Customer Reviews for

Conversations with the Fat Girl

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best Frickin' Book Ever!!!!

I picked up this advance copy at the Book Expo in NYC. The cover caught my eye right away. I picked up it thinking it would be some Bridget Jones knock off - but was blown away with it's humor, the depth of it's characters and how universal the story was. Everyone has t...
I picked up this advance copy at the Book Expo in NYC. The cover caught my eye right away. I picked up it thinking it would be some Bridget Jones knock off - but was blown away with it's humor, the depth of it's characters and how universal the story was. Everyone has that 'fat' quality that we wish we could change - hair too curly, too short, funny looking nose - and if we changed this *one* thing our life would be perfect. This book tells a story of loving yourself exactly as you are and letting other people in... Can't wait for the next book!

posted by Anonymous on June 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So Disappointed

This has to be one of the worst books I have read in a long time! The main character, Maggie, is self obsessed and constantly (through the entire book) pities herself. To be a 28 year old woman, with a Master's degree, Maggie seriously has the mentality of a weight obs...
This has to be one of the worst books I have read in a long time! The main character, Maggie, is self obsessed and constantly (through the entire book) pities herself. To be a 28 year old woman, with a Master's degree, Maggie seriously has the mentality of a weight obsessed 16 year old. The writing style was mediocre and the constant monologues only furthers to perpetuate Maggie's whining! The book did become decent, the last three chapters of the book, and abruptly ended. I would not waste any money on this book, I will not be purchasing any more of Liza Palmer's books. This was a waste of money and time.

posted by seminolegirl on June 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    Best Frickin' Book Ever!!!!

    I picked up this advance copy at the Book Expo in NYC. The cover caught my eye right away. I picked up it thinking it would be some Bridget Jones knock off - but was blown away with it's humor, the depth of it's characters and how universal the story was. Everyone has that 'fat' quality that we wish we could change - hair too curly, too short, funny looking nose - and if we changed this *one* thing our life would be perfect. This book tells a story of loving yourself exactly as you are and letting other people in... Can't wait for the next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    My new best friend

    Loved it...finally a character that plus size girls can relate to. Hilarious with bits of social wisdom. I miss Maggie so much that I'm going to read it again. My thanks to the author. Hey, Liz...how about CWTFG part 2?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    Funny and Down-to-Earth

    This book hits home for those of us who are on the 'plump' side. I laughed out loud many times.....even while I was reading it on the subways of NYC. A coming-to-terms, feel-good kinda book. I highly recommend this book to all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    Pleasantly Surprised

    I was reluctant to read this at first. I was afraid it would end being another one of those 'bitter fat girl complains throughout the whole book', but it wasn't that at all. Yes, Palmer writes what it's like to be a fat girl in our society, how it is very lonely, painful and disappointing, but she doesn't have Maggie blame her weight on everyone else like so many of these 'fat girl' books do. Rather, she knows it's up to her to change her life in more ways than just her weight. In fact, these moments where we are made aware of Maggie's pain are very poignant. The book is well written, at times funny, and has great characters. My only complaint is that it ends too abruptly. I think an epilogue would've been great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    deep character study

    They met at twelve and became best friends as both Maggie and Olivia share in common being fat girls. However, at twenty-two, Olivia undergoes gastric bypass surgery and begins to lose the pounds. Five years later, she is engaged to an obese hater, but selects the still overweight Maggie to serve as her maid of honor in spite of the horror in her groom¿s eyes. --- Ever since Olivia became skinny, Maggie has felt like an outsider to her pal. Making matters worse, Olivia has consistently let her down since the fat girl hater entered her friend¿s life. He is insulting as he does not hide his loathing of the overweight set including his disdain and scorn of Maggie. Angry over the latest putdown and her self-esteem lower than the ooze beneath the food chain, Maggie explodes at her once best buddy, but also vows to improve herself starting with the help of a trainer. Her need to improve leads to an opportunity for her first boyfriend with a man she has desired for ever but first she must believe she is worthy of love. --- CONVERSATION WITH A FAT GIRL is a deep character study that focuses on Maggie who feels alone, betrayed and shunted aside when Olivia gains a boyfriend but fails to warn him to stop his snide behavior towards her friend. The deep Maggie blames her low self regard on her weight until she no longer accepts disparagement. Her first step towards self-assurance is mental, which is more critical than any pound she may or may not lose. Liza Palmer provides a strong look at a person struggling to accept that she is an okay person regardless of her size. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    More Than Expected

