Customer Reviews for

Conversations with God: An Uncommon Dialogue, Book 1

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Sure these books are controversial...but so was Jesus.

I have been studying these books alongside of the Bible ever since I started reading them. Honestly, a part of me wanted to disprove them. But as I got deeper into the Word and compared them side-by-side, I realized it could not be done.

The main message of Conversat...
I have been studying these books alongside of the Bible ever since I started reading them. Honestly, a part of me wanted to disprove them. But as I got deeper into the Word and compared them side-by-side, I realized it could not be done.

The main message of Conversations with God is that "We are all One" - meaning one Spirit. In the Garden of Gethsemane, Jesus prays to the Father, "I pray...that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us...May they be brought to complete unity..." (John 17: 21-23, NIV).

To name a few more examples:

- "Remain in me, and I will remain in you" (John 15:4)
- "On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you" (John 14:20)
- "Do to others what you would have them do to you" (Luke 6:29-31)

Humans have been asking how to have "world peace" and to solve "world hunger" and to "prevent war" for centuries. I tell you the truth; these books have the answers! They answer them just as Jesus did 2000 years ago. Jesus understood these truths and came here to teach them to us.

Why can't God be the One speaking in these books? Do you think that God only inspired people in biblical times and decided that was enough to answer everyone's questions for all eternity? Think about when Jesus came to the earth. He was from God, and spoke God's words - but consider how difficult it would have been to believe him back then. Indeed, it was difficult for many people! He was crucified because of their disbelief!

The same is true today. Anytime something new and different and seemingly crazy comes along, we dismiss it and even go as far as to say it's "from the devil." What if everyone had dismissed Jesus?? You have to wonder - if this really is God, and you don't believe it, what are you saying about Him?

I was a Christian for a long time. As you can imagine, it has been difficult sharing my renewed beliefs to my Christian friends. They wonder what I did "wrong" and how I allowed the devil to capture me. My own sister has shown judgment against me because of it. Do you believe God would really inspire a religion that TEACHES how to be judgmental and to know nothing else? If you have ever felt true judgment, you can easily say that an all-loving God would never make you feel that way.

The God in these books IS ALL-LOVING, He is non-judgemental, He is patient, and by the way, He does not give anything but loving advice! I know because I have put a lot of His words into practice, and it has changed my life and the lives of many around me.


The most important message you could receive from this review is this:

If you read these books and decide to believe God is speaking, you have strengthened your faith.

If you read these books and decide to believe God is not speaking, you have strengthened your faith.

THEY WILL LEAD YOU TO YOUR OWN UNDERSTANDING EITHER WAY. Therefore, do not condemn them; thank God for leading you to them.

posted by kjm on March 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The problem is not that he THINKS he talked to God

There is nothing wrong with someone believing God spoke to them. He does speak to all of us in varous ways. The problem is that the god that this man spoke to is not the one and only true God that made and rules this universe! This man's god is a happy-go-lucky god who ...
There is nothing wrong with someone believing God spoke to them. He does speak to all of us in varous ways. The problem is that the god that this man spoke to is not the one and only true God that made and rules this universe! This man's god is a happy-go-lucky god who says we shouldn't feel guilty about anything we do. The problem is that he contradicts and misrepresents the Bible throughout his book. The problem is that a lot of desparate people will follow this man as he leads them away from God and down a path to some other god. The problem is that you can either believe in the Bible or you can believe Mr. Walsch but you cannot believe both!

posted by Lo98 on December 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    The problem is not that he THINKS he talked to God

    There is nothing wrong with someone believing God spoke to them. He does speak to all of us in varous ways. The problem is that the god that this man spoke to is not the one and only true God that made and rules this universe! This man's god is a happy-go-lucky god who says we shouldn't feel guilty about anything we do. The problem is that he contradicts and misrepresents the Bible throughout his book. The problem is that a lot of desparate people will follow this man as he leads them away from God and down a path to some other god. The problem is that you can either believe in the Bible or you can believe Mr. Walsch but you cannot believe both!

