Customer Reviews for

Cook Yourself Thin: Skinny Meals You Can Make in Minutes

Average Rating 3.5
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Just what I needed to get me cooking again!

Where can I start? I bought this book thinking that all the recipes will probably be like all the other diets books, tasting OK and passable enough for me to stick to lose a few pounds - HOW WRONG WAS I??

This book is lovely, the recipes are easy to follow, the ingre...
Where can I start? I bought this book thinking that all the recipes will probably be like all the other diets books, tasting OK and passable enough for me to stick to lose a few pounds - HOW WRONG WAS I??

This book is lovely, the recipes are easy to follow, the ingredients are easy to find and each recipe doesn't include a list of ingredients that are longer than your arm, unlike most recipe books. Therefore the recipes are also affordable.

This is a must for anyone trying to lose weight without starving themselves or even who's just trying to eat healthily. The recipes are easily adapted to put your own spin on them and there's something for everyone. It's got me loving cooking again. So far I have not even felt like I have been dieting at all, I have enjoyed everything and have even had the odd guilt free bar of chocolate! It's all about weight loss through making healthy changes this summer.

posted by 1350599 on May 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

no full nutritional labels

This would be a great book if they would put in the whole nutritional analysis and not just calories. There are a great many people out there that need more information than the calories. Because of this lack, I find this cookbook useless for my purposes.

posted by JW58-CA on June 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 259 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Excited about a new cookbook, disappointed with the results.

    I belong to Weight Watchers and was looking for some new meals to make. I was very excited when I saw this book, thinking it would help by eating different meals. I figured the points values (WW system) for some of the recipes and couldn't believe how high the points were!!! Most people on WW get to eat anywhere from 20-25 points in one day, which is actually a good amount of food. Just one recipe in Cook Yourself Thin was 31 points! I now have a cookbook that in order for me to get the points value down for me to be able to eat it I would have to change a lot of the ingredients.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    Yummy

    It is great to find a book with food you can actually eat and not be on a "diet" but as change of lifestyle that doesn't take forever to cook. Some recipes are a bit more complicated that I hoped but the food is great!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    LOVE THE TV SHOW, LOVE THE BOOK...

    I haven't tried all the recipes, but we have experienced many. All have been very good, especially anything with cocoa! ;-)

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    This is a Must-Have!

    After discovering the tv show on Food Network Canada, and trying out some of their recipes I found on-line, I decided to try the book and am glad I did!! As I just started making some recipes this week, no weight loss to report, yet, but do recommend the following: 1. Lemon Poppyseed Muffins 2. Cheese, Veggie & Bacon Frittata 3. French Onion Soup 4. Mediterranean Chicken 5. Roasted Peach Crisp You have to get this book; all ingredients are easy to find (try Bulk Barn for a lot of hard to find ingredients). Can't wait to get Cook Yourself Thin, Faster!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    no recipes

    there are no recipes in the sample book. lots of wasted time

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Lose The Bulge and Still Indulge

    I liked this book a lot because it is simple and it just makes sense. Based on the television show by the same name, this neat little book offers the reader a good strategy to lose weight. In a nutshell, its premise is that one can lose weight if they have low-fat, low calorie cooking skills, along with a basic knowledge of food labels and portion sizes- which many studies would agree are the key to keeping slim.......To meet these needs, the book starts off with concise weight loss information, such as a quiz to determine what kind of eater you are, a quick calorie guide, a section of assessing your diet, and, well, you get the idea. The rest of the book from there is all recipes, cleanly divided into Breakfast, Mains, and Sweets.......An all around easy read with great information, I recommend it as a sensible strategy to cut your calories, eat well, and still lose weight. Also recommend "The Sixty-Second Motivator" if you have trouble making healthy lifestyle changes such as the ones promoted in the book. Good luck!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cook yourself thin...with your OWN recipes.

