Customer Reviews for

Cooking Light

Average Rating 3.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have missed this magazine!

I let my print copy of CL expire for one of the same reasons I purchased a Nook tablet: I'm committed to reducing paper waste. The formatting of CL on the Nook is a real winner. I can read the script because a full page is not crammed into one frame. To continue reading...
I let my print copy of CL expire for one of the same reasons I purchased a Nook tablet: I'm committed to reducing paper waste. The formatting of CL on the Nook is a real winner. I can read the script because a full page is not crammed into one frame. To continue reading an article, the Nook instructs me to "scroll down." The color pictures are brilliant. I love Cooking Light because it's a great balance of kitchen tips, recipes that are relatively affordable and simple in terms of preparation, but gourmet in style, and healthy living ideas. It's wonderful to be back with CL.

posted by europa343 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This item does not work on the Nook app!

I was surprised to see that this item does not work on the Nook app for the iPad.

posted by 8265470 on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    This item does not work on the Nook app!

    I was surprised to see that this item does not work on the Nook app for the iPad.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Can't bookmark recipes

    I feel like a huge part of reading a cooking magazine is marking the recipes you want to try. I've purchased other magazines that allow you to bookmark pages, but this one doesn't. Unless I write the info down on a piece of paper, it's impossible to find it again without flipping through the magazine. I won't buy this on my nook again. In my opinion, cooking light has gone from a magazine I loved to one that is just ok anyway. I may not buy it again in any form.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Disappointed

    I bought the Nook subscription for my IPad and its not able to be view on the ipad app. Why is it available for purchase then? Ridiculous!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Food not appealing

    I found that the meals offerred did not appeal to my family's taste. I love a variety of cuisines and am Louisiana girl, half Cajun and half Italian so I eat foods thatmany others may not, yet I still found the recipes too "exotic" for lack of a better word. Not everyday meals.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    I have missed this magazine!

    I let my print copy of CL expire for one of the same reasons I purchased a Nook tablet: I'm committed to reducing paper waste. The formatting of CL on the Nook is a real winner. I can read the script because a full page is not crammed into one frame. To continue reading an article, the Nook instructs me to "scroll down." The color pictures are brilliant. I love Cooking Light because it's a great balance of kitchen tips, recipes that are relatively affordable and simple in terms of preparation, but gourmet in style, and healthy living ideas. It's wonderful to be back with CL.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Subscription: need help figuring it out

    I subscribe to Cooking Light in print, love it. Have for many years. I attemptes to get set up with the free e version and never got a 2 week notice following the initial trial. Now i find no means to communicate and worry that i will be charged.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    cool and awsome

    like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    yummy

    I simply love the recipes in the issue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Excellent magazine!!!

    Love this magazine!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    I Love Cooking Light!

    My husband takes me hunting with him. I take my Nook with me & read or browse a magazine. Sometimes I'm able to stop by the store, pick up what I need to make a new recipe I've found in Cooking Light on my Nook, & run home to make it!!

    Fun!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    More ads than content

    I subscribed to the free trial and cancelled it within an hour. People shouldn't have to pay 1.99 a month for something that is full of ads and has no usable content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    Doesn't work on Nexus 7 app

    I just tried to purchase this for the B&N app on my Nexus 7. Once I paid for it the app said it couldn't be displayed on my advice. What good is the app if I can't read my purchases? I'm not buying a Nook color or Nook HD so I guess you don't want my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    too many ads

    There are WAY too many ads in this magazine. I was paying for culinary information not commercials.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Improvements needed

    Although I love the recipes in Cooking Light and have been reading the hard copy for many years, the digital version is not as well developed as, let's say, Food Network's e-magazine. With Cooking Light Digital, you can't magnify the page by pinching or any other way, and you can't bookmark a page.
    These are definite drawbacks and detract from the great e-magazine that it could be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    very good collection of recipies! loved the chicken theme!

    very good collection of recipies! loved the chicken theme!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Cooking light

    Love Time! Thanks for the free nook subscription. Now i have my magazines with me all the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Can not open in iPad

    I can not open in the iPad nook app. No need to have a magazine I can not enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    HMMM HMMMM good

    Sounds like lots of good recipes going to try it tonight

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    DASHdietuser

    I was disappointed with this magazine. I expected recipes with everyday ingredients but found most recipes in this issue had one or more ingredients that I would need to visit the International store to obtain. Looking more for DASH diet cooking style.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    THANK YOU!!!

    I have waiting for so long for Cooking Light to come to the Nook!! I am so excited. Thank you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 145 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8