Customer Reviews for

Coraline

Average Rating 4.5
( 762 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(442)

4 Star

(215)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

69 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

A lovely book

This lovely book has been through check-in many times at the library, and every time,one of my coworkers--a real Neil Gaiman fan--would tell me to read it. I'm so glad I finally did.

Coraline and her family move to a new flat that is part of a larger house, which is ...
This lovely book has been through check-in many times at the library, and every time,one of my coworkers--a real Neil Gaiman fan--would tell me to read it. I'm so glad I finally did.

Coraline and her family move to a new flat that is part of a larger house, which is appropriately big and creepy. While exploring her new home, Coraline discovers a large door in the drawing room. Her mother unlocks it (with an appropriately large, old looking black key, of course) to reveal a brick wall. When Coraline opens the door by herself, though, the brick wall is gone! She goes through a strange corridor and finds a flat exactly like hers, complete with copies of her neighbors and her "other" parents--all with shiny black buttons for eyes (I still don't understand the buttons, but they are rather creepy). Soon, Coraline realizes that her other mother is up to no good.

One of the best things about Coraline is that it's funny. Coraline tells it like it is. My favorite deadpan of hers occurs in a conversation with her neighbors, the delightfully named Misses Spink and Forcible:

"How are your dear mother and father?" asked Miss Spink.

"Missing," said Coraline. "I haven't seen either of them since yesterday. I'm on my own. I think I've probably become a single child family."

Ha! That still gets me. I thoroughly enjoyed Coraline's talkative feline ally, as well.

In the end, though, Coraline is more than just scary and funny at twists and turns. The quote at the beginning of the book--

Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten. --G.K. Chesterton

--fits Coraline's story very well.

This book was written for children, but I believe that people of any age group can enjoy it. I know I did!

posted by bookduck on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Freaky

Coraline was one of those books you read where at first it seems like a perfectly normal book but as you read it if you are a true reader who likes to really think about the book it is a bit unsetttling. The book is ok in some ways but on the whole the book is a little ...
Coraline was one of those books you read where at first it seems like a perfectly normal book but as you read it if you are a true reader who likes to really think about the book it is a bit unsetttling. The book is ok in some ways but on the whole the book is a little freaky. If you like books that freak you out then this book is for you but if you are like most sane people steer clear of this book. But if you are one of those people who like that kind of thing read the book then watch the movie.

posted by Book_WormCA on May 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 763 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A lovely book

    This lovely book has been through check-in many times at the library, and every time,one of my coworkers--a real Neil Gaiman fan--would tell me to read it. I'm so glad I finally did.

    Coraline and her family move to a new flat that is part of a larger house, which is appropriately big and creepy. While exploring her new home, Coraline discovers a large door in the drawing room. Her mother unlocks it (with an appropriately large, old looking black key, of course) to reveal a brick wall. When Coraline opens the door by herself, though, the brick wall is gone! She goes through a strange corridor and finds a flat exactly like hers, complete with copies of her neighbors and her "other" parents--all with shiny black buttons for eyes (I still don't understand the buttons, but they are rather creepy). Soon, Coraline realizes that her other mother is up to no good.

    One of the best things about Coraline is that it's funny. Coraline tells it like it is. My favorite deadpan of hers occurs in a conversation with her neighbors, the delightfully named Misses Spink and Forcible:

    "How are your dear mother and father?" asked Miss Spink.

    "Missing," said Coraline. "I haven't seen either of them since yesterday. I'm on my own. I think I've probably become a single child family."

    Ha! That still gets me. I thoroughly enjoyed Coraline's talkative feline ally, as well.

    In the end, though, Coraline is more than just scary and funny at twists and turns. The quote at the beginning of the book--

    Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten. --G.K. Chesterton

    --fits Coraline's story very well.

    This book was written for children, but I believe that people of any age group can enjoy it. I know I did!

    69 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Quirky, a little bizarre, fascinating!

    This is an excellent book for younger but mature readers (4th through 7th grade), but it could be somewhat scary for anyone younger. It's fast paced, very Tim-Burtonish, a really quick read. I couldn't put it down!

    44 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Reccomended

    Coraline is probably the scariest, freakiest, most original book ever! This book is about a girl named Coraline who moves into a new house and discovers a door...

    My favorite part was when the hand was running around the house - that was scary!
    I recommend this book for ages 8 and up and for people who like scary stories and have some imagination :)

    Want to find out more about the book? Read it and you won't be sorry! :)

    34 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Coraline

    This book keeps u on the edge of ur seat!!! I love books like this, and im guessing its hard for u not to like books like this either! And once u have read the book, WATCH THE MOVIE!!!!!!! Its just as good as the book!

