Customer Reviews for

Coraline

Average Rating 4.5
( 762 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(442)

4 Star

(215)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

69 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

A lovely book

This lovely book has been through check-in many times at the library, and every time,one of my coworkers--a real Neil Gaiman fan--would tell me to read it. I'm so glad I finally did.

Coraline and her family move to a new flat that is part of a larger house, which is ...
This lovely book has been through check-in many times at the library, and every time,one of my coworkers--a real Neil Gaiman fan--would tell me to read it. I'm so glad I finally did.

Coraline and her family move to a new flat that is part of a larger house, which is appropriately big and creepy. While exploring her new home, Coraline discovers a large door in the drawing room. Her mother unlocks it (with an appropriately large, old looking black key, of course) to reveal a brick wall. When Coraline opens the door by herself, though, the brick wall is gone! She goes through a strange corridor and finds a flat exactly like hers, complete with copies of her neighbors and her "other" parents--all with shiny black buttons for eyes (I still don't understand the buttons, but they are rather creepy). Soon, Coraline realizes that her other mother is up to no good.

One of the best things about Coraline is that it's funny. Coraline tells it like it is. My favorite deadpan of hers occurs in a conversation with her neighbors, the delightfully named Misses Spink and Forcible:

"How are your dear mother and father?" asked Miss Spink.

"Missing," said Coraline. "I haven't seen either of them since yesterday. I'm on my own. I think I've probably become a single child family."

Ha! That still gets me. I thoroughly enjoyed Coraline's talkative feline ally, as well.

In the end, though, Coraline is more than just scary and funny at twists and turns. The quote at the beginning of the book--

Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten. --G.K. Chesterton

--fits Coraline's story very well.

This book was written for children, but I believe that people of any age group can enjoy it. I know I did!

posted by bookduck on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Freaky

Coraline was one of those books you read where at first it seems like a perfectly normal book but as you read it if you are a true reader who likes to really think about the book it is a bit unsetttling. The book is ok in some ways but on the whole the book is a little ...
Coraline was one of those books you read where at first it seems like a perfectly normal book but as you read it if you are a true reader who likes to really think about the book it is a bit unsetttling. The book is ok in some ways but on the whole the book is a little freaky. If you like books that freak you out then this book is for you but if you are like most sane people steer clear of this book. But if you are one of those people who like that kind of thing read the book then watch the movie.

posted by Book_WormCA on May 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Fun

    Fun read, very whimsical, and had some nice passages.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    None

    My teacher read a sample my class and it sounded really intrasting.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Coraline

    I thought the story had a really nice life lesson in it. But i dont think it was really shone well in the book. The movie however was a much better lesson that was much easier to follow. My advice read the book first, if u allready saw the movie, it wont seem as good of book. The movie was a lot better!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2014

    It might be frightening for kids but I found it overrated to be

    It might be frightening for kids but I found it overrated to be honest. There was some creepy imagery but I found the story as a whole contrived and not all that interesting. I was expecting to be swept into a grand adventure but found I could easily put the book down--actually had trouble finishing it because I found it a bit tedious. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    May 7, 2013

    I actually crawled under my bed and began sucking my thumb. Good for people who like scary stories. Bad for people like me.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Interesting

    I liked this book but liked the graveyard book better.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    By ananymos january 5 1 Wo By ethan janusry By ethan january 5 1213 By ethan january 5 2013

    I love the movie better

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Very nice

    I enjoyed this book, it was an easy read so its good for younger readers. Also like the illustrations, helped you create Coraline's world. I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    K

    I saw the movie preety weird

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    ?

    Read sample seen the movie but didnt read the whole thing yet.
    My credit card on my nook just expired so i have to wait for my dad to get back from guam to reactivate it.(i am 11)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good creepy read for older children

    A decent creepy, surreal book. If I were 10-14 years old I probably would have given it 4 or 5 stars, but it is a bit simple for an adult reader. For me it just barely passed the "C. S. Lewis test" of "a children's story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children's story in the slightest."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good creepy read for older children

    A decent creepy, surreal book. If I were 10-14 years old I probably would have given it 4 or 5 stars, but it is a bit simple for an adult reader. For me it just barely passed the "C. S. Lewis test" of "A children's story that can only be enjoyed by children is not a good children's story in the slightest."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    3/5 stars* because. . . .

    I expected it to be much more scary than the movie but nope, i was wrong. it turns out that Coraline has a very interesting, and amazing concept, but it just was not exucuded very properly. i like neil gaiman, but this book was kind of boring, and u couldn't really imagine coraline that well. Over all, the movie was MUCH more better because it has more charecters, it hooks you into it until the end, and it was creativley fantastic. watch the movie instead:P

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    Simple and constant

    Coraline is an easy read with a story that kind of just plods along to the climax. There is no sense of 'what's going to happen" that keeps you reading. It is a lazy afternoon type of book, when you are reading for the sake of reading. Since this book is quite easy to read some younger readers may find it a bit on the creepy side if they are not used to the kind of weird alternate reality type of writing the Gaimen is great at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Movie was Better

    Not many times that I could say this, but I felt that the movie was better than this book. I've read "The Graveyard Book" and it was extremely well-written...so I'm not against the author. I'm a teacher and I felt that the writing style does not fit for younger readers. In fact, I had trouble at times trying to figure what Gaiman was getting at. The problem with the style is that many sentences just go on and on and with descriptions--you forget what is trying to be described. I read this aloud with my kids and did my best with creating the mood of the story, but the lengthy sentences just absorb too much of the gist of the material. Do read "The Graveyard Book'. It is excellent and almost feels that it is written by a different author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    Coraline

    Neat book, totally creepy,but it had it's interesting points

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Literary Review

    I have recently read Coraline, though it was not one of my favorite books. It tells the story of a girl named Coraline (hence the name of the book) who couldn¿t find her parents one night. While looking for her parents, she went through a door that usually leads to a brick door, but now there is a passageway to another world, which is basically a mirror image of her old house and life, but people act different, and so does the land. The mother on her other side is considered as¿ You guessed it¿her OTHER MOTHER! She was an evil mother, though. She was also the creator of the Other World. She also has OTHER NEIGHBORS. They too have slightly different personalities than the normal neighbors. In order to regain her parents, she had a challenge with her other mother, and Coraline eventually wins. In the end, she gets her parents back. This was not one of my favorite books for many reasons. One reason is that I am not one for fantasy. Also, the plot could be more interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Okay, but not great

    The characters were a little 2-D,other that that it was pretty good book for smaller children and an intresting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4