Customer Reviews for

Cooking Thin with Chef Kathleen: 200 Easy Recipes for Healthy Weight Loss

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Great Book

    I have over 100 cookbooks and this one is great! Good tasting food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    Cooking Thin with Chef Kathleen: 200 Easy Recipes for Healthy Weight Loss

    I absolutely love this book! The intro section is very motivating, with some info about Kathleen and how she embarked on her journey to healthier eating, and a lot of tips on how to improve your eating habits - written with a great sense of humor and unfailing knowledge of our little weaknesses...her credo is 'moderate, don't eliminate'. The recipes are great, great, great. Some very simple and fast, others require a few more ingredients, but there are enough things that can be prepared even by people who say they cannot cook. The flavors are exceptional! There is extra information for almost each recipe if it takes extra time, or prep work, or if you can trick your way around it and use a shortcut and save even more time. There is no nutritional information, which is a setback for some folks, but there are many calorie counters out there, online or book format, and it would be a pity to let that be the only reason to not purchase this book. Generally, the portion sizes are very sensible, and there are plenty of low-cal fillers (aka salads or veggies) in here for those times when we just have to eat a lot of something. These are not 'diet' recipes; true - some are slimmed-down, but there are soups, salads, sauces, pasta, desserts, even burgers. These are rather recipes that one can live with and enjoy very much for years to come. I definitely hope that Kathleen publishes another book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2003

    Cooking Thin with Chef Kathleen: 200 Easy Recipes for Healthy Weight Loss

    This is a very entertaining cookbook. Starting with some info on Kathleen's background and how she got started on 'cooking thin' - that section is very motivating and sincere. I didn't buy the book because I wanted to lose weight, but because I needed ideas for healthy fare. Her reasoning for eating better appealed to me anyway. (Beware - she gets you to eat more veggies!) The recipes are very, very good, simply put. I see that some people rated the fact that there were no calories listed as very negative, but I truly believe that whoever doesn't buy the book because of that will miss out BIG time. There are a lot of calorie counters available, in print and online. There is a strong focus on flavor - make it delicious instead of just make it low-fat. I don't want to give away too much, so let's just say: a certain sauce is absolutely to-die-for, the veggie sides are often a new spin on something you may have eaten a thousand times, and never cared for. Kathleen makes it shine!! She doesn't forget the desserts, either. I'm a junkie for sweet things, but they have to be good, and she tries to tell the reader: make it as good as you can. Don't waste your time, money and calories on bad or mediocre food. With all that, the recipes are far from intimidating. I'd say that even a beginner could easily prepare some meals or sides. That's the beauty of good cooking: it doesn't have to be complicated. Some of the best things in the world are actually very simple, and that astonishing fact is conveyed very well in these pages. Plus, tips on how to use leftovers and a column called 'shortcut chef' that lists tips and tricks on how to make things even faster. I would definitely buy this again, and have given it as a gift, too. I hope that another book by Kathleen will be out soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    Cooking Thin with Chef Kathleen: 200 Easy Recipes for Healthy Weight Loss

    Chef Kathleen should have included nutrition facts with her recipes. How can a person trying to lose weight include these recipes in their everyday diet without knowing the calories or fat information? I feel as if I wasted my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    Cooking Thin with Chef Kathleen: 200 Easy Recipes for Healthy Weight Loss

    I am trying to lose weight, and these recipes are not helpful without nutritional information. Other low-fat cookbooks I have purchased always come with nutrition facts. Many times even magazines featuring recipes offer nutrition facts. This book is not very realistic for those trying to lose weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    Worth Every Penny!

    Luckily, my local bookstore has an area for cooking demonstrations and I was able to see Kathleen do a cooking demo, in conjunction with her book signing. My sister and I both purchased the book and have tried a few of her recipes, all great so far. They are simple and easy to prepare, lots of flavor without all the fat, and the "guyometer" comes in handy when I'm looking for something my husband would like. She explained at the demo that the reason her book doesn't have any pictures is because the publisher deemed them "to expensive." If you're looking for a book that will inspire you to make better food choices, written by someone who has been there, this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    fantastic

    I absolutley loved this book! Kathleens recipes are easy to fix and she makes cooking fun and enjoyable, and the book is hilarious. The 'quick and spicy carrot salad' is one of my favorites, I've probably made it 100 times since I bought the book. Kathleen rocks! I never miss her show on Food Network. I can't wait for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2003

    Borrow it!

    I was looking forward to good recipes and suggestions. The recipes are okay, but many of them made too many servings. It would be better if you knew the nutrional information. Without this information, you cannot easily integrate these recipes into a weight loss program. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    Buy it Used

    I have to give her credit for the story and guildlines that are writen into this book. If you are looking for the nutritional content of the receipts, they are non-exsistant, so following her guidelines of counting calories is extremely difficult. I don't know about you, but I do not have the knowledge nor the time to figure out how to calculate the nutritional values of a receipt built from scratch. My suggestion, buy another book that actually gives the nutritional run-downs. I have returned the book for this very reason!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2003

    Don't waste your money!

    Every cookbook needs photos of at least some of the recipes; not one in this book. Even those wishing to lose a few pounds, need the nutritional information for recipes; none in this book. Reads like a textbook; nothing but words. And what's up with the "Guyometer" and "If the queen's coming for dinner?" As if? Boring, boring, boring. Kathleen has a great show, but I'm sorry I invested cash in her book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1