Customer Reviews for

Copper Beach

Average Rating 4
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Enthralling New Read From Jayne Ann Krentz

From intriguing characters with a little extra, to a new puzzle to solve, Ms. Krentz delivers another wonderful story that envelopes you. For the first time in many novels, the Arcane Society is nowhere to be seen but we meet a new family with secrets to keep. The Coppe...
From intriguing characters with a little extra, to a new puzzle to solve, Ms. Krentz delivers another wonderful story that envelopes you. For the first time in many novels, the Arcane Society is nowhere to be seen but we meet a new family with secrets to keep. The Coppersmiths, I hope will be around for 'books' to come. I can see so many interesting possibilites, I can hardly wait for my next visit through Ms. Krentz's world.

posted by Alwzreading on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I always enjoy Ms. Krentz’s books, and this was no excepti

I always enjoy Ms. Krentz’s books, and this was no exception. She writes with style and panache, creating delectable candy books that I love to devour.

Copper Beach was a good opening effort to a new series; however I do feel that much of the creative force in th...
I always enjoy Ms. Krentz’s books, and this was no exception. She writes with style and panache, creating delectable candy books that I love to devour.

Copper Beach was a good opening effort to a new series; however I do feel that much of the creative force in this book was spent on set-up for future installments and not particularly on the story within it. The characterization in a lot of places seemed a bit rushed, and some of the secondary characters felt a little like space-holders, awaiting future books to actually mean anything. The plot also felt the pinch of a new series start-up, spending lots of time cementing elements for future use and wrapping up this story with a hat-trick. I feel that this series has lots of room to grow, and I will enjoy taking the journey with these characters and exploring the world that is being created, but there is still a ways to go before we get to that complete world or fleshed-out series.

This is the first book from Ms. Krentz in quite some time that has not been a part of her Arcane Society series. While I happened to thoroughly enjoy the Arcane series I do understand the need to do different things and that all of Ms. Krentz’s fans might not want to only read in that universe. That said, as far as I can see the biggest difference so far in her Dark Legacy series vs. the Arcane is the history and known secondary characters. We are still immersed in the world of the paranormal, but this time we’re working without a net.

Abby Radwell was an interesting character, and I happen to adore the concept of her being able to “unlock” psychic code in books. Her history was richly woven even if she bore a lot of the brunt of working without a net when it came to dealing with the peculiarly of her paranormal gifts. With that in mind I found it a bit difficult to embrace her easy acceptance of our hero Sam Coppersmith. With Sam we have a different story. The rare earths and ability to psychically interact with crystals I had zero problem with, I also dig his near-genius talents in designing and creating mechanical mechanisms based on that crystal ability. Sam turned out to be the well-rounded character in this book for me, even if much of his past and endeavors remain hidden.

posted by Masquerader888 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Contemporary paranormal/adventure romance. Dangerous adversarie

    Contemporary paranormal/adventure romance.
    Dangerous adversaries are seeking the secret of powerful crystals discovered years earlier. Abby is the only one who can decode the psychically encrypted lab book that describes how to unleash their power. Sam Coppersmith comes to her aid to protect her from would-be kidnappers and murderers. Typical Krentz, with enough twists to keep it from being too predictable. Enjoyable light read. As always, the interactions between the two leads is great. Spicy romance, but nothing over the top. Love the suspense. I'll be sure to buy the next books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    Recommended for any Krentz reader

    Enjoyed another very good story by Jayne!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    You can't go wrong with Jayne Ann books. Good read. Interesti

    You can't go wrong with Jayne Ann books. Good read. Interesting story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Copper Beaxh

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    What a great book! I enjoyed this as much as any of Ms. Krentz'

    What a great book! I enjoyed this as much as any of Ms. Krentz' books! Ties into the Arcane Society as well as her Harmony Series.

    Abby and Sam were wonderful leading characters. Abby is a sweet and strong woman in spite of her family. And Sam is a great member of a great family. Great story, a great who done it, and I can't wait for the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    as always!!!!!!!!!

    Just love reading all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Check it out !

    Good read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    classic JAK

    This story is a contempory paranormal.I enjoyed this book tremendously even though it wasn't JAK's strongest offering. I love her underlying theme of absolute trust, loyalty, and confidence in the person you love. I have been reading JAK books for years and always look forward to the next book. JAK has given me hours of reading pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    paranormal romance filled with mystery and suspense

    Cooper Beach is a spin-off series of the Arcane Society series, that introduces a new family; the Coppersmiths. This is a contemporary paranormal romance filled with mystery and suspense. This is book one of the Dark Legacy series (or trilogy), I devoured it in one evening and loved it. The heroine is Abby Radwell. She uses her psychic talent to unlock rare books locked by a paranormal talent. When she is attacked in the home of a collector, she uses her ability to disabled the armed man. Shortly after, she begins receiving blackmail threats. Concerned about her troubled past, and protecting her secret, she hires Sam Coopersmith. Sam believes that someone wants Abby for her special skills. An old alchemical text is rumored to have surfaced known as The Key. He believes they want Ruby to unlock the secrets of this dangerous book. The book is linked to the Coppersmith family and they believed it had been destroyed. Determined to keep the book out of dangerous hands, Sam agrees to protect Abby and find the book. What he finds with Abby is a whole lot more than he bargained for. This novel was fast paced and the paranormal woo-woo was fascinating. Krentz spins a mystery chocked full of suspense, and danger that completely captured my attention. She has this incredible gift for weaving wonderful characters, paranormal elements and mystery into an intoxicated blend that I cannot seem to get enough of. The Coppersmith's are an exciting family, who made their fortune in special minerals. Forty-years ago, one of the mines revealed a cave of unusual crystals that had paranormal elements. When they realized the crystals could be dangerous, they sealed the cave, but not before they were all exposed. As a result Sam and his siblings all are high level talents and I am looking forward to reading more of their story. The romance between Abby and Sam was intense, sweet, and spicy. Both of the main characters are loveable. Abby has had a rough upbringing and is very independent. Sam is noble and a man of his word. He holds himself accountable, even when he isn't to blame. I became completely wrapped up in the story as they worked together to keep her out of danger as they search for, The Key.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Nice weekend read

    Just what the doctor ordered to escape a dreary winter weekend. Good read and some engaging characters and some engaging interactions between characters.

    I wasn't sure how I felt about no mention of Arcane. On one hand that might have limited the story, but on the other, it is a Krentz supernatural book!

    I look forward to more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    A good book.

    A good book. Similar to her more recent ones, but still a good book. Looking forward to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2