    I was so excited to get this book after watching the show on tv. I mainly have been using the book as inspiration for weekly meals; especially if I do not have some of the specific ingredients on-hand. But, I decided to try a few recipes as they were written. Boy, was that a mistake. In general, I think the ingredient measurements are all a bit off. I also think the flavor profiles are a bit lacking. Specifically, I made the buffalo chicken salad and my chicken did not taste anything like what I would have expected. Overall, I think it would be best to just take a more common-sense approach to cooking yourself thin by preparing your meals with healthier ingredients and/or only eating half of what you would normally eat.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lost weight the first week.

    I started watching the show based on the cookbook and the food looked wonderful. My daughter and I bought the book and used it the very same night. We have tried about half the "mains" and a couple deserts and love them all. Now I will admit we have tweaked them a little if we didn't like a particular ingredient, but over all the food is great. We now plan menus so we can make a good shopping list and stay away from the "bad" isles in the store. Even the 8 and 9 year old like the food, and they are junk food addicts. The one bad thing about the book is it gives you servings for the recipe, but it doesn't say something like, 4 one cup servings, or 4, 4 ounce servings, so you have to guess at what a serving is. But over all I have lost weight and so has my daughter who does eat a little more junk than I do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Worth the buy!

    TAKE THE TIME TO REALLY READ IT! If you get the book, and head straight to the recipes, you miss the concept of the book. This book can get you started in the right direction of making changes. It is NOT a diet book, but rather a book that teaches principles of healthy changes. It is a book to teach us how to make healthy changes. You CAN eat your food, but the changes make those wonderful foods healthier, and feel less guilt over what we do to our bodies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Good Book for the Value

    I thought their were a lot of good ideas for replacing fat with other food items. Some recipes have way too many ingreadients; it can take some time to prepare a dish. In trying to make some of the recipes, I found some errors such as leaving out directions of what to do with some of the ingredients. Some recipes I would not make again and some I would. I also found it "hard-to-find" some of the ingredients that some of the recipes call for, such as Vietnamese rice paper wraps. It's a great way to cut calories and carbs ... if you can magically find them in the supermaket. I tried 5 stores including Wegmans and no such luck.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    This is one of the BEST Books for cutting out Bad eating items!

    I can see that this book will help everyone to cut the unnecessary fats out of your diet! Not even like dieting just eating better!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Dissapointed

    I was really excited to get this book in hopes that It would give me some ideas on how to cook healthier. It delivered in that area by giving me chart comparisons of things i had been eating and what i could eat instead. The recipes are not very practical though. They tend to have ingredients that one doesn't in the pantry at home. Most of the recipes require a special trip to the grocery store. I just don't have the time for that. I think i'll stick to recipezaar.com for quick ideas.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Love these girls.

    Great book and it makes cooking easy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Delicious Recipes!

    Very easy to use with so many delicious and guilt-free recipes. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Good recipes

    I haven't read much of the intro, but I've tried several recipes from the book, and have enjoyed almost all of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Excellant

    Cook Yourself thin is a great book. It has a lot of different recipes that everyone will love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Don't waste your money!

    Waited over 3 weeks to get this book advertised on tv sent to me by B&N. Had to call and find out status. VERY disappointed. Most of the recipes were ones you would order in an upscale restaurant! Also, need to go out and purchase most ingredients that you wouldn't normally stock in your pantry and they are expensive. Too late to return book the day I received it and read through it. Should have gone to library and checked it out first. Save your money. It isn't worth it!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    One of my best book purchase

    I saw the book on tv and had to go get it. It is the best and lives up to the hype. I have cook several of the receipies in the book for friends and family and all of them have been great. I did buy the book to loose weight and haven't lost anything but it has made me look like a professional cook with very little work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Good Book

    Lots of good recipes!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    I use this cookbook several times a week

    The recipes are very good and we've liked everything I've made so far. I used the sauteed tequila lime shrimp tacos for my daughter's 25th birthday and it was a huge hit(she's thin as a rail). My only complaint is it's too thin, I want more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 259 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13