Customer Reviews for

Cooking Light The Essential Dinner Tonight Cookbook: Over 350 delicious, easy, and healthy meals

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    Complete meal ideas with every recipe

    This book is awesome. I often hate meal planning because what do you have with the main course. This book has side dish ideas as well as what order to do things in to have it all on the table at the same time. Also, it is healthy so I know I will be able to feed my family and not have to put all that time consuming thought into making sure all the food groups are covered. It also has breakfast/brunch plans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    I have not had a meal come out poorly from this book yet. It als

    I have not had a meal come out poorly from this book yet. It also has the nutritional breakdown for you right with each recipe, if youre keeping an eye on your calories. Delicious healthy recipes, every kitchen needs this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Fantastic, quick and easy recipes!

    Love this cookbook. Fabulous selection of recipes that come together quickly. I love that it has menu suggestions for each recipe. Takes the guesswork out of weeknight cooking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    Wonderful recipes--complete healthy dinner plans

    Have been using this cookbook exclusively to plan dinners since I got it about a month ago, and my husband and I have both lost weight and are eating delicious dinners to boot. The main recipes all suggest side dishes, so that you can plan entire meals, and everything is fresh and quick to prepare. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Great cookbook for those without a lot of time

    I love the complete meal plans provided in this book. And if you go to myrecipes dot com you can sign up for the "Dinner Tonight" newsletter, which sends you a complete meal each day, right in your email. These are all low-fat/low-cal and healthy meals. I've made about 30 of the recipes so far and they all come out tasting absolutely amazing! You'd never know they were good for you! On Sunday, I just go through the book and pick out five recipes, get the ingredients (usually a short list for each meal) and I make a grocery list. Since it's just hubby and I and most of the recipes make 4 or more servings, we have it for dinner and then again for lunch the following day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    My favorite light cookbook

    This is my 'go to' light cookbook. I've tried many of the recipes and have yet to be disappointed. They're easy, relatively quick and big on flavor. My husband, who hasn't embraced my healthy cooking as heartily as I'd like, has given me the 'thumbs up' on every recipe from this book thus far. I highly recommend this cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    Beautiful and Practical Cookbook

    Because I have subscribed to the Cooking Light magazine and know of its quality, I decided I just had to get this cookbook for my daughter-in-law for Christmas. The book is not hard-cover, but that does not mean it is not first-rate. It is still sturdy, and the full-color pictures accompanying each recipe are absolutely gorgeous and will make your mouth water! It has recipes for everyday dinners throughout the year and also a few special occasion dinners. Unlike most cookbooks, the recipes are not isolated; each one comes with a suggestion for a complete menu featuring that recipe, which certainly helps with meal planning. In addition, the recipes are healthful ones and can all be prepared in a short time, making it convenient when the cook has a day job and doesn't want to spend all evening in the kitchen. My son and daughter-in-law both love the book and are enjoying trying out new recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Cooking Light

    I bought this cookbook for my boss as his secret Sanot gift. He loved it
    and has alreay used it. the cookbook is filled with everyday dinner receipes that are easy and quick to make. This book makes a great gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Very impressed with this cookbook

    Normally I don't write reviews on material unless it's very very good or very very bad. This cookbook falls into the very very good category.

    I was first taken back with the presentation of the material, very well done. Then it offers menus for each dish, no more throw together meals and they are nutritionally sound, well balanced and highly nutrient based, which I love. The recipes I've encountered have been high in fiber, I would like to see more working with whole grains to meet the servings per day of whole grains, but that's okay with the introduction of Whole Grains Everyday Every Way. Then you can build a well round meal plan for your family or give it to people who are interested in weight management that's healthful.

    Of the recipes my family and I have tried, there has been no complaints. Which is truly amazing, especially with introduction of some new foods that they may not be familiar with.

    I would actually recommend this cookbook to people, it's well laid out, easy to understand, uses regular ingredients, tastes good and is nutritionally sound.

    Well Done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1