Customer Reviews for

Conviction (Christopher Paget Series #4)

Average Rating 3
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    Manipulative Legal Thriller

    Manipulative, moving, but overlong legal thriller makes emotional case against the death penalty. The story bogs down in descriptions of legal technicalities, but still a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Excellent Book

    I don't usually write reviews,mainly because I find other reviews so unhelpful. I have recently rediscovered Richard North Patterson after many years and have just finished reading Conviction. If I had given credence to most of the prior reviews, I would have missed one of the most compelling novels I have read in the last few years. I did not find the legal language at all difficult to follow and I do not have a legal degree, just a regular liberal arts degree. I didn't understand the complaints about language. If it was directed at the personal conversations, they were not very different from the discussions my friends and I have when talking about something serious. If directed at the lawyers when arguing their briefs, well the reviewer simply hasn't been around enough attorneys. Finally, I find it offfensive to tead a review that gives away the ending of the book! No more reading reviews for me! I guess this has been more of a complaint than a review. I didn't intend that. I guess I am pretty angry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2007

    Surprisingly,,, very good

    I found this audiobook to be very intriguing, surprisely, I also bought the audio book set for my best friend. I was a book full of hurt, urban regret and betrayal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2006

    A Book for Legalists, not Readers

    I think RN Patterson is a singularly talented writer with a gift for language, but Conviction just went over the top with the weight of its own verbiage. I think it would be a great book for law students and those in the legal profession, but the preponderance of confusing legal argumentation left me reeling. I simply could not follow the density of the dialectic and the pompous eloquence of many of the characters -- spoken language by anyone, even a well-seasoned legal mind -- must be occasionally marked by indeciseveness or pausing, or even the use of the wrong word here and there. Not in this book: everyone seems to talk as if they were reading from a well-thought-out legal thesis -- no verbal flubs here. Every word, mono-or polysyllabic, is precisely in the right place. Not realistic to me at all. Wonderful words, but just not believable when conveyed in spoken speech. The principal character, Terri Paget, is, I think, well-drawn. Patterson shows us a truly compassionate and dedicated woman who is troubled on many different fronts. Simply put, the book was far too weighty, and far too long. I was really getting irritated by page 315, and realized I still had 200 more pages to go. After reading many of these well-meaning windbag lawyers, thank God I don't have to encounter them. For me, this was a disappointment, but I'm fairly certain that those involved in procedural law loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    Enough Already!

    I have read 400 or the 513 pages of this book and if I could just remember to pick up another novel I would stop reading this one with only 100 pages to go. The story is suppose to be about someone who was probably unjustly sentenced to death. The main character is trying to overturn this. He may be innocent, or maybe he is guilty. 400 pages in and I really don't care. I guess I have had the opportunity to read a lot of theories on the death penalty, but I already have an opinion on that. What I was missing was an interesting story. This is not it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    Please use a Thesaurus

    This is the first title of Richard North Patterson's that I have read. I enjoyed it, somewhat. It tended to ramble through legal mumbo jumbo well beyond what I consider necessary to get the points across. I also take issue with Mr. Patterson's overuse of the word(s) sardonic(ally). Please, Mr. Patterson, use a thesaurus. How about substituting 'derisive or scornful'. It seems as if sardonic(ally) was used just about every few pages throughout the entire novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    thoughtful read

    I read the reviews before getting into this book but I figured 'Patterson', how bad could it be. Once again I am not disappointed in any way. I'm so tired of Hollwood ending books that I can sit and read in day. This story and the legal battles that are protrayed realy got me to think about the subject at hand. I did at some points have to re-read a few paragraphs to understand some of the legal points, but I found that refreashing to have a book that required more thought in the reading. I really thought this was a decent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2005

    A Total Let Down

    I have enjoyed the writing of Patterson for a long time. Althought this book reintroduced one of his most intriguing characters,Terri Paget, I was disappointed at the outcome of the book. Very informative about our legal ping pong game, but much too much for the avid Patterson fan. I would have loved to see the victim, Renell, find true justice. If this is any indication of how our legal system actually operates, then we as Americans are truly in worse shape than we can imagine. Maybe Patterson will consider the latter part oft he book a dream and bring Renell back to life. It would have been good to see how he adapted in society, working for the Pagets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Highly Disappointing

    I have been a fan of Mr. Patterson's work for years, dating back to well before his books appeared regularly on best sellers lists. However, this time out, Mr. Patterson got so wrapped up in the legal system that he forgot he was writing fiction. I have never minded, in fact, enjoyed, trudging through all the legal mish-mash Patterson offers up because it is not only educational, but has always given us a bit of insight into how a broken system might begin to mend itself. Not this time. No, this time out Mr. Patterson has broken rule number one in the writing of great fiction: he has killed off the most sympathetic character in the book. Is it realistic? Sure it is. But if I simply want to read about how badly broken our legal system is, there are any number of non-fiction sources from which to pick. But, as I said, this is a work of fiction and therefore must meet another standard. I'm not talking about a happy ending here, but how about one that gives us a glimpse into how the monsterous chasm between truth and justice might begin to narrow? I won't stop reading Patterson's books because I beleive he has simply made a mistake. In 'Conviction', Mr. Patterson has shown us that he is as well-versed in the law as he is ignorant to the constructs of great fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    If you need a reason to be depressed

    This novel is overly long, contains too many legal details and lacks any uplifting elements. The subject matter is by it's nature depressing (death penalty) and the crime committed was a brutal sex act against a child with the convicted man believed to be mentally retarded. After spending many hours with the book, I was totally disappointed by the ending and felt as though I had spent the time on Death Row along with the defendant. I've enjoyed other RNP novels. This one is to be avoided at all costs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    Fiction that makes you think

