BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Coolidge

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

What kind of an idiot gives a book one star because it didn't ar

What kind of an idiot gives a book one star because it didn't arrive same day?! You review the BOOK not BARNES and NOBLE! That being said, I had to review because it is a shame to see such an outstanding book with one star. This book is amazing, thought provoking, well...
What kind of an idiot gives a book one star because it didn't arrive same day?! You review the BOOK not BARNES and NOBLE! That being said, I had to review because it is a shame to see such an outstanding book with one star. This book is amazing, thought provoking, well-written and well researched. Amity Shlaes has proven herself an amazing author who knows her stuff. I personally, cannot say enough good about this book.

posted by 3463124 on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Objective?

The book could have been more objective and not raised the issue of how she saw Mr. Coolidge. Disappointment.

posted by 16872529 on February 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    What kind of an idiot gives a book one star because it didn't ar

    What kind of an idiot gives a book one star because it didn't arrive same day?! You review the BOOK not BARNES and NOBLE! That being said, I had to review because it is a shame to see such an outstanding book with one star. This book is amazing, thought provoking, well-written and well researched. Amity Shlaes has proven herself an amazing author who knows her stuff. I personally, cannot say enough good about this book.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Received the book yesterday. Loving it. May finish this weekend

    Received the book yesterday. Loving it. May finish this weekend or early next week. So many solutions to modern problems in this thing.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    The current administration should read this book.

    The current administration should read this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Awesome

    AWESOME!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Timely book that that dispells some myths about Coolidge and his

    Timely book that that dispells some myths about Coolidge and his life. I enjoyed it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    This book is very well written. One thing I like a lot is you ge

    This book is very well written. One thing I like a lot is you get more than just the run of the mill autobiography you also get tidbits that give you a deeper glimpse in  into the psyche of Calving Coolidge.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    It's not enough that Amity Shales jackhammers and re-welds the s

    It's not enough that Amity Shales jackhammers and re-welds the story of infamous ne'er-do-well Calvin Coolidge into something that non-too-subtly parallels our current political situation. She goes one further and re-casts Silent Cal as a hero. This is sloppy hackwork that serves no purpose other than shilling for the disgraced Rockefeller/Bush/Romney wing of the GOP by thinly-veiled proxy. It veers off into screeds of no historical veracity or even textual bearing. Coolidge may have been of personable disposition and easy-going temperament. He might have even possessed a wickedly sharp sense of humor. It matters not. He garnered renown as a failure for a reason. Ms. Shales wants you to ignore that. Much like Dubya's petty self-justification in 'Decision Points' or Obama's narcissistic blame projection in his every speech or press conference, Ms. Shales' insipid arguments have no effect on a public desensitized to the crass shuck-and-jive of an aloof spin peddler.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    The unforgotten President should be remembered.

    While reading the book, I was amazed how the early 1900's paralleled with the situation of the 2000's. Seems like the same problems that are facing our nation now is what Coolidge encountered while he occupied the white house (high unemployment, union strikes, high taxes,etc.). But Coolidge handled the economy problems exactly opposite as is being done today. And, the result was a revived economy. I can easily see why President Reagan followed Coolidge's example to fix the economy when he was president. Thanks (or, no thanks) to the policies of President Hoover and later President Roosevelt, everything that Coolidge accomplished for the country was reversed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    Highly recomended

    This biography of Coolidge is very well written and very insightful.
    To bad he did not have a second term.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Objective?

    The book could have been more objective and not raised the issue of how she saw Mr. Coolidge. Disappointment.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    DO NOT TRUST SAME DAY DELIVERY IN MANHATTAN

    DO NOT TRUST SAME DAY DELIVERY IN MANHATTAN

    2 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Excellent

    Once again she's quietly given us a stunner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Sure cure for insomnia

    I found "Coolidge" to be extremely difficult to read and often found myself dozing off after 1 or 2 pages. Probably why it took a couple of months to finish! It seemed the author would start a line of thought then veer off in a direction that made you wonder about the relevance. I frequently thought to myself " Where is she going with this?" or "What does this have to do with [the current thought]?)
    That said, the book is extremely well researched and gives great insight into one of our lesser known presidents. His honesty, integrity, and faithfulness to his principles were/are very refreshing. One can only wonder where we'd be today if he'd run for another term and Hoover and F.D.R. had come along at a different time...or not at all! I ended up really liking Coolidge and hope/wish someone like him would run today!
    I was surprised that more emphasis wasn't placed on the era of his presidency. I have to believe that "the roaring 20's", prohibition, the rise of organized crime, etc. hed to have an influence in the governance of our country!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2