Customer Reviews for

Conversations with the Fat Girl

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best Frickin' Book Ever!!!!

I picked up this advance copy at the Book Expo in NYC. The cover caught my eye right away. I picked up it thinking it would be some Bridget Jones knock off - but was blown away with it's humor, the depth of it's characters and how universal the story was. Everyone has t...
I picked up this advance copy at the Book Expo in NYC. The cover caught my eye right away. I picked up it thinking it would be some Bridget Jones knock off - but was blown away with it's humor, the depth of it's characters and how universal the story was. Everyone has that 'fat' quality that we wish we could change - hair too curly, too short, funny looking nose - and if we changed this *one* thing our life would be perfect. This book tells a story of loving yourself exactly as you are and letting other people in... Can't wait for the next book!

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So Disappointed

This has to be one of the worst books I have read in a long time! The main character, Maggie, is self obsessed and constantly (through the entire book) pities herself. To be a 28 year old woman, with a Master's degree, Maggie seriously has the mentality of a weight obs...
This has to be one of the worst books I have read in a long time! The main character, Maggie, is self obsessed and constantly (through the entire book) pities herself. To be a 28 year old woman, with a Master's degree, Maggie seriously has the mentality of a weight obsessed 16 year old. The writing style was mediocre and the constant monologues only furthers to perpetuate Maggie's whining! The book did become decent, the last three chapters of the book, and abruptly ended. I would not waste any money on this book, I will not be purchasing any more of Liza Palmer's books. This was a waste of money and time.

posted by seminolegirl on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    Best Frickin' Book Ever!!!!

    I picked up this advance copy at the Book Expo in NYC. The cover caught my eye right away. I picked up it thinking it would be some Bridget Jones knock off - but was blown away with it's humor, the depth of it's characters and how universal the story was. Everyone has that 'fat' quality that we wish we could change - hair too curly, too short, funny looking nose - and if we changed this *one* thing our life would be perfect. This book tells a story of loving yourself exactly as you are and letting other people in... Can't wait for the next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    My new best friend

    Loved it...finally a character that plus size girls can relate to. Hilarious with bits of social wisdom. I miss Maggie so much that I'm going to read it again. My thanks to the author. Hey, Liz...how about CWTFG part 2?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    So Disappointed

    This has to be one of the worst books I have read in a long time! The main character, Maggie, is self obsessed and constantly (through the entire book) pities herself. To be a 28 year old woman, with a Master's degree, Maggie seriously has the mentality of a weight obsessed 16 year old. The writing style was mediocre and the constant monologues only furthers to perpetuate Maggie's whining! The book did become decent, the last three chapters of the book, and abruptly ended. I would not waste any money on this book, I will not be purchasing any more of Liza Palmer's books. This was a waste of money and time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    I really liked it!

    This book made me think more than I thought it would. I thought it would be just a quick read that would put me in the mindset to jump back on the weight loss wagon. Well, as Maggie had realizations with the relationships in her life, with others and herself, I did too. I would have loved to see the chapter that would have followed the last page but I'll just make up my own. Fun book and one I really enjoyed reading!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Although I found the book a little long, with a story that could have been told with less pages I would recommend this book. Maggie was very likable and someone I saw myself in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Very Realistic setting

    I enjoyed the concept and the book itself was a refreshing look at the real side of being overweight and the guilt etc.. that comes with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    Funny and Down-to-Earth

    This book hits home for those of us who are on the 'plump' side. I laughed out loud many times.....even while I was reading it on the subways of NYC. A coming-to-terms, feel-good kinda book. I highly recommend this book to all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I was reluctant to read this at first. I was afraid it would end being another one of those 'bitter fat girl complains throughout the whole book', but it wasn't that at all. Yes, Palmer writes what it's like to be a fat girl in our society, how it is very lonely, painful and disappointing, but she doesn't have Maggie blame her weight on everyone else like so many of these 'fat girl' books do. Rather, she knows it's up to her to change her life in more ways than just her weight. In fact, these moments where we are made aware of Maggie's pain are very poignant. The book is well written, at times funny, and has great characters. My only complaint is that it ends too abruptly. I think an epilogue would've been great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep character study

