense that traditional religion teaches. Hell is a complete separation from God, but that separation is man-made, and the separatist can return to God at any time. God does not care so much what we do as long as we learn from having had the experience and grow to understand the difference between right and wrong. There are no "commandments," so to speak, as traditional religion teaches. Rather, there are "commitments," ideals put forth into the world by guide to demonstrate how to live a love-based life. For why would God give us free will and then demand we behave in a certain way?

    Why do people get sick? Why do natural disasters and terrorist attacks occur? These complex questions and more are dealt with from the perspective of the law of attraction. Walsch (and God) explains that illness, calamity, and even natural disaster are the result of individual or collective consciousness and can be controlled. How you think is as important as what you think about in creating the life you want to live. God explains that you do not exist with some predetermined soul purpose, but, rather, your purpose in this life is to create the life you want to live and to remember who you are, a spiritual being having a physical experience.

    Certain concepts within Conversations With God are difficult to absorb. God explains that the human body was not designed to age. Those who find reincarnation an impossibility will certainly struggle with this book. God explains to Walsch that he has lived over 600 lives, some as murderers and some as saints.

    Many of life's grandest questions are answered within the pages of the first book of Conversations With God. This review has barely scratched the surface. If traditional orthodox religion has left you confused, confounded, with unanswered questions, take a look at Conversations With God, Book 1. Be prepared to open your mind to new concepts. Then, make your own determination and look inside yourself for the answers to your questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Really wonderful!

    I first heard this on cassette tape - and I am so glad it's available now on CD so I can give it to friends and family. What a wonderful, uplifting explanation of where we come from, who we are, what we are here to do, and how God cares for and loves us. If you are a person who has to have your beliefs spoon-fed to you, this beautifully told and amazingly simplified set of questions and answers may not be for you, because it is not going to merely regurgitate sermons out of a preacher's handbook. However, if you want your own lifetime of questions answered, this may be it. BTW, The Shack is a very good book about extremely difficult situations, but Walsch's book paved the way for a new relationship with God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book! Not for the close-minded!

    If you are looking for a book that is based off of Christian philosophies and principles, this book is NOT for you.

    If you are open-minded and looking for something beyond traditional religion that shatters many common beliefs, read this book! It's fantastic!

    And even if you don't necessarily believe it, this book is extremely interesting and it gives you lots of interesting things to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful insight

    I believe that we finally have a thinking person at the helm. I think the development of ideas was great and the movement toward inclusion is the message that Jesus carried and sent through the ages. Many on this sight seem to have a short sighted view of perspective when the fall into the exact catigory explained in the book of those not thinking or choosing to experience for them selves and I pray for their awakening to a new relationship with a living God not a killing God. Any one who has really dug into the teachings of Jesus can find the reality in the responses in the book. I invite all who seek to reject to look a bit deeper and hold a bit longer before rejecting someone because "that which you judge you will become and that which you condemn, condemns you." A quote from the book which oddly enough sounds a lot like do unto others or the standard which you judge will be given unto you to be judged in the bible. Hmmm. Think for your self and create you church don't be a product of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Great Book!

    This book has great insight. Loved it from front to back!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7