    After gun control (balance of power) and abortion (protect and defend) R North Patterson tackles the issue of the death penalty. The Pagets' take on the case of Rennell Price, a black man, convicted of the murder following sexual assault of a nine year old cambodian girl. On this controversial and divisive issue RNP's position is clearly embodied by Terri Paget, who represents death row inmates, and his doubts by Terri's husband, Chris. The book opens when she meets her client for the first time and with 59 days left to challenge Rennell's sentencing. It is not clear how she ends up with the case, but that question is quickly set aside with flashbacks from Rennell's crime, his trial and his life and the introduction of the main character of the book: the Law. Indeed, the Law, its' interpretation and its' implementation are the central character and driving force of the book, to the detriment of character development inspite of quick insights into Terri's past, and the sidelines about her daughter Elena (a survivor of sexual abuse) the Paget's remain pretty cardbord-ish. As Terri navigates the labyrinth of the appeals process we, the reader, learn more about the system and the players (politicians, lawyers, judges, police..) involved in death penalty cases. The Law applies to all, but what is its' impact on the individual? This book provides an example of what the Law means on a personal level both for Terri and Rennell and for Chris. What is the separation between State and Federal, between the rights of the victim and their family and those of the accused and/or convicted? Even though Terri uncovers new facts, including the disturbing issue of Rennell's mental capacity, are those facts, should those facts, be taken into account? Once a judgment rendered should it be overturned if the law or its scope changes? Who holds the final say? Should Rennell's defense and his life be shunted to the side lines because of political ramifications? Should, as Chief Justice Caroline Masters declares at one point, worry about the credibility of the Court rather than the innocence of an individual? Exploring racial bias, raising questions about the Law as a living organism, presenting an intelligent argument, CONVICTION is an intelligent book which gave a human face to what had been for me an intellectual debate, an abstract subject and left me with more substantive information about the death penalty, and the legal labyrinth that surrounds this controversial subject that leaves no one indifferent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2005

    Death Row Redux

    Richard North Patterson has written many excellent novels in the past. However, Conviction is another death row tearjerker reminiscent of Grisham's The Chamber but with a far more sympathetic protagonist. Once again you are dragged through the apparently endless but futile legal maneuvering. In some ways, its focus is too legalese, even for a lawyer. The only bright spot in the novel is that Patterson weaves a story where he brings back most of the protagonists of his previous novels. I expected better and I was sadly disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Reality Too Close for Comfort

    While full of laws and the premise of the understanding of our legal system and its maze, this book forces the reader to look at the most unpleasan sides of life, including politics and its deadly grasp on all of us. The end of this tale is predictable almost from the start, but in reading the various waves of this journey to save a life in the course of everyday crime and punishment, the book leaves a haze over what we believe is the law, fair and just, and what may not be how we wish it to work in day-to-day situations. The emotions evoked in the story and the ending can be very unsettling and may give rise to thoughts readers have not had at all. It should be read just for the complexity of how the legal system sustains itself despite interpretation on various levels. You come away never wanting to become a part of our court system and its judgments. I am not sure what is fair or just or just plain political. It makes you give thought to subjects you cannot change, but have to live with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    Justice is anything but

    I have read all of Patterson's books and have always enjoyed them until I read this book. The theme of the book is that justice for an innocent person can be denied, and the reader is led on a frustrating journey with the suffering victim until finally the end of the book arrives. Trying to prove how flawed the law can be to someone retarded and poor is the theme. This book denigrates the law, judges, lawyers, juries the whole court system, and leaves one feeling trust, human kindness, the traits that separates people from other species, hardly exist. They are absent from most of the characters in the story. Whether one advocates capital punishment or not, this book argues with such obvious anti-capital punishment conviction,it's bias screams out at you. I read to enjoy, or learn, not to be swept on a wave of social bias I fear, Mr. Patterson would have Jack and the Beanstalk end with the giant waking up and eating Jack, Or the Tree bears eating Goldilocks, etc.: Get back to your talent Richard North Patterson...If it's ugliness I want, I can read the newspapers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Good Read

    Interesting novel. Would have liked it to have ended differently but it was still good. Not as good as his last two novels (Balance of Power and Protect and Defend).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    sickening

    A sad departure from his normal writtings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    intriguing legal procedural

    Death row attorney Terri Paget is working the fifteen years old capital crime conviction of Rennell Price, who the State of California will execute with a lethal injection in fifty-nine days. Terri realizes that the retarded surly black man is not a good client and her chances of saving him from the death penalty are slim to none.--- Terri with the help of her spouse and son looks back over time and quickly realizes that neither Rennell had much of a defense. The corpse of nine-year-old Thuy Sen was found in San Francisco Bay and the medical examiner immediately concluded that the cause of her death was choking on semen. Broadcast news ran the story with the picture of the young girl as its feature. This led to a neighbor claiming that Payton and Rennell Price, drug dealers, took the child with them while she was apparently coming home from school. Other evidence placed the victim in the Price vehicle. The circumstantial evidence remains overwhelming yet Terri remains convinced that her client is innocent.--- CONVICTION is an intriguing legal procedural in which the death penalty debate is incredible, extremely complex and in all honesty wordy (not a one sitting thriller by any stretch even for a reviewer with a multiple book a day habit). Surprisingly with that deep look and with solid courtroom drama, the cast never fully seems real as the law takes on a life of its own superseding any character. Those interested in understanding why the former Illinois Governor halted capital punishment should read Richard North Patterson¿s strong view on the death penalty, just set aside plenty of time and don¿t run for DA or Governor of Texas.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2