    They met at twelve and became best friends as both Maggie and Olivia share in common being fat girls. However, at twenty-two, Olivia undergoes gastric bypass surgery and begins to lose the pounds. Five years later, she is engaged to an obese hater, but selects the still overweight Maggie to serve as her maid of honor in spite of the horror in her groom¿s eyes. --- Ever since Olivia became skinny, Maggie has felt like an outsider to her pal. Making matters worse, Olivia has consistently let her down since the fat girl hater entered her friend¿s life. He is insulting as he does not hide his loathing of the overweight set including his disdain and scorn of Maggie. Angry over the latest putdown and her self-esteem lower than the ooze beneath the food chain, Maggie explodes at her once best buddy, but also vows to improve herself starting with the help of a trainer. Her need to improve leads to an opportunity for her first boyfriend with a man she has desired for ever but first she must believe she is worthy of love. --- CONVERSATION WITH A FAT GIRL is a deep character study that focuses on Maggie who feels alone, betrayed and shunted aside when Olivia gains a boyfriend but fails to warn him to stop his snide behavior towards her friend. The deep Maggie blames her low self regard on her weight until she no longer accepts disparagement. Her first step towards self-assurance is mental, which is more critical than any pound she may or may not lose. Liza Palmer provides a strong look at a person struggling to accept that she is an okay person regardless of her size. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Super bad

    I dit read this so font take it personal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Disappointed!!

    I had purchased "Nowhere but Home: A Novel" by this same author and REALLY enjoyed it. I was looking forward to the same writers style and excellence in plot, unfortunately I was GREATLY disappointed. The character, Maggie, was a consistant complainer and the plot drags. I'm about 2/3 through this book and have archived it until a later time. I hope the other books by this author are better because I enjoyed my first one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    More Than Expected

    I'll be honest, when I decided to read this I had very low expectations that I would actually enjoy the book. However, I can say I have never identified more with a character than I identified with Maggie. The writing hits home and Liza Palmer does a great job of making the characters and the scenarios so realistic. I 100% recommend this for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    4 Stars

    I enjoyed this book in all the predictable ways. You root for the underdog, and you just know that she'll show her teeth eventually. As with the other Liza Palmer books I have read, I found the main character a bit of a master of self pity...and I thought her humour and spark could have been a little more visible from the start. But she grows on you as she develops - and by the end you feel outraged on her behalf and deep satisfaction as justice is served!
    I really like this author, I'm surprised she isn't more well-known. I like her style, and even though it is essentially chicklit, it is cleverly done and makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Entertaining!

    Enjoyed this page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Fabulous!!

    Can't tell you how much I laughed at the similarities between the narrator's thoughts and my own! Great read for any girl who has always felt she wasn't skinny or good enough... Quite empowering!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book...

    Every person who reads this book will see a little of themselves in Maggie. I laughed out loud so many times. I could so relate to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Loved It

    I could really relate to Maggie which kept me reading and reading. I found myself laughing out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    Very funny loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Loved it!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Those who felt they couldn't relate to Maggie should take this as an opportunity to see into the mind of someone who is not as perfect as they are. Palmer really hit the mark when it came to expressing the insecurities one feels but doesn't necessarliy voice. One thing I think some of the reviewers missed is Maggie's supposed immaturity was more likely her inexperience. It is very possible to hit the ripe old age of 26 and still treat a crush like a teenager would. I also liked how Olivia told Maggie she had always envyed her confidence. Often we don't know how others perceive us, and just as often it is not the way we see ourselves. Throughout her life Maggie saw herself as the fat girl and had the confidence that often goes with that, but she was also quite tall, and probably carried herself in a way to make herself look like she didn't care what others thought. I think this fed over into her relationship with Dominic. He may have seen her as a confident young lady and he himself lacked the confidence to make the first move. I really liked Dominic and would like to see more about how their relationship develops and how, hopefully, he grows along with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story!

    I was expecting a more literal fit for the title, but I was pleasantly surprised by this book. It wasn't a 'poor fat girl' story. She is empowered and strong, and she presented a very positive portrayal of what it is like to live in a society where a size 10 is considered plus. I cheered all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6