Customer Reviews for

Cook Yourself Thin: Skinny Meals You Can Make in Minutes

Average Rating 3.5
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Just what I needed to get me cooking again!

Where can I start? I bought this book thinking that all the recipes will probably be like all the other diets books, tasting OK and passable enough for me to stick to lose a few pounds - HOW WRONG WAS I??

This book is lovely, the recipes are easy to follow, the ingre...
Where can I start? I bought this book thinking that all the recipes will probably be like all the other diets books, tasting OK and passable enough for me to stick to lose a few pounds - HOW WRONG WAS I??

This book is lovely, the recipes are easy to follow, the ingredients are easy to find and each recipe doesn't include a list of ingredients that are longer than your arm, unlike most recipe books. Therefore the recipes are also affordable.

This is a must for anyone trying to lose weight without starving themselves or even who's just trying to eat healthily. The recipes are easily adapted to put your own spin on them and there's something for everyone. It's got me loving cooking again. So far I have not even felt like I have been dieting at all, I have enjoyed everything and have even had the odd guilt free bar of chocolate! It's all about weight loss through making healthy changes this summer.

posted by 1350599 on May 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

no full nutritional labels

This would be a great book if they would put in the whole nutritional analysis and not just calories. There are a great many people out there that need more information than the calories. Because of this lack, I find this cookbook useless for my purposes.

posted by JW58-CA on June 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not worth the money when you can get the recipes free

    Good recipes but you can get them all at the life time web page for free. I expected some recipes that were not on the show.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    Why no wire binding?

    I decided last year not to buy any more cookbooks that do not lie flat. The picture does not show either metal or plastic winding. This sounds like a good book and a good value but I can't buy it.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Dissapointed

    I was really excited to get this book in hopes that It would give me some ideas on how to cook healthier. It delivered in that area by giving me chart comparisons of things i had been eating and what i could eat instead. The recipes are not very practical though. They tend to have ingredients that one doesn't in the pantry at home. Most of the recipes require a special trip to the grocery store. I just don't have the time for that. I think i'll stick to recipezaar.com for quick ideas.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    Needs nutritional information

    I think Nutritional information should be included for all recipes. At the very least Calories/Fat/Fiber. Full NI per serving would be an improvement, as the point of the book is calorie control.

    Most of these recipes are on the website.

    More illustrations would be an improvement as well.

    Bottom line, only so-so. Would probably do better with a Cooking Light Cookbook, but I would consider a second book if improvements were incorporated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Some good, some not so good.

    There are some very good recipes in this cookbook but you need a lot of
    special ingredients.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    Directions are difficult to understand

    My husband and I have made four delicious recipes from this cookbook. They were all delicious and filling. We cook most nights of the week and frequently try out new recipes. At some point in each recipe we had to re-read directions multiple times. Things were not always clear as to when to add ingredients, what temp to cook on, time to cook and ingredient amounts. The food tastes like food from a resturant! This would not be a good beginner cookbook. These can be time consuming meals to make. We made the eggplant stacks(use small eggplant in diameter), cheezy tetrazini, vegetable risotto(very time consuming), and spaghetti carbonara(tried turkey bacon for 1st time, yum). These looked like some of the easiest meals to make.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good, not great.

    I spent too much money on more obscure ingredients (almond flour, self-rising flour, etc.) to make recipes that didn't taste great. The information in the beginning is pretty good and the main dish recipes are pretty good too. The breakfasts aren't very imaginative and the desserts are AWFUL. The book is best for some ideas/inspiration but not necessarily for the recipes contained within.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Careful on the deserts!

    Some of the meals were a little compliclated. So I wouldn't even attempt to make them. The ones I did make were ok in my opinion. My husband really liked everything I cooked from the book. One thing that I really didn't like was that the deserts were high calorie. I keep a little box of PIM's in the pantry as a treat. Assuming they were very high in calories, (I rarely eat more than one in a day) I decided to make a couple of the deserts. The Peanut Butter one was a mess, didn't turn out at all like the picture and one serving ended up being about 4 times the amount of one of my little PIMs cookies. That particular desert was even higher in calories than an oreo which I'll treat myself to once in a while. I wasn't crazy about that.
    I did learn some nice lower calorie meals which is more important but I don't like that on the TV show they try to convince you it tastes great! Some of us have taste buds that can tell the difference, so I wasn't that wild about the outcome of some the dishes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    disappointment

    I had seen the tv show and was very excitied to get the cookbook but was disappointed after I got it home. There just wasn't enough to it for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Great information but not great recipes

    I bought this book online so I didn't get a chance to review it before purchasing. The beginning had some great information to learn from but the recipes are not that great. A lot of the recipes I would never make just because of what the ingredients are. I did try two recipes so far and one was one ok and the other was not good. The recipes have a lot of ingredients and are not that quick and easy to prepare during a work week. I don't recommend this for anyone that is looked for healthy but easy and fast meals. I haven't made a lot out of the book yet as they take longer than 30 min. to prepare and when you get home at 5:30 and have hungry child I don't have 30 min just for preparation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Overpriced

    I am disappointed that on line the book was less expensive than buying in the store, which I did. I'm not sure I'll shop at B & N again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3