Customer Reviews for

Cooking Light

Average Rating 3.5
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I have missed this magazine!

I let my print copy of CL expire for one of the same reasons I purchased a Nook tablet: I'm committed to reducing paper waste. The formatting of CL on the Nook is a real winner. I can read the script because a full page is not crammed into one frame. To continue reading...
I let my print copy of CL expire for one of the same reasons I purchased a Nook tablet: I'm committed to reducing paper waste. The formatting of CL on the Nook is a real winner. I can read the script because a full page is not crammed into one frame. To continue reading an article, the Nook instructs me to "scroll down." The color pictures are brilliant. I love Cooking Light because it's a great balance of kitchen tips, recipes that are relatively affordable and simple in terms of preparation, but gourmet in style, and healthy living ideas. It's wonderful to be back with CL.

posted by europa343 on February 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I would NOT WORK on my NOOK HD+

I hated to cancel but it would only flip two pages and then the reader would lock up. I am heart broken!!!!

posted by 6040127 on August 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    I would NOT WORK on my NOOK HD+

    I hated to cancel but it would only flip two pages and then the reader would lock up. I am heart broken!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    This item does not work on the Nook app!

    I was surprised to see that this item does not work on the Nook app for the iPad.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Continues to be unreadable

    I have complained about this mag more than once. Cannot open it . On the rare occasions when it opens, the reader fails!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Can't bookmark recipes

    I feel like a huge part of reading a cooking magazine is marking the recipes you want to try. I've purchased other magazines that allow you to bookmark pages, but this one doesn't. Unless I write the info down on a piece of paper, it's impossible to find it again without flipping through the magazine. I won't buy this on my nook again. In my opinion, cooking light has gone from a magazine I loved to one that is just ok anyway. I may not buy it again in any form.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Disappointed

    I bought the Nook subscription for my IPad and its not able to be view on the ipad app. Why is it available for purchase then? Ridiculous!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Food not appealing

    I found that the meals offerred did not appeal to my family's taste. I love a variety of cuisines and am Louisiana girl, half Cajun and half Italian so I eat foods thatmany others may not, yet I still found the recipes too "exotic" for lack of a better word. Not everyday meals.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    I have missed this magazine!

    I let my print copy of CL expire for one of the same reasons I purchased a Nook tablet: I'm committed to reducing paper waste. The formatting of CL on the Nook is a real winner. I can read the script because a full page is not crammed into one frame. To continue reading an article, the Nook instructs me to "scroll down." The color pictures are brilliant. I love Cooking Light because it's a great balance of kitchen tips, recipes that are relatively affordable and simple in terms of preparation, but gourmet in style, and healthy living ideas. It's wonderful to be back with CL.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    It doesn't work properly on my Nook.

    I like this magazine, but it just doesn't work properly on my nook. I'm so sad that I have to cancel this subscription. It keeps freeze at some page (especially advertising pages) and I have to go back to the main page and have to open back but it doesn't work anyway. So I'm canceling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    won't open

    Very dissapointed. Paid for subscription yet won't open on brand new Nook HD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love the magazine, but I like others here have a time getting

    I love the magazine, but I like others here have a time getting it to open on my Nook HD......the January issue has been almost impossible....I only buy the Nook version, so I am really disappointed that with the amount of negative comments that this has not been fixed. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    I agree with other reviews. This magazine does not work on nook

    I agree with other reviews. This magazine does not work on nook hd+. I canceled my subscription only after a few issues, which Very disappointed!!!! This should be removed from being able to purchase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Subscription: need help figuring it out

    I subscribe to Cooking Light in print, love it. Have for many years. I attemptes to get set up with the free e version and never got a 2 week notice following the initial trial. Now i find no means to communicate and worry that i will be charged.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    Very frustrating how I bought an issue for $5 and cannot open it

    Very frustrating how I bought an issue for $5 and cannot open it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Like the magazine not on the Nook

    I do not like the way this mag works on the nook. Cannot save pages or recipes to my nook scrapbooks. Also does not let me mark the page so I know where I left off. Not worth subscribing to on my nook. Will try it on the iPad and see if it is any better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    unable yo open to read

    unable to open magazine to read have tried archiving still will not open have given up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    cool and awsome

    like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    nook

    I always have trouble opening this mag. It always says upgrade subscription when I already have the subscription and read but when I select read nothing happens. I am thinking about canceling it because of this very very frustrating
    That is why I am giving it suh a low rating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    yummy

    I simply love the recipes in the issue

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    What does free mean? Offer is very unclear to the point of bein

    What does free mean? Offer is very unclear to the point of being deliberately deceptive. $1.99 a month is not free.. I'm canceling NOW before I'm billed another $1.99.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    cancel

    Please cancel my subscription immediately, I have problems with Barnes and NObles ,Ms. I.Lowe

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9