Customer Reviews for

Corduroy Mansions (Corduroy Mansions Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

this is a fun look at the foibles of human interactions.

In London, several eccentric people reside at Corduroy Mansions. Wine merchant and connoisseur William wants his twentyish year old son Eddie to move out, but a nuclear bomb is not going to budge his offspring. He gets Freddie the vegan canine whose prime mission is t...
In London, several eccentric people reside at Corduroy Mansions. Wine merchant and connoisseur William wants his twentyish year old son Eddie to move out, but a nuclear bomb is not going to budge his offspring. He gets Freddie the vegan canine whose prime mission is to propel Eddie to move in with people his age. Restaurateur Marcia wants Eddie out of the house also so then she can make a move on empty nester William.

Another occupant Dee works at a vitamin store where she tries to help a peer who she feels needs to cleans his system of excess salt. Her flat-mate Jenny earns a difficult living working for detestable MP Oedipus Snark, who treats his employee like a low form of dog excrement. Snark's mom Berthea is writing the definitive biography of her son while her agent Barbara wants to become Mrs. MP.

As the walls crumble around the quirky residents, their squabbles make for an enjoyable slice of London life. Low keyed and not for everyone, fans of the author will enjoy the jocularity of everyday people interrelating in a dysfunctional manner as Corduroy Mansions is sort of like an aging supercollider with the people living there as the subatomic particles being sliced and diced. More like Alexander McCall Smith's 44 Scotland Street books, than his No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, this is a fun look at the foibles of human interactions.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What is this book about?

I was disappointed with this book. I kept waiting for something, anything, to happen, and it never did. The writing is a great character study of some offbeat people, but I found myself wanting more. So many characters and with the shift between points of view, and ofte...
I was disappointed with this book. I kept waiting for something, anything, to happen, and it never did. The writing is a great character study of some offbeat people, but I found myself wanting more. So many characters and with the shift between points of view, and often I found myself lost and wondering was it Tim or Tom or James, with Marcia, Jenny or Barbara? It was very difficult to put the book down, pick it up a minute later and remember what was going on.

This is the first book I've read of McCall-Smith's. I am aware of the No. 1 Detective books, so I think I was expecting this to be a mystery as well. I find the Donna Andrews series be to be equally character driven but with more of a plot.

posted by RedRaven on August 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this is a fun look at the foibles of human interactions.

    In London, several eccentric people reside at Corduroy Mansions. Wine merchant and connoisseur William wants his twentyish year old son Eddie to move out, but a nuclear bomb is not going to budge his offspring. He gets Freddie the vegan canine whose prime mission is to propel Eddie to move in with people his age. Restaurateur Marcia wants Eddie out of the house also so then she can make a move on empty nester William.

    Another occupant Dee works at a vitamin store where she tries to help a peer who she feels needs to cleans his system of excess salt. Her flat-mate Jenny earns a difficult living working for detestable MP Oedipus Snark, who treats his employee like a low form of dog excrement. Snark's mom Berthea is writing the definitive biography of her son while her agent Barbara wants to become Mrs. MP.

    As the walls crumble around the quirky residents, their squabbles make for an enjoyable slice of London life. Low keyed and not for everyone, fans of the author will enjoy the jocularity of everyday people interrelating in a dysfunctional manner as Corduroy Mansions is sort of like an aging supercollider with the people living there as the subatomic particles being sliced and diced. More like Alexander McCall Smith's 44 Scotland Street books, than his No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, this is a fun look at the foibles of human interactions.

    Harriet Klausner

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Wonderful little world to escape into!

    Smith introduces a great cast of interesting characters with unique perceptions on life....all bound together by Corduroy Mansions, where most of them reside. The clear breakout star of the group has to be one Freddie de la Hay, a little terrier whose straightforward ways of viewing the world are awesome. Loved the book so much that I immediately bought the sequel, and it's even better! Freddie has the potential to be Smith's next fictional star!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This is a charming, fun book! I love the No. ! Lady Detective stories and this one is another hit. I can't wait to read more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Jaz

    *hearing the gunshot she raced back almost running emma over. She leaped in the air knocking the two guns out of nicos hands and oit of teach. She circled nico teeth bardd ready to kill...~ Jaz the german sheperd

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    This book easily became one of my all-time favorites! I felt like the characters were very real, as if they were people I knew. I actually read it because I assumed it was going to be a dog story, which turned out to be incorrect, but it was great anyway. (Yes, there is a dog in it, but I wouldn't really say the book is about him.) I would be so excited it the book has a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    Raph

    Gets dressed in his green tux.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    FROUNT YARD

    It has a Big yard, and a Fancy Swing, and Playground stuff for the kids to play on. And two giant doors brown wooden doors with gold handles.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Living Room

    This is our living room well our first livng room where Vanessa and madie would play piano

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Bluejay and water

    The sisters looks around.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Scarlet

    Ill buy one a long as he dasnt fight back. Bring him to res 6

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Mir and Adrelle

    Mir just sits there; Adrelle looks freaked out.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    HELP

    Someone please go to kaptain vamp only result and tell evryone that blake is locked out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Slasher

    Grrr

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Lilly to pierce

    U here?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Mina

    Wow i just said that mabey you should get a hearing aid

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Thriller

    An evil laugh echoes throughout the mansion and all the power goes out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Truly fun and delightful!

    Only the British know how to be eccentric within the parameters of polite social graces. The characters are ordinary in such an extraordinary way. I smiled and laughed my way through this book. Intelligently delightful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Jared to rey nd dia

    Lets move to res 7 bfore it gets to crowded......

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    A smal kit

    Pads up with 10,000,000 dollars she had srolen from the famous hamma montana the pig. Ham get it? She drops it in front of hunter and pads out. BEFORE HE CAN GET HER!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Stella

    Sighed.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4