Customer Reviews for

Cook Yourself Thin: Skinny Meals You Can Make in Minutes

Average Rating 3.5
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Just what I needed to get me cooking again!

Where can I start? I bought this book thinking that all the recipes will probably be like all the other diets books, tasting OK and passable enough for me to stick to lose a few pounds - HOW WRONG WAS I??

This book is lovely, the recipes are easy to follow, the ingre...
Where can I start? I bought this book thinking that all the recipes will probably be like all the other diets books, tasting OK and passable enough for me to stick to lose a few pounds - HOW WRONG WAS I??

This book is lovely, the recipes are easy to follow, the ingredients are easy to find and each recipe doesn't include a list of ingredients that are longer than your arm, unlike most recipe books. Therefore the recipes are also affordable.

This is a must for anyone trying to lose weight without starving themselves or even who's just trying to eat healthily. The recipes are easily adapted to put your own spin on them and there's something for everyone. It's got me loving cooking again. So far I have not even felt like I have been dieting at all, I have enjoyed everything and have even had the odd guilt free bar of chocolate! It's all about weight loss through making healthy changes this summer.

posted by 1350599 on May 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

no full nutritional labels

This would be a great book if they would put in the whole nutritional analysis and not just calories. There are a great many people out there that need more information than the calories. Because of this lack, I find this cookbook useless for my purposes.

posted by JW58-CA on June 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    no full nutritional labels

    This would be a great book if they would put in the whole nutritional analysis and not just calories. There are a great many people out there that need more information than the calories. Because of this lack, I find this cookbook useless for my purposes.

    34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    The recipes in this book are WAY to complex

    I bought this book to get some new recipes. The introduction provided a great deal of common sense info...don't eat too much and you won't gain weight..yeah, we get that. I read nothing new regarding weight loss in this book. The majority of recipes have 15 ingredients. I have only made two of them to date. One was great (the penne not-ka)..the other was a dessert(peanut butter bars). The desserts measurements must have been off because the serving sizes were for a mouse! I couldn't even cut these thing as small as they recommended. My result was NOTHING like the picture. There are not pictures for each recipe, and I love pics. I cook pretty much three meals a day. I am a scratch cook that uses primarily fresh ingredients. There were so many ingredients in each of these recipes that I would have to shop daily. I would not recommend this to someone trying to lose weight for fear that they would get discouraged. It was a nice try, but missed the mark for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Skip this book and find another.

    I ordered this book because it had so many good reviews. But really, I am extremely disappointed. First, a lot of the book is just 'tips' and info, and not even recipes. Then the recipes listed aren't that low calorie. Many are upwards of 600 calories, and if you are on a 1200 calorie per day diet, that's half your daily allotment in one meal.

    I finally found one that seemed reasonable at 331 calories: the stuffed shells. I got all the stuff and set about making it. Two hours later, the recipe was finally done. It took a really long time to make, and I'm not a newbie in the kitchen. And for that 331 calories, you get exactly four shells. The recipe serves 10. While it tasted fine, it definitely was NOT worth the two hours it made to cook.

    None of the recipes have time estimates on how long it take to prep or cook, and the only nutritional information you get is the calorie count.

    I am really disappointed in the recipes and the book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    Cook yourself thin - don't bother

    Did not match the description. Lacked variety and depth.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    The book is just o'k, not more than that.

    Disappointed with the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Not good

    I was expecting more.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Maybe it just me...

    I am disappointed in this book, possibly because I am older and live alone. These are not the kinds of combinations that I prefer to eat. And there is not enough information to evaluate "points value," for instance.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    not worth buying

    I was so excited to buy this book but now that I have it, it's really not worth it. It does not give good nutrition information, there are no images of what the food is supposed to look like, and most importantly to me, it does not utilize ingredients that are affordable or easy to get. It is easy to cook like this without buying the book. I bought it because I was curious but I have been cooking like that for years without needing the help of a book that calls for over priced ingredients. If you are on a budget don't bother with this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    customer service needs better training

    This book is very informative. The receipes take everyday food and cut the calories so you don't feel like your on a diet.
    However it took over month to receive it, not because it was out of stock. I know this because I called customer service every week and was told they didn't know why it wasn't being shipped. They wouldn't cancel the order and reship so I just had to wait. I asked to talk to a manager but they don't work weekends. When they did ship it it still took one week. I think since I called and it took so long it should have gotten to me sooner. Someone should really train customer service so they know how to deal with something this simply. I don't think I'll order online again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Disappointed

    I am very disappointed in this book.
    I don't think it is much different than most "diet" books.
    I thought it would show me how to convert my recipies to low cal..it doesn't..
    Some recipies are difficult to follow..and not enough neutrient values are given..
    Many ingredients can't be found in our small town..
    A wire binder would be helpfull also.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3