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    PLEASE THINK AGAIN ABOUT READING THIS ONE!!!

    I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS BOOK, BASED ON WHAT I HAVE HEARD AS WELL AS READ THE AURTHOR HAS TAKEN HER PERSONAL VIEWS AND POSITIONS AND VERY CUNNINGLY WRAPPED GODS NAME AROUND IT. THE ONLY GOD THAT SPEAKS IS THE GOD OF ABRAHAM ISAAC AND JACOB. AND THE ANSWER IN WHICH SHE GIVES THROUGHOUT HER BOOK DOES NOT LINE UP WITH THE CHARACTER AS WELL AS NATURE OF GOD. I UNDERSTAND THAT PEOPLE DO HAVE QUESTIONS AND DUE TO THIS FACT I WOULD LIKE TO HIGHLY RECOMMEND A BOOK WHICH WAS WRITTEN IN TRUTH AND LOVE. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR ANSWERS THAN LOOK KNOW FURTHER THE BIBLE!!!! IS ALL YOU WILL EVER NEED. CONVERSATIONS WITH GOD SHOULD BE CALL CONVERSATIONS WITH AN AUTHOR WHO THINKS SHE IS GOD!!! JOHN 7:16-18

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2006

    Beware, This Book Is False Doctrine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You have got to be kidding me!!!! Read the Bible if you want to learn about what God has to say. This book is nothing more than what the author thinks, not God. This book is terrible. You don't need a book like this to tell you what God thinks, just read the Bible and ask him yourself, it's called PRAYER!

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    Don't buy this book

    God told this man that Adolph Hitler went to Heaven? I don't think so. I'm not a church going person either but I do have spiritual faith and I am also a historian. There is no way that monster went to Heaven. I threw the book in the garbage. Read the Celestine Prophecy instead or the Da Vinci Codes

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    WHAT????

    Wow, you have got to be kidding. This book is a joke. I would not recommend it to anyone who really wants to have a conversation with God. I think the title should read, Conversations with Walsh.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    False prophet

    you can't tell me that Christians are accept this as truth. the verses are grossly misquoted and out of context. to say the author authentically had conversations with God i can't say he didn't but if he tryly did then he misquoted what God said

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Deceiving Book not for Christians

    This book supposes to be God's answers to our questions. But would God tell someone it's ok to be a lesbian? Or it's ok to live with your boyfriend? Clearly this is NOT the God of the Bible but maybe someone's 'enlightened' version of a god.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    A Star for creativity

    Obviously, the folks who believe that the author actually had a conversation with God, have a very strange concept of who God really is. I think that the book should be retitled with a small g for god. If he really did have a conversation with God, His responses would have been much different. I don't know what god he talked to.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    Conversations with a Demon, more likely

    I believe it is possible that the author truly had a coversation with a spiritual being, but it sounds to me like he was conversing with a demon. Only Satan or one of his minions could believe such heresy and both would love nothing more than to promote such un-Christian ideas as being from God. This book blatantly contradicts the Bible. Read it if you like, but do not fool yourself that it's content is Christianity based.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    The first is the Bible

    I feel that no book should claim to be answers from God but the Bible. There are many things in this book that are proven wrong by the Bible which is thousands of years old not written to appease this generation of sinners. Beware when and if you choose to read this for evil can come in all media and form.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2003

    Illogical & Contradictory

    Author begins contradicting himself in the acknowlegements, and it gets worse from there. Aside from being non-Christian, his portrayal of God is illogical and disillusioned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2003

    Don't be sucked in!!!