    I'll be honest, when I decided to read this I had very low expectations that I would actually enjoy the book. However, I can say I have never identified more with a character than I identified with Maggie. The writing hits home and Liza Palmer does a great job of making the characters and the scenarios so realistic. I 100% recommend this for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Entertaining!

    Enjoyed this page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Fabulous!!

    Can't tell you how much I laughed at the similarities between the narrator's thoughts and my own! Great read for any girl who has always felt she wasn't skinny or good enough... Quite empowering!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book...

    Every person who reads this book will see a little of themselves in Maggie. I laughed out loud so many times. I could so relate to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    Very funny loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    Loved it!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Those who felt they couldn't relate to Maggie should take this as an opportunity to see into the mind of someone who is not as perfect as they are. Palmer really hit the mark when it came to expressing the insecurities one feels but doesn't necessarliy voice. One thing I think some of the reviewers missed is Maggie's supposed immaturity was more likely her inexperience. It is very possible to hit the ripe old age of 26 and still treat a crush like a teenager would. I also liked how Olivia told Maggie she had always envyed her confidence. Often we don't know how others perceive us, and just as often it is not the way we see ourselves. Throughout her life Maggie saw herself as the fat girl and had the confidence that often goes with that, but she was also quite tall, and probably carried herself in a way to make herself look like she didn't care what others thought. I think this fed over into her relationship with Dominic. He may have seen her as a confident young lady and he himself lacked the confidence to make the first move. I really liked Dominic and would like to see more about how their relationship develops and how, hopefully, he grows along with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    Everything I wish I was brave enough to say

    A hilarious look into the mind, philosophy, compromises and insecurities of a fat girl. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book from cover to cover. Liza Palmer communicates the plight of the "big" girl -- things I would never own up to in public, even less likely in print -- with such pizzaz that even a skinny girl could enjoy it. Too funny for words. I send my thank yous to all of the people that helped to bring this awesome book to my doorstep...Liza Palmer and supporters and the UPS man too =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    Real emotions...real humor.

    This book was witty with a unique voice. There was so much I could relate to in this book it was scary. I laughed out loud so many times. Sometimes I laughed so hard it made my Area hurt! HA!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my all-time favorite books

    If you are an overweight woman and want to fall in love with a character, you will adore this book. There is love, friendship, betrayal, triumph, all the goodies you want to see in a solid novel. I have read this book twice and I plan to read it again. I could relate to the main character in so many ways and I felt as if I knew her myself. The relationships she has with others in the book are so believeable, I was laughing and crying throughout! Mostly laughing though! You will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't Stop Reading

    There aren't many books that make me skip an episode of 24, but this was one. I just couldn't put it down. As a woman who often feels like the biggest in the room, I could easily identify with Maggie's struggles to fit in and find her own way. I enjoyed the books so much I ran out to buy Palmer's second book, Seeing Me Naked. It was just as good. WARNING: There is a fair amount of objectional language, the F-bomb is used freely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Loved it Loved it

    This is a great book! I have already re-read it. The author is awesome and I can't wait for her next book coming in 2007. Like other reviews, this book made me laugh out loud. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    Great Book

    I could not put this book down. It was a great book overall. She was such a great character. I felt like I was with the character the whole time. I would recommend this book to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Terrific book.

    Liza Palmer has nailed it! It is so easy to relate to Maggie simply because we are human and we all struggle with something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    GREAT BOOK

    conversation with the fat girl is REALLY good, this book made me literally laugh out loud. The writing is witty, a reader can really relate to some of the situations the main character is put through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    WOW

    I really enjoyed this book, and I understand her and where she is coming from. Just like the character I myself is somewhat like her. It was very well written and hope that Liza Palmer comes out with another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3