BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Coraline (Graphic Novel)

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    BEST THRILLER EVER!

    This book is about a girl named Coraline who just moved into a new creepy condo with her mother and father. Coraline thought her life was boring, so one day she asked her mum what the odd door in the parlor was. Her mum showed her it was just a brick wall because the condo used to only one big house. The next day there was no brick wall, so Coraline walked in and entered a new world. After that Coraline's mother and father mysteriously went missing. Will Coraline ever get her parents back? Where have they gone? Read the book to find out.
    I would highly recommend this book, Coraline by Neil Gaiman, to a third to fifth grader who likes graphic novels, comics, and edge of your seat mysteries. ~KATIE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    The art was pretty well done, and almost had the same feel as th

    The art was pretty well done, and almost had the same feel as the original book itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Entertainingly Creepy

    Coraline is about a little girl who travels to another plane of existence. It is identical to her own home except much better. It is a world where her "other" mother and father are more loving and attentive to her and she has everything that she could want. However Coraline feels an underlying sense of evil in the other mother and decide to leave, intending never to return again. However when her parents are kidnapped by the other mother, Coraline must return to the other home to rescue them and make sure they all get out alive. I enjoyed this story. Coraline is a likeable, courageous and resourceful little girl. And even when she goes against advice and what she should do, she does so with bravery. Her habit of doing things when others advise against it is what causes her troubles, however that same quality helps her solve the problem. The only thing I had trouble with were long sentences separated by several commas that had me re-reading them. The story is a little scary for younger readers in that there is a closet-like door Coraline goes through to enter the other world which will remind readers of monsters in their closets. It is an entertainly creepy story.This was a quick read and I recommend it to ages 8 and older. Reviewed by Cherese Vines

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Book! Great Graphic Novel!

    I used this book in my ESOL class. The students loved it! We took different parts of the book and acted out the different voices. The students are mainly boys but they didn't care about taking the part of Coraline or the mother, they loved it. The allowed me to have a very satisfying reading experience with my students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    Good story, but a little scary for younger kids.

    I bought this graphic novel for my daughter, who loves the movie "Coraline". It's a little more realistic than the movie, but still very creepy. My daughter loved it. I wouldn't recommend it for young kids and/or people afraid of rats or spiders though. It might give them nightmares. Adults would enjoy this, too, since it's very mature for a children's book, especially if they like horror stories and/or graphic novels. The illustrations are nicely done. I'd recommend this for anyone who liked the movie "Coraline".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

    This version of CORALINE is a graphic novel adaptation of the novel penned by Neil Gaiman. <BR/><BR/>The story follows a common theme in his works of the naive, yet determined, everyman who stumbles into an alternate reality. <BR/><BR/>The protagonist in this story arises in the form of a young girl named Coraline. <BR/><BR/>I found the dialogue to be smartly written and the narrative engaging. The artwork, while typical comic fare, set the visual mood quite well. <BR/><BR/>I greatly enjoyed this story. I found the characters likeable and believable in the context of the story, which in and of itself seemed to me to be an odd metaphor for "growing up." <BR/><BR/>I cannot recommend this enough to fans of Neil Gaiman's work or to someone looking for something just a little bit different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Perfect for Reading Aloud

    For the past six years, I have started out the school year by reading Coraline for teacher read-aloud. Every year I have not been disappointed by the children's reactions: anxious, eager, in-tuned, totally enraptured by Coraline's journey. What more could you ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1