BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Copper Sun

Average Rating 5
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

LOVE THiS!!

When I 1st got CopperSun it really didnt interest me...but when i got into the 3rd chapter I couldn't put it down! You must read it!! Oh and might I add I'm 12...and Im not the kind of girl who likes to read about scared little bratty kids..that's just LAME!! Sharon M. ...
When I 1st got CopperSun it really didnt interest me...but when i got into the 3rd chapter I couldn't put it down! You must read it!! Oh and might I add I'm 12...and Im not the kind of girl who likes to read about scared little bratty kids..that's just LAME!! Sharon M. Draper makes books that are REAL! And that's what engulf's readers like me..Thank You.

posted by 953063 on September 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

BOGUS

Horrible waste of time. So damn useless...

posted by TeenBookLoVER on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Coppersun Book Review

    This book was full of surprising events. It was definately a page turner. From the very first page this book had you asking questions. It was a fast read. Amari, the main character, had to battle, and survive many obstacles that came into her pathway. Throughout book, the author shows you through the obstacles that Amari faced, that she was indeed, a very strong person. She didn't become strong overnight. It took her a while to get a grasp on things. But, through it all, she learned to have faith, be strong, and never give up no matter what. Although this book, left me at a clift. It was stil very amazing. If i could change any thing about this book it would be to continue on the story about what happens at the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Copper Sun

    My name is the same

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Loved it

    Thid book was amazing the author really knows how to keep you on your toes. Throughout all Amaris heartships you still get a sense of hope rooting for her until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    Slightly Inappropriate

    I really enjoyed this book. It was very fast-paced. There were parts I found inappropriate to be in a children's book, but besides that it was good. The story line hardly ever had a "slow" part. Sometimes this made the plot line a bit unbelieveable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    Copper Sun

    Amari is a fifteen year old girl whose life is changed when strangers come into her African village. In an instance, her family and village is destroyed and she is taken on a slave ship. Amari witnesses terrible and unforgettable things, like being sold to a plantation owner and give as a gift to the owner's sixteen year old son. While at the plantation, Amari tries to remember what life she used to have and she ends up finding an unexpected friendship along the way. All Amari wants is freedom and she does not intend to stop trying until she has been let free.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Copper sun

    this book, in my opinion was kind of inspiring. i really liked the wording that the author used. it helped me picture was was going on in the book easily, and i hardly ever had to re-read anything, due to confusion. i highly recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    pretty darn good

    I was looking for a good book to read for over the summer and i seriously consider that you read this book. I personally love historical fiction and this was right down my ally. I would say that this is one of my favorite books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Great inspiration piece

    This book lets you know that hope should be ever present. Having hope can save your life on days when you can not see your bright future. Then as if by a chain of unfortunate events you meet some one who can see your true potential and pushes you towards it. This book is a prime example that after you over come a great trial everyone finds their own 'Copper Sun'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Great book =D

    Well, I was requiered to read this book for my language arts class. I not particularly fond of the time period in which Copper Sun was set in, but this novel surprised me. Though at first glance it didn't catch my eye, I loved this book. When reading from innocent Amri's piont of veiw, you instantly fall in the love with her as a character. This novel also changed my perspective in slavery. When you read this novel, you will get to really know what those poor people went through and why they fought so hard to get a better life. This was the best slavery related book I've ever read and highly recomend it. Details were amazing and I really think students learning about this partcular time period should read Copper Sun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Have you ever wondered what its like to be a slave? Have you ever wondered what they went through? Well fifteen- year-old Amari lived through it all. In the beginning Amari and her brother were in a tree picking fruit, but when they went home their town was attacked. All her family and friends were dead, and she was taken and locked away. Looking at this book it looked like nothing I would ever read, but once I started reading it I couldn't put it down. I recommend this book to young adults and teens because most of us have learned or are learning about slavery, and I think this book is just a little to detailed for younger children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was really good. It was about a young slave lady who was taken from her village and sold as a slave. She meets a women named Afi. Amari, the main charcter is sold to a farm and is beaten. Then she runs away with a friend. I would recomend this book to any one who wants to learn about slavery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1