    21 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just relax and open a brand new world!!!

    Coraline is about a girl who finds another world. When she finds the other world she finds another mother and another father but just when she thinks this is great, a little problem comes along. My connection to this book is that Coraline has another mother and so do I. I recommend this book to people who like nerve raking stories. This is a fantastic book and I give it 4 thumbs up!!!

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Always loved this book.

    This is a great book! Great for all ages and it will capture your heart. (: i dont have to bring coraline in my bag no longer, i'll have my nook!! I Hope everyone enjoyed this as much as i. (':

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Really good

    This book is really great but the movie was super scary!!!!

    11 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    True hearted

    I have seen the movie and it was one of my top ten movies . When i found out there was a book i started freaking out and got my hands on it the first chance i got . Being 16 and reading the reviews , i was expecting a short easy read ... thats exactly what i got . But this easy read took me to another world and i found a few parts scary ( im not one for anything remotely scary) but all in all , i would highly recomend .

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Coraline

    Coraline sends chills down your spine with every word. From the "other" mother to the lost souls of stolen children, you might want to sleep with the lights on tonight.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Freaky

    Coraline was one of those books you read where at first it seems like a perfectly normal book but as you read it if you are a true reader who likes to really think about the book it is a bit unsetttling. The book is ok in some ways but on the whole the book is a little freaky. If you like books that freak you out then this book is for you but if you are like most sane people steer clear of this book. But if you are one of those people who like that kind of thing read the book then watch the movie.

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Captivatingly creepy

    Overall I really enjoyed the book. It was a very quick read and I did wish that it had another hundred pages to it where it could have gone into more depth about some of the trials Coraline faced, or perhaps introduce some new elements. It also felt like it took perhaps a little long to get started, but that back story really helped, so I probably wouldn't remove it except for the fact that younger readers might get bored before getting into the meat of the tale.

    My main curiosity is as to the target demographic. This definitely seemed a bit more scary than the Goosebumps books my son has been reading. I don't necessarily think it's too scary for him but I am still nervous about handing it to him to read on a school night (for fear of a nightmare filled sleepless night). It's definitely a dark read.

    Maybe I'm making kids out to be more wussy than they are but this seemed like too much for younger kids...and yet teenagers may be put off by how young the protagonist is and how simplistic the events are.

    This is a lot of fun and I can recommend it to older readers with a penchant for the creepy but am hesitant to recommend it to kids under ~10. I'm definitely interested to see how the movie plays out...from the previews I've seen, it looks more entertaining/whimsical than the book (the preview shows numerous "fun" elements that aren't in the book)...which means it might be more accessible to younger kids. If anybody's seen the movie, let me know what you think.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    This book is fun and not so light-hearted

    Coraline was an endearing childrens book with an edge. I absolutely loved it and highly recommend it.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Coraline

    Very well detailed. Its even better detailed than the movie! If you trying to decide between Coraline and another book, Pick this one! Be ready to take a ride in Coraline! Hope this review helped!!!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Find out more by going in the little door.....

    Coraline is a fabulous book because it has really interesting drawings. It also has terrific details. Coraline is about a girl that found a door and when she went inside it she went in to a world that looked exactly about the one she left. One thing was different everyone had button eyes and she had a so called "other mother and father." They did everything for her but are they really as nice as they seem? Read Coraline to find out. One of my favourite parts in this book was when Coraline was in the theatre because Miss Spink and forcible flew Coraline around in a trapeze. I would recommend book to anyone who likes a few thrills and a bit of mystery.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Fun

    Fun read, very whimsical, and had some nice passages.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    Daughter chose book to compare/contrast with the movie version...

    My daughter chose this book to read so that we could compare it to the movie version. It was just as creepy as the movie, but well written. It was fun to read this book together and discuss the differences and similarities.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    thrilling

    I thought that the book was very interseting and exciting. coraline is always having her name said wrong. Every time it is frustrating for her she hollors at them that there name is coraline not caraline. overall the book had things that should not have been in there. this is all my opinion so dont take it personal.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Great

    Wonderful but i do have to agree its a bit freaky.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    A Lively Journey to the Unknown

    Fantastic book if you do not mind the creepiest corners of the imagination. Coraline is a lesson in perseverance, imagination, and humor. The darkest parts of the story are creepy, if not terrifying, and make for a great and easy read. I would not recommend this for the younger reader who may struggle with the concepts of realism vs. magic. Definitely a great ghost story.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Coraline Review

    This is a chilling book but I love it. The movie was not very different and as soon as it came out, I bought it. My sister is afraid of this book and movie, but she has no imagination. I think the story is interesting and very unique. I like to write but I could never have made a story like this. Well done, I could give it ten stars!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 763 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39