Customer Reviews for

Coop: A Year of Poultry, Pigs, and Parenting

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A very witty book. Well written. A five star book.

    A very witty book. Well written. A five star book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Love!

    I too from Wisconsin can relate to his dry midwestern wit. This book is akin to a neighborly chat over the fench. His wrighting is magical. Enjoy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Comfort Reading

    After years of doing other jobs and living other places, Michael Perry knows just where he wants to be. At thirty-nine, after jobs in EMT and on the road as an author, he came home to his roots. He met Anneliese, a local college teacher, at a book signing. They got married and with her three year old daughter, started life as a family. Together they agreed that what they wanted was a return to the simple farming life they had known as children. They bought a small farm in Wisconsin near his family. Michael supports them as an author while Annaliese home-schools Amy. As the book starts, they are expecting their first child.

    Michael explores his childhood years. He grew up in a fundamenalist religion, in a family with eight birth children and a large group of foster siblings, some of whom were adopted. As best as anyone remembers, the family fostered sixty or more children, many of them disabled in varying degrees. His father had been a chemical engineer and his mother a nurse before they decided to farm. Michael grew up in poverty but surrounded by love and great life lessons.

    Now Michael and Anneliese attempt to recreate this loving atmosphere for the family they are building. The reader learns about the livestock they are raising, how they parent their child, the daily chores that consume their days, and about the baby they are expecting. Anneliese decides on a home birth, and while Michael agrees, it makes him nervous.

    This is such a soothing, gentle, wonderful book. It is like having an old friend stop by and sit on the front porch with you, rocking and telling stories. Perry does a great job of recreating his life as a new farm owner, and even for those readers who are adament city-dwellers, there is a hint of longing for his life. Readers can hear Michael talk about his new book.

    Michael Perry will be on Blog Talk Radio with Book Club Girl on Monday, June 7th at 7pm EST at http://www.blogtalkradio.coom/book-club-firl/2010/06/07/michael-perry-discusses-coop This book is recommended for readers who need a break from the pressures of everyday life. It is a true gem. I loved it so much that I went out that day and ordered his first book, Truck, where he talks about his life before the farm.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    so so

    slow moving read but interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Modern small farm life

    Michael Perry has a light and refreshing view on the little things in life that make it worth living and has a nice sense of humor about it. I found this book by accident and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This Farm Girl Loved It!

    I've always been grateful for the life lessons learned on the farm. There's nothing like the salt-of-the-earth, old-time farmer like Michael Perry's dad and his generation. This brought back so many memories and is an enlightening tale for city-borns to understand how simple yet complicated rural life can be.

    The tender moments and love of wife and family are incredibly beautiful and the funny moments are hilarious. Michael Perry's writing style is so conversational and you sometimes feel like you're sitting in the kitchen with him as he recounts his stories.

    Although I've been a city dweller for over 35 years, I'm still a farm girl at heart. If I close my eyes I can still hear the clank of the pig feeders in the dark of night. Every spring I need to dig in the dirt a little to plant flowers. I can't drive through the countryside without evaluating the crops, and I worry about the safety of farmers during the fall harvest.

    Farmers are the biggest risk-takers in the world. They invest in seed, fertilizer, equipment and fuel to plant a crop; not knowing if there will be enough rain or too much rain, enough heat or not enough heat, hail, wind, insects or anything that will affect their yield. They don't know if the growing season will be long enough for their crop to reach maturity, if the autumn weather will cooperate for harvest, or if there will be a reasonable market price to sell their bounty to make a profit. This cycle repeats itself every year, and most of the country has no appreciation for their labor.

    I've heard that Michael Perry's other books are equally entertaining and I anticipate reading them!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Great prose

    The introdution alone is one of the best peices of prose I have read in a long long time. Story is witty, enjoyable and enduring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Looking for an awesome read? Coop is the book for you!

    What a fabulous book! I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for an awesome summer read. I am a teacher and always save a special book to be my "first of the summer". This year Coop was that book and I am so glad it was! Michael Perry is an incredible writer who will appeal to both male and female readers. He writes about his personal experiences with the humor of the boy next door and language as beautiful as your favorite poet. You will laugh out loud and you will cry--there is something for everyone. You will be disappointed when you get to the last page--you will wish it would never end. I can't wait until Perry's next book comes out. If you have read Michael Perry's other books, you will not be disappointed--this book is even better than his others. If you have not read any of his books, congratulations--you will have something to do while you patiently wait for his next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2