Customer Reviews for

Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters

    Eleven year old Cornelia Street considers herself a wordsmith. She'd rather curl up with a good book than socialize with her classmates. At the end of the schoolday, she heads home to her apartment building in Greenwich Village, where members of the household staff await her - but where her mother rarely stays. Cornelia's parents are both world-famous pianists. Most people would envy that fame and that talent, but not Cornelia. She has no desire to play piano herself and wishes that her jet-setting mother were home more often. Her father is not in the picture Cornelia has never known him. Though she has every (material) thing she could need, Cornelia is lonely. That is, until new neighbors move in across the hall. Who would have thought that an elderly woman would become a little girl's best friend? The dazzling Virginia Somerset shares Cornelia's love for stories and big words. The self-proclaimed Scheherazade tells Cornelia amazing tales that star Virginia and her three sisters as they travel all over the world, meeting famous artists and leaders. Cornelia and the Audacious Escapades of the Somerset Sisters by Lesley M.M. Blume is absolutely adorable. What a delightful book! I loved the story-within-a-story format and the descriptive writing. I could almost see Virginia's eyes sparkle as she related her adventures to Cornelia. If it had been released fifteen years ago and I had found it at my local library, it would have become one of the titles checked it out and read repeatedly. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2006

    Charming!

    A wonderful book on many fronts - dealing with friendship, respect, loneliness and adventure. The Somerset sisters' 'escapades' are absolutely rollicking. Ms. Blume writes articulate, charming prose. This is a book that should (and I'm sure will be!) a great success, both immediately and in years to come.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    Cornelia

    Cornelia And The Audacious Escapades Of The Somerset Sisters is a great book for all ages no matter if it's read by a parent or read alone it's a great book no matter what. It's also very educational because you learn about a lot of different places in the world for example Morocco,France and many other places. This book is also good for book clubs because it has a decent amount of pages and a good topic to talk about. I told my mom about part of the story and she thought it sounded like an interesting story. Well happy reading and enjoy the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    loved this book

    A friend of mine actually bought this book for me because my name is Cornelia. Although the target "audience" for this book are young readers, I have to say, I also thoroughly enjoyed the book even though I am a mature reader. This book will get readers interest in increasing their vocabulary, and also teach about different cultures, art history, etc. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Great

    In a world of friends and family, cornelia feels pretty neglected; she has a mom thats barely ever home and a dad she never even met. I am almost considering writing a letter to mrs. Blume to ask about a sequel. I got this book from my cousin who thought i would like it since i love to read. (It had a dog on the cover, i thought cornelia was a dog! Lol)
    I reccomend for all ages, for even though there is difficult vocab it kinda gives you the definition by using 'context clues', as my reading teacher would say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Like the sample

    The next book l buy will be this one its so cute i love the cover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Love this book=]

    This book is one of the best books i have ever read. The way the writer makes you feel like you are apart of the book is outstanting. I am a big reader and i would recomend this book to any one 9-12 yrs old. SO you have to buy this book!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Amazing

    It was one of the best books i have ever read! It even made me cry at the end. Definately recomend and really hope there is a sequal!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Amazing

    I received this book when I was eleven or so from my friend. This was her favorite book at the time, and I loved it as well. There is some very difficult vocabulary for younger readers which are sometimes explained and sometimes not, and even adults will be astonished at some of those weird words! An excellent book that I plan to share with my sister when she gets old enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Best Book Ever

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    BEST BOOK

    WHAT I THINk is fascinating is virgina tells the story of the sommerset sisters of the place where Lucy traveld. Best book besides percy jackson 39 clues and harry potter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!

    I jonestly think it's the best nook I've ever read. It touched my heart, made me laugh, had beautiful details, strong storyline, and great vocabulary. I LOVE THIS BOOK! Worth the money, 100%!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Creative, original, and defintely a book anyone will enjoy!

    This book was one book to pick from at my school book fair. Nothing else seemd interesting and I love piano. As soon as I got into it I realized that this was not a book about piano at all. When I did finish the book it became one of my favorites! It is a touching and gripping story as well as a story of friendship that really will touch ANYONE'S heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great book!

    I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Lol nice book

    Lol i learned very hard vocabulary and some foreign language phrases :) i have this on paperback youll love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this novel, and I'm halfway through the book.

    Great book for grades 5,6,7

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    BestNODoubt

    Well first of all im the kind of person who loves adventures,reading,sitting at a cafe and listening to other people stories,france and eangland and new york. Well if your anything like me then this is for you. You see Cornelia is the kind of girl who only has friends because of her rich famous parents,but there iz much more to cornelia then just that. She loves to read and figure out new meanings to words. One fay she finds a friend who acctualy likes her for her. Her friend tells her stories about her and her sisters. Wwell my battery is going low soo i will have to write the rest later that explains all the spelling errors but please be patient i will write more in a jiffy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    great book, but.......

    i couldt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My FAVORITE book in the history of Books

    Let me start out by saying that Lesly M.M Blume is my favorite author.In this first book she wrote of an 11 year old girl with a famous mother who's never home who has a never ending love of words.Cornelia Thinks the only thing to do is annoy her maid by confusing her with the most monsterest words, then the dazzling Virgina Somerset moves in next door soon Cornelia and Virgina become very close.A TRULY AMAZING book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Wow!!!!!

    Wow what a great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3