Customer Reviews for

Martha Stewart's Cooking School: Lessons and Recipes for the Home Cook

Average Rating 3.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Indispensable for Beginners through Mid-Level Cooks

Martha Stewart's Cooking School: Lessons and Recipes for the Home Cook is an indispensable cooking guide for beginners through mid-level cooks. By mid-level, I am referring to anyone who cooks but is not adept at the various cooking techniques or one with a firm underst...
Martha Stewart's Cooking School: Lessons and Recipes for the Home Cook is an indispensable cooking guide for beginners through mid-level cooks. By mid-level, I am referring to anyone who cooks but is not adept at the various cooking techniques or one with a firm understanding of how and what tools to use in the kitchen.

As a former caterer and chef, I see that many people lack basic cooking skills. This book does a fantastic job of teaching the skill--Stewart provides clear instructions and the accompanying photographs makes the job of learning how to cook seem simple. (And cooking is fairly simple...you just need to practice--and get good guidance!)

The book is stunning in its layout and with impeccable photography throughout. The photographs alone would entice even the most reluctant beginner to jump in and learn to cook!

Cooking School begins with the basics--what cooking supplies to stock in your kitchen. Stewart believes in keeping things simple and she lists the basic equipment to do the job. Also included are knife sharpening tips and much more. Here again, the photos assist in the show and tell method of this book.

The remainder of the book is divided as follows:

* Stocks and dips
* Eggs
* Meat, fish and poultry
* Vegetables
* Pasta
* Dried beans and grains
* Desserts

Each section provides cooking techniques and recipes, many of which are classics.

This is a wonderful book to buy yourself or anyone who wants to learn to cook--or to cook better. I bought a copy for my niece as a housewarming present!

By the author of the award winning book, HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT: BEAUTIFY, DETOXIFY & ENERGIZE YOUR LIFE, YOUR HOME & YOUR PLANET.

posted by NormaHartie on October 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Physically disappointing

In browsing for a gift, I objected to this heavy book not lying flat when opened (to anywhere)and that the pages seemed weakly attached to the spine and would fall out before long with book's use. Too bad, as content appeared very good.

posted by BarbaraIndiana on December 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Indispensable for Beginners through Mid-Level Cooks

    Martha Stewart's Cooking School: Lessons and Recipes for the Home Cook is an indispensable cooking guide for beginners through mid-level cooks. By mid-level, I am referring to anyone who cooks but is not adept at the various cooking techniques or one with a firm understanding of how and what tools to use in the kitchen.<BR/><BR/>As a former caterer and chef, I see that many people lack basic cooking skills. This book does a fantastic job of teaching the skill--Stewart provides clear instructions and the accompanying photographs makes the job of learning how to cook seem simple. (And cooking is fairly simple...you just need to practice--and get good guidance!)<BR/><BR/>The book is stunning in its layout and with impeccable photography throughout. The photographs alone would entice even the most reluctant beginner to jump in and learn to cook!<BR/><BR/>Cooking School begins with the basics--what cooking supplies to stock in your kitchen. Stewart believes in keeping things simple and she lists the basic equipment to do the job. Also included are knife sharpening tips and much more. Here again, the photos assist in the show and tell method of this book.<BR/><BR/>The remainder of the book is divided as follows:<BR/><BR/>* Stocks and dips<BR/>* Eggs<BR/>* Meat, fish and poultry<BR/>* Vegetables<BR/>* Pasta<BR/>* Dried beans and grains<BR/>* Desserts<BR/><BR/>Each section provides cooking techniques and recipes, many of which are classics.<BR/><BR/>This is a wonderful book to buy yourself or anyone who wants to learn to cook--or to cook better. I bought a copy for my niece as a housewarming present!<BR/><BR/>By the author of the award winning book, HARMONIOUS ENVIRONMENT: BEAUTIFY, DETOXIFY & ENERGIZE YOUR LIFE, YOUR HOME & YOUR PLANET.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    It's Martha Stewart!

    I've been cooking for 20 years and I still learned a great deal from this book! Very detailed and pictures to help demostrate. I am pretty much a self-taught cook and I am ashamed to say that I didn't know a lot of names and uses for most of the cooking tools. I recommend this book to anyone starting out and anyone that wants to expand thier basic knowledge of cooking.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    BEGINNER FRIENDLY!

