Customer Reviews for

Cook's Illustrated

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

So much better than expected.

All of the reviews previous to this must have been for an older version. I was very reticent to try the digital version of this magazine, despite the fact that I love the publication in print, due to the extremely terrible reviews that I had been seeing for the digital...
All of the reviews previous to this must have been for an older version. I was very reticent to try the digital version of this magazine, despite the fact that I love the publication in print, due to the extremely terrible reviews that I had been seeing for the digital version. However, fear not for the digital version is just as wonderful as the print version. This is definitely one of the best publications I have ever read.

posted by 2090338 on January 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I'm a print subscriber, why do I have to pay?

I already subscribe to Cooks Illustrated. Why can't they do what Bon Appetit, Health, and countless other magazines do and give me my Nook subscription free? Why do I have to pay twice? Mind you, I LOVE this magazine, but I won't pay to receive it on my Nook. It's outra...
I already subscribe to Cooks Illustrated. Why can't they do what Bon Appetit, Health, and countless other magazines do and give me my Nook subscription free? Why do I have to pay twice? Mind you, I LOVE this magazine, but I won't pay to receive it on my Nook. It's outrageous!

posted by Ro-H on February 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    So much better than expected.

    All of the reviews previous to this must have been for an older version. I was very reticent to try the digital version of this magazine, despite the fact that I love the publication in print, due to the extremely terrible reviews that I had been seeing for the digital version. However, fear not for the digital version is just as wonderful as the print version. This is definitely one of the best publications I have ever read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Misleading Price.

    This is a bi-monthly magazine, and the cost seems to be $1.99, every other month, when you subscribe. They actually charge $1.99 EVERY month. The online subscription to their site is a much better value overall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Not so great on Nook Simple Touch

    I was happy to see that this magazine was available for the Nook Simple Touch, but I ran into one seemingly insurmountable problem: Some of the amounts listed in the recipes display as a question mark on the Simple Touch. For instance, it will say to use "? butter," or "? sugar." Since the Cook's Illustrated website is subscription only, there seems to be no recourse for finding the recipes other than picking up the actual magazine, which defeats the purpose of the electronic copy. This is otherwise a terrific cooking magazine, but be wary if your Nook is of the e-ink variety.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Cook's Illustrated

    The best cook's magazine I've ever read! Can't wait for the next issue! Loved the notes and tips section! Wish I could get it on my Nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    I agree with the review saying we shouldn't have to pay for Nook

    I agree with the review saying we shouldn't have to pay for Nook subscription if we're magazine subscribers. Also, the Cook's website shouldn't charge its magazine subscribers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Wonderful!

    This is my favorite magazine! And, in Nook form, it takes up no counter space--except when I set up my Nook so I can follow a recipe. No advertisements, no gimmicks. Beautiful covers! Thanks!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Always Superb

    This magazine always has an abundance of accurate and in depth information on food, recipes, and kitchen tools and tips. The scientific and analytic approach to recipes helps me really learn about cooking and the process involved in the journey to a good recipe. I highly recommend this magazine to beginners and established cooks. The wealth of useful kitchen knowledge obtainable in Cook's Illustrated can help familiarize anyone with a variety of techniques and wonderful meals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    ingredient measurements not available

    ingredient measurements sometimes are just a question mark

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    ANOTHER GOOD MAGAZINE BY COOKS..

    GREAT MAGAZINE WITH A GREAT VARIETY OF GREAT RECIPES. BEST THING IS IF YOU FOLLOW THE RECIPE EXACTLY YOU GET THE RESULTS THEY GET.......GOOD FOOD... I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Great Magazine, in print...

    Really hate how this opens on my nook, just doesn't flow well, I'm often unable to open an entire recipe on one page and can only read the font if it's opened in "article view" (otherwise it opens fuzzy, no matter the font size). Going back to the print edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    America's test kitchen

    Didn't read yet but, ive watched the show and the show is really good!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No Color

    I do not have a Nook Color to view and Black & White magazine.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    wish illustrations were color

    great content just disappointed pics are b&w

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4