    I bought this book naively, from the title I thought that it would be talking about Jesus and God. WRONG! It is nothing more than new age heresy - in fact it contradicts the Bible time and time again. Reading the book made me ill to my stomach. Oh, the author had a conversation with something, all right - but it wasn't Yhwh!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    More like conversations with your imaginary friend

    Come on, all intelligent people know that there is no such thing as god. just realize that you are alone in your world, and that you dont have any answers. clogging your mind with this babble is unproductive. god is just a pretend thing to make people feel better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2000

    Pretty Awful

    If this is God, no thanks. The 'God' in this book comes across as condescending and sarcastic. So does the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    Did Cliford Irving write this?

    I'm not a religious fanatic, by any stretch of the imagination, but I have been looking for new ways to find God. This ain't it, folks. I wouldn't be surprised to learn that this guy tried to sell the Brooklyn Bridge to someone. A waste of time and money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Unreal

    Says man made up the devil. Inconsistant , out of context scripture references. Do not bother reading or buying. Let God talk to you. Through prayer and the bible. Not through this man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    This is absolute false doctrine. It's that same old story of eve

    This is absolute false doctrine. It's that same old story of everyone's right, all religions and all actions lead to heaven, etc... But that is NOTHING like what the Bible teaches. Jesus says that many will go down the broad path that leads to destruction. I think Paul's second letter to Timothy says it well:

    "Preach the Word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage--with great patience and careful instruction. For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear." - 2 Timothy 4:2-3

    This and other books like it are exactly what Paul was talking about--false teachers simply saying things that people's itching ears want to hear. Remember why Jesus was ACTUALLY hated and rejected? "The world cannot hate you, but it hates me because I TESTIFY THAT WHAT IT DOES IS EVIL." - John 7:7. No one likes being told that they're wrong. No one likes being told that they need to REPENT and change their ways. Instead, people's itching ears want to be told that they can do or believe whatever they want and they'll still go to heaven. God is most certainly love, but He is also perfectly righteous and just. And He will punish the wicked, whether we like it or not. It's uncomfortable to us, it seems harsh, it seems like it's NOT loving, but that's not our call to make. Remember what God says: "For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways," declares the Lord. "As the heavens are higher than the Earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts." - Isaiah 55:8-9. Just because WE think something is right does not mean it is right in God's sight. Our job is to love Him, love our neighbors, and obey Him as Father, King, Master, and Sovereign Lord. Please consult His true and only Word. Do not be fooled with well-sounding arguments that cater to your personal preferences. Christ Himself is the Way, the Truth, and the Life.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wrong Turn

    This gives the wrong message to people on so many levels. It surprises me it has been made audio and that Ed Asner narrates it *(disappointing Ed!) <BR/>I feel the content is harmful as it gives the reader false and untrue advice and information. If you want the truth, as a Pastor at church, or better yet read the Holy Bible! <BR/>I am glad I got it at the library, because I wouldn't want to waste my money on the purchase. I am a lifetime reader, and have 4 adult children and two grandchildren... my husband and the rest of our family all think this book (story) is CRAP! That is the nicest thing we can say about it. <BR/><BR/>Don't waste your money or time on it. I found this book called the Shack, and it is real popular for good reason. Try this instead of the conversations book. This is contemporary and can't put it down! Enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    What a bunch of garbage.

    Thank God I've been paying attention in church, because I spotted this Freak a mile away. This euphoric lala land where everyone can live the way they want, pervert marriage and disillusion our children is false doctrine. There is only one LORD, one faith and one baptism. Father of all who is above all and thru you all and in you all(spoken to thoes who have the truth). Jesus said unless you believe I am He you will die in your sins, furthur more for it says also **The wages of sin are death***. The Bible says all liar, fornicators, adulters, pervertedness, homosexuals, will be casted into the lake of fire where there will be wailing, and nashing of teeth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    I will pray for Mr. Walsch

    Just reading Chapter 1, the author is clearly misunderstood. I will pray that he comes to know the REAL truth which is the Word of God, The Bible. There is only one true living God and he speaks to us through his Word. Every answer to life is right there in the Bible not in this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2