    When I was growing up my mom never let us cook so I really never learned how to do the basic things. This book is the perfect cookbook to teach yourself the basic cooking skills if you were never taught. It is also the greatest practical book for everyday cooking. I really love this book and think everyone should have it. Even the seasoned cook!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Great resource for making your life easier with practical, knowledgeable approaches to everyday cooking techniques and information.

    I would definitely recommend this book to novices and experienced people alike. I love to cook, and have found this very informative and useful. It is almost overwhelming to read through and generally use it like a reference when I need it. This could be the bible for the kitchen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Physically disappointing

    In browsing for a gift, I objected to this heavy book not lying flat when opened (to anywhere)and that the pages seemed weakly attached to the spine and would fall out before long with book's use. Too bad, as content appeared very good.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Good for Beginers and experts

    This has the basics that every cook needs to know. The directions are clear, concise, and work. The photos are excellent and it is a great book for a reference when you need that last bit of help. Thought I consider myself a good cook and have been cooking for at least 65 years, I found this book a help and my daughter also was impressed by it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Excellent reference book

    This is a HEAVY book...would have been easier to use if it were spiral bound to lay flat. It is a well organized and useful book that outlines the how-to of various cooking techniques. I like the definitions of products, such as, the many kinds of rice and grains, and how best to use them. I have made the braised Red Cabbage and Aples, and the Egg Fritata...both dishes turned out well. I plan to use this book often and would highly recommend it for tne novice cook. The illustraions are great and Martha's TV show with the same name is pleasant to watch; she is focused, and gives a calm presentation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Great cookbook...crummy binding

    I splurged to treat myself to this nice cookbook. I've been reading through for the great recipes and cooking techniques. I tried one recipe with good success and am anxious to try more. Although I am enjoying this cookbook... I'm sorry to say the binding is not good. Although I haven't even gotten through the book once and have yet to take it in the kitchen, the binding is already broken and it's only a matter of time before the pages start falling out. I guess I'll keep it, but I'm terribly disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I love it!

    This is a terrific resource if you love to cook or want to become better at it. This book teaches you everything you might want to learn (i.e, how to spatchcock a chicken or debone a fish...both of which I had no idea of how to accomplish.) My husband trimmed a beautiful filet of beef while consulting the pictures. So far, each recipe I've tried has been delicious. That said, this book is perfect for those who ENJOY food and being in the kitchen. It might be a little overwhelming for someone who just wants to cook as quickly as possible and be done with it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Martha Stewarts Cooking School

    Book is very good for new cooks and some that need additional information but is extremely overprices. Also would like to see in soft back cover. Book is so large and heavy is hard to use in kitchen when attempting to follow instuctions.

    I gave it as a gift to a person who is just now learning how to cook and she is really happy with it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2009

    this book really teaches you how to cook delicious meals...

    most of the stuff that i have cooked in the past was inedible...even my pitbull wouldn't eat it....and there's nothing worse than spending all of your time (and money) preparing and cleaning up after a bad meal. but thus far, i am 3 for 3 with this book....so as far as i am concerned, this book is fabulous.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Martha is glossy

    Well presented. Has fewer recipes than anticipated.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended for new and seasoned cooks

    At your fingertips advice, complete with pictures.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    I will treasure this book of great tastes and good home cooking.

    I will treasure this book of great tastes and good home cooking.  I watched Martha teach basic cooking skills and instructions for healthy great tasting foods on television.  I just had to add this book to my collection and try her methods in my kitchen.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    M.S.

    I got this book as a present, but for my eleven year old girl who likes to cook, it is a little hard to understand. The tips are really great. Eat, drink, and be merry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2012

    Highly recommend for those who love to cook!

    Gave this book to my son for Christmas, and he was so happy to get it. He started reading and using immediately. He has already learned great tips and used them, and shared them with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Beautifully illustrated

    Cookbook was exactly as expected. Good detail and numerous photos to illustrate techniques. A very good book to walk you through basics and for reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    Modernized cooking classics

    Extremely detailed information on modernized cooking classics. I highly recommend this for beginning and intermediate cooks, and it would be useful as a reference for advanced cooks. It is a bit expensive but I feel it is